Fri Jul 10 - 12:13pdevilish
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Action & Adventure/Grindhouse

Category:
Movie
Director:
Robert Rodriguez, Quentin Tarantino
Year:
2007
Genre:
Action & Adventure
Average:
41 reviews
Wednesday April 29, 2009 - 1:08 PM

Some_thing

Good flicks but planet terror left me asking, that was that?

Tuesday April 28, 2009 - 8:41 PM

moonqueen

I absolutely adore both of these films. It