Sat Jul 4 - 5:14ademonic
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Action & Adventure/Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

Category:
Movie
Director:
David Yates
Year:
2007
Genre:
Action & Adventure
Average:
30 reviews
Friday December 05, 2008 - 4:33 AM

*PinkiePie*

Loved the books (like fangirl style), but this movie was horrible.
It was nothing like I imagined it.
Liked Helena Bonham Carter as Bellatrix however.
But I don't even want to see Half Blood Prince now.
frown

Sunday November 11, 2007 - 2:16 AM

freakyfoot

i havent read any of the books, but ive seen all the movies... it seems that they are getting worse and worse, but overall it still wasnt bad... mind you, im not expecting much... some special fx, magic, punishing of antagonists... it was great when that annoying lady gets her due that's for sure, but like i said, each movie seems to have declined in terms of story, action and closure... which is too bad because the first few were great

Friday July 27, 2007 - 1:37 PM

iTSGETTiNGOLD

left too much out felt empty i dk

Thursday July 26, 2007 - 4:12 PM

Vanilla_Ninja

was good in general but i felt it couldve been much better...it was one of the best books...they left too much out this time

Thursday July 26, 2007 - 10:44 AM

TROPICthaTRUTH

crap.

Wednesday July 25, 2007 - 1:56 AM

frazzlesnazzle

I liked it, but I did not like the way things were left out or changed. They should have split the movie into two parts. The books are always going to be way better. Luna and Umbridge were great. Snape was looking delicious as usual. I give it three stars.

And to that ihaveahotgf person: That was a dickheaded thing to do. Luckily I already read the 7th book, but for those who haven't, why would you do that? I hope you get herpes or something.

Wednesday July 25, 2007 - 12:20 AM

BlackVelvet

Good, but not quite as good as the other ones. Still made me want to see the next one though!!!!

Monday July 23, 2007 - 9:19 PM

[[sweet~fly]]

Honestly, my brain was hurting the whole time I watched the movie, cause I was in IMAX, and EXTREMLY close to the screen. And then when the 3D part came, which took FOREVER, my brain was fucking on fire, after the movie I was hulosinating for a damn long time after I saw the movie.

About the movie though, well...I didnt get around to reading the 4th book, nor the 5th, sooo I can't bitch about them cutting out alot of scenes, though I hear alot, and read alot about it, and have noticed that in the earlier movies to which I read the books of...

I do have to say, that it did seem very rushed, alot of the scenes like...magically poof out of nowhere, when everything would start to get intense, it would change to another subject, and completly drop that one. CONFUSING!

Still, the movie really does bring everything very amazingly to life. The graphics while the young wizards were flying on those strange creatures was fab, and super trippy with the 3D.

And to ihaveahotgf, WHY THE FUCK WOULD YOU POST THAT SHIT?!?! We dont want to hear that, we wanna fucking read it instead, you dick.

And yeah, my rating...3

I just hope the next one is even better, and hopefully I'll have read all the books by then.

Peace.

Thursday July 19, 2007 - 11:12 AM

lil_nite_lite

This was just a dissapointment for me really... Based on the past movies I didn't expect much from the actors, watching them act is painful, but I had hoped that they would do a better job of this movie than the earlier ones.
I found the storyline was incredibly rushed and I can only say I'm glad I had read the books before seeing this, otherwise I think it may have gotten confusing.
The special effects and mild gags weren't enough to keep me entertained, but, I guess I'll have to keep my hopes up for the next one... again...

Thursday July 19, 2007 - 1:23 AM

bioluminesent

It was okay...... I loved this one of the books and for what Little (one and a half chapters) they did cover it was good but yes there was a lot missed and im wondering if anyone who watched the movies will really understand some of the thigns to come in the next book because they really wernt explained....
I did enjoy who they cast as Luna... she was one of my favorite charictors but yes there was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO much left out its unbelievable.... and to all those who are nuts for the books... please remember that a lot of people are going to be at wemf when the seventh book comes out so they wont want to hear who dies.

