Thu Dec 14 - 9:43plost
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Horror/1408

Category:
Movie
Director:
Mikael Håfström
Year:
2007
Genre:
Horror
Average:
42 reviews
Tuesday April 19, 2016 - 1:32 PM

mickeyfletcher

Absolutely top movie, good storyline & good acting too!!!

Monday November 23, 2009 - 2:36 PM

Raver_101

this movie was pretty fucking cool, but i had a seriously bad acid trip involving my own personal hell that kept repeating every hour in the same sequence. It was fucked right up

Monday November 23, 2009 - 2:34 AM

LuffaMan

This movie was amazing..

Wednesday April 29, 2009 - 1:15 PM

Some_thing

the ending lacked hard core in the directers cut. the orginal cut was all around great.

Wednesday January 21, 2009 - 12:53 AM

Stephy_Buttons

Watch the director's cut. Classically terrifying.
They do the bleeding wall thing and it actually works!
The non-director's cut just doesn't have the same suspense and it's just not as scary.

Monday January 19, 2009 - 4:26 AM

Rudebwoi

It was trippy and half for sure. As a scary movie overall though, it was weak. A lot of the parts didn't make any sense what so ever, kinda like my dreams/nightmares.

I lived on the 26th floor at the time. The were 5 elevators in my building. Right after finishing the movie, my ex and I decided to go out. On our way down, the elevator stopped on the 14th floor, and as the door opened, we were directly across apartment #1408. Noone walked in.

Weirdest, creepiest coincidence of my entire life!!!

Tuesday January 06, 2009 - 11:35 AM

{{Jess}}

It was a really crazy movie
One of those that you can't walk away from for a second
Or you'll be completely lost.

Tuesday January 06, 2009 - 9:18 AM

Lo!

reminds me of a bad dream, i love stephen king.

Saturday January 03, 2009 - 2:09 PM

bucky-jvh

i like the idea and certain parts in the movie are cool, but ultimately it was cheesily done.
i'd give it 4 stars were it just not so cheesy..
and not a good cheesy.. a really lame -tryingtobeserious- lame.

Tuesday August 19, 2008 - 11:28 PM

barnaby.jones

stoopid.

Tuesday August 19, 2008 - 8:47 PM

DoWnToWnJuNgLiSt

i liked it.....

really disturbing though, when his daughter dies again and the breaks away into ashes oh well

Tuesday August 19, 2008 - 6:00 AM

fkn.prfkt

i found it predictable and weak. but it might just be because im a huge horror movie critic

Monday June 09, 2008 - 11:08 PM

Funeral*Bot

It was effing amazing!! I love all Stephen King works and i was surprised how great the movie was. The short story in the book was better but only bc the movie left things out of course for times sake but still It was awesome!!! heart

Friday May 30, 2008 - 9:38 PM

Fattycakes

it was aight happy i was getting frustrated near the end tho LOL

Thursday May 29, 2008 - 6:09 PM

TheSolitaryMan

This movie was...Nothing Special Period.

Thursday May 29, 2008 - 4:46 PM

~Serenity~

i loved this movie don't see why so many dislike it

Thursday May 29, 2008 - 1:06 PM

!!SIDESHOWMEL!!

this movie was so fucked, that it sucked.

Thursday May 29, 2008 - 12:48 PM

Tryptic

TERRIBLE tongue

Thursday May 29, 2008 - 2:48 AM

coffeecup420

i likeddd
kinda fuckeddd up though
like one sec he's dreaming next he's back to where he was in the begining then like outta no where he's back in the room

i sware all these fucked up hotel/motel movies make me not wanna go to one lmaotongue

Monday March 24, 2008 - 2:02 PM

Dangel

great

Sunday January 06, 2008 - 4:36 PM

Shm00p!

It was decent.

Thursday December 20, 2007 - 2:14 PM

spellbinder

meh

Sunday December 02, 2007 - 3:50 AM

beef_supreme

how can I describe 1408.

well, let's use a metaphor from the film. a paper-thin, aggravatingly drawn-out metaphor; the secret room behind the door.

nine out of ten times, when there's a creepy door/hatch/window/other hinged space-separating device, your natural instincts start to biologically prepare you for the worst-case-scenario of what might be behind the door. and every damn time, you open the door, and there's nothing but an empty room.

so was the case with 1408. right up until the moment our hapless, glaringly lazily portrayed archetypal skeptic opens the door to Samuel L Jackson's house of icky monsters and steps into a mishmash of bad acting, bad cinematography, a fucking downright PAINFULLY bad sound-effects track consisting of one well chosen song (give King some credit) and a myriad of sixteen bit MIDI whooshes, bangs, creaks, and cheap ambient creepiness that comes out sounding like something the stoner group would come up with in AV class.

adapting any suspense based or psychological horror type book to film is a nightmare- pacing a story for readers and for viewers are two entirely different ballparks. on film, it requires laser-precision editing and extremely close attention to thematic, aural, visual, and conceptual continuity. 1408 fails miserably on all of those fronts, choosing instead the approach of every worn out thriller CG gag in the book.

if I were Stephen King, I'd be pissed. it would be like if somebody took Michael Crichton's Jurassic Park and made it into a PG-rated adventure flick full of dinosaur maulings and completely devoid of any serious reference to theoretical geometric mathematics...
oh wait.
FUCK.