Wednesday July 18, 2007 - 9:50 PM

goes.disco

It buuuuuurrrrrns.
It was the best movie it could be, under the circumstances. That doesn't mean it was all that good. As a movie-of-the-book, rabid fans (like me) will squeak at everything that got changed, even though realistically the movie hit all the major plot points it could. As a movie in and of itself, it still wasn't that good: because the book is so huge, everything feels very compressed, and the final scene ends up being shortened and pretty anticlimactic. My real problem was the dialogue (oh, the dialogue). For all of you who thought the book was cheese, there are places where the film is far worse.

But because I am this invested in the series, I will have to see the last two films as well. It hasn't gotten so bad that I need to break up with the series (so in other words, still better than Spiderman 3).'

Wednesday July 18, 2007 - 7:40 PM

EllieMae

For a movie it was great. I feel like they really brought things to life. It left more out of the book then i thought that they would but it wasnt important enough to kill the movie.

Wednesday July 18, 2007 - 9:46 AM

.starscream.

it was kind of boring, and it was stranger than the others... and it was definitely changed a LOT from the book, but, i left entertained either way.

loved the battle of dumbledore and voldemort.

Wednesday July 18, 2007 - 1:28 AM

Alliekat

Okay well it must be known sadly I have not read the Harry Potter books.. not even one of em.. but I have seen every single movie opening day since the movies have come out and this one was awesome just like all the others.. I love the Harry Potter movies and do plan on reading the books at some point.. but having not read them I can't really speak to parts of the books missing from the movie.. I just thought the movie was awesome.. the special effects were great, the acting was great.. it was just entertaining all around! smile Loved it, loved it, loved it!

Tuesday July 17, 2007 - 7:12 PM

PhotogenicPyro

movie was really good happy

Tuesday July 17, 2007 - 12:01 PM

somewhereelse

amazing visual effects as always. they cut out too much of the plot but if they left in more of it they'd have had a ridiculously long movie on their hands. i guess it's the lesser of the two evils from their point of view. the direction is pretty good but i'm still a big fan of the director from the third movie. i just saw it for the second time (gotta love having multiple groups of friends, eh) and i had time to pay attention to the details vs. just watching the movie. definitely what i like to call the 'epic narnia cheese' factor in this one vs. the rest of the movies so far. i still recommend seeing it but unless you've read the actual book or know the other four movies really well, it may be a little confusing

Monday July 16, 2007 - 2:14 PM

Sgt.Pepper

I absolutely love the Harry Potter BOOK series
and the movies just get worse,
it was only like an 1h45m basically, FAR too short for that long a book, so much was missing like what other people have said.
i weep for the 6th movie if it's anything like this one!!!
with Umbridge, in the book i was furious like the entire time, i'd keep saying to myself like OMG OMG OMG how is this happening! i didn't have nnnnnnearly that much emotion sitting in the theater.
waited an hr and a half in line, for that movie, yikes.
common hollywood give us some GOOD movies from the books you decide to take over.

Sunday July 15, 2007 - 1:56 PM

quixoticnarcotic

Harry Potter is an emo kid.

I couldn't help but giggle throughout the entire movie, as quotes from the Potter Puppet Pals "Wizard Angst" skit popped into my head.

"I'm angry all the time!"

"I understand what you are feeling"
"NO you don't!"

Le sigh, all in all an ok movie.

Saturday July 14, 2007 - 12:42 AM

whatshername

Great effects and acting but plots bits weren't there and some of the raising action was left out. The longest book is the shortest movie, sucky

Friday July 13, 2007 - 11:39 PM

lady_fern

I only give it two stars because it's Harry Potter but come on people, you can't say that this movie was good. Changing things that were important and leaving things out that were even more important! Jeez, where's the coins? why was Ron in the woods meeting Hargrid's bro? Kreacher was the reason I was so pissed off when I read the book and than to take him almost totally out? WTF! I could go on and on but it won't change the fact that this movie was rushed and made for the masses. I had to go watch it twice just to solidify the fact that they really did what they did..butchered the book.

Friday July 13, 2007 - 11:05 PM

Bellatrix

Ok, as much as I absolutley love Harry Potter and all, I thought the movie was god awful. I wanted my money back. I realy did. It wasent a horrible movie as far as movies go, obviously had a very large budget, but as far as story line and everything else goes, it was horrid. I wanted to leave after the first 5 minutes. So many plot holes that leave you going " What the...?" unless youve read the books. And if you even step into the territory of comparing the movies to the books, may god have mercy on your soul, because your brain will implode upon itself. I was severely disappointed in this film. I tried giving it the benefit of the doubt, but the more I think about it the more loathsome it becomes. Yes, Im going to rush right out and buy it when it comes on DVD, why? Because Im a consumer whore. And I must add the precious to my collection. Even if I dont like it. And by god I hope the next movie is better than this. Because if its not, I will run screaming to the hills and away from yet another book that I like that gets ass raped by Hollywood and turned into another " Box office hit". In short, the movie sucked, I didnt like it. The storyline was for shhh, and there were so many plot holes that I could drive a double decker bus through them.

Friday July 13, 2007 - 3:23 PM

||Ganjalist||

It was good.
Cut way to much out, like all of quidditch!!!
gayness
whatver
it was still good

Friday July 13, 2007 - 10:59 AM

glammeduptrash

The only thing I didn't like was how much they cut out or changed from the book itself:

There was no swamp created when Fred and George took off from Hogwarts.

Dudley's gang wasn't around when the Dementors first showed up.

And so on.

Not to mention something that's bothered me since these movies first came out: Parvati Patil is in Gryffindor house, whilst her twin sister Padma is in Ravenclaw - yet the movies depict them as both being Gryffindor students.

ANYWAY.

The Threstrals were amazing, and they really couldn't have chosen better actors for Umbridge and Luna Lovegood.

^_^

This movie rocked.

Friday July 13, 2007 - 9:08 AM

CapnFantasmo

I love Harry Potter. This is my favorite book in the series. I understand that Hollywood has this notion that movies shouldn't exceed a certain time limit but even with two and half hours they still condensed everything to the point of making the movie seem rushed. Still very good and entertaining. I guarantee they could have made the movie 5 hours long and you'd be on the edge of your seat the whole time.

Good movie. Go see it. Better if you haven't read the book.

Friday July 13, 2007 - 7:58 AM

Bashley

I loved it!! The kitten plates in Umbridge's office were hilarious!! The reason it gets 4 stars is because they changed a lot from the book. Probably more than any other Harry Potter movie to date and there seemed to be a few unessecary thing like the paper bird? That took up almost a minture of valuable screen time! And the OWLs, I remember being as stress out as Ron, Harry and Hermoine in the book and in the movie they barely even mention them.

Thursday July 12, 2007 - 4:45 PM

sexy_smilez

for those who have read the books man, you can only imagine the next movie.

i saw it opening night, midnight baby.

Thursday July 12, 2007 - 12:12 PM

jbake

its was pretty amazing when i saw it on the IMAX theatre. my only beef was that it wasn't long enough. and the scenes i thought were more important weren't emphasized enough for my satisfaction.

Thursday July 12, 2007 - 3:15 AM

!!!!!..Nallaine

5 stars cause I'm a huge Harry Potter Fan.

but, the movie could've been better though.

as much as i hate to admit it.

Wednesday July 11, 2007 - 10:13 PM

+jane

this was a boring waste of 2 hours.
it took to long to get started and nothing all that exciting happend.

Wednesday July 11, 2007 - 9:45 PM

Mattie-Bear!

okay, so..first off. everyone whos a hp book fan raise your hand *raises hand*
secondly who noticed all the parts they were missing *raises hand*
missing chapters...not even one mention of percy weasley.
i can get over that tho. cause if they kept everything the movie would be 2 parts. but there alot of things they did right. starting with bellatrixx lestrange quite possibly my favorite character. and played by the one person who could do her justice non other then Helena Bonham Carter. yes thats right. im most deff a HUGE fan of hers from willy wonka to fight club and many others. she was hands down my favorite part. good movie all in all. people who havent read that book got the idea wich is really good considering i was pointing out plot holes to my father the entire moive.

5 stars for shur. if i could give it more i would



[edit]


what most of you dont understand is to keep the movie the way the book was you'd have a 6-7 hour movie.

think about it kids before you complain

[edit]