I can't wait for life of pi.

Saturday December 01, 2007 - 9:54 PM

hottie1019

really bad movie it was not scary at all well steven king write good books

Wednesday November 28, 2007 - 2:08 AM

Scarah

I was pretty excited for this movie, cause well, Stephen King movies are USUALLY pretty rad. But THIS, not scary, predictable, and it really bothered me how FAST that guy got freaked out.

And the whole, this was a dream, not really thing, totally played out.

Saturday November 10, 2007 - 12:52 AM

jadedtara

I thought it was boring, slow moving and the story was extremely erratic.

NOT at all impressed for a "Stephen King masterpiece"

Friday November 09, 2007 - 8:57 PM

Streets--

Ohhh shit this was fuckin creepy as shit!!
I was terrified!
(but then again I am a pussy like that)
but over all it was a REALLY good movie...
I would rate it a 4 because it scared me

Sunday October 07, 2007 - 9:44 PM

LEMONFRUMP

Sucked.

Sunday October 07, 2007 - 6:44 PM

~Glitter-Stick~

i don't quite see why so many people dislike this movie... i loved it.

i will give it that the directors cut has a bit better suspence, but not enough to say that it's better than the theatrical version. the ending is the deciding factor for me. and the ending in the directors cut fucking sucked. i'm usually the odd ball in the room rooting for the main character to die, but it was just too predictable that he'd just give in and kill himself, or let himself die, like everyone else in that room. the ending is way creepier when he lives just because of that tape recorder. proof that the room is real and not just some hallucination.

but either way i still loved it. just if i'm watching the directors cut i stop the movie before the end cuz i hate the ending that much.

and i also liked the fact that i was familiar with alot of the happenings, like the door, the thinny, the time loop... and since this movie was just that good, i'm gonna search out the book so i can get the better version, i mean this movie was fantastic, so the book will probably blow my mind... lol i'm so buying it to add it to my collection.
all around i'm quite please with the whole movie. nothing less than 5 stars

Monday September 24, 2007 - 10:00 PM

GabbytheMime

I am bias because I already adore John Cusak.

Monday September 24, 2007 - 7:16 PM

Kre-eper

booooooo!!!!

Monday September 24, 2007 - 8:50 AM

hollywood_

A little to unrealistic at times. Some parts were good, while others were bad.

Ehhhh... I expected a bit more.

Sunday September 23, 2007 - 12:31 AM

-Style@Best-

I liked it, but it wasn't what I was hoping for. I didn't like the ending very much. I thought they could of done a better job.

Wednesday September 12, 2007 - 10:43 AM

KandiJungleGirl

I thought this one was pretty good, actually. Just when you thought, "oh, great, that's it?" there was another twist. Poor John Cusack. He had a rough night! wink I guess I'm gonna have to read the book now.

Tuesday September 11, 2007 - 4:36 PM

*.[TeQuiLa].*

It was alright, i just expected something different i guess.

Thursday August 30, 2007 - 5:25 PM

Robinoxide

really entertaining... thought they were on to something the whole time i was watching it.. but for some reason, the ending came and i was very unsatisfied.
too predictable?
maybe the timing was bad?

Tuesday July 31, 2007 - 4:57 PM

fragisexy

verrry good for a s-king flick....but the story was SO much better.

Wednesday July 11, 2007 - 7:31 AM

spazzboy

sucked balls

Sunday July 08, 2007 - 3:01 PM

Leggz

Great story, although it was built up more than it should have been on previews.. Kind of disappointing in the "scariest film of the year" department, but pretty good nonetheless

Sunday July 08, 2007 - 2:10 PM

~Drea~

so so boring i will admit great story behind it and everything but we were very dissapointed could have been better

Sunday July 08, 2007 - 1:01 PM

TheAwesomeSauce

thought it was an awesome movie. gonna go see it again

Tuesday July 03, 2007 - 6:25 PM

ollie

Adapted from the terrifying short story by suspense writer, Stephen King, 1408 is the tale of a debunker of paranormal occurrences who encounters real terror when he checks into the notorious Room 1408 at the Dolphin Hotel. Renowned horror novelist Mike Enslin believes only in what he can see with his own two eyes.

Mikael Hafstrom's 1408 is extremely claustrophobic, which works well with the main premise of the film – being trapped in a hotel room during a full blown ghost attack. I can’t really think of many things more terrifying than not having anywhere to run while various supernatural occurrences are happening. However, the only issue I have with the film was the long pause in the middle where we are led to believe Mike Enslin has dreamed this whole movie up. There's nothing wrong with this, though, because pretty soon, we get back to the dramatic horror of the film and it's good to go.

If you have avoided seeing it because it's a Stephen King short story (like I thought about doing) or whatever, you should really just take a night off to the cinema and see for yourself. I enjoyed it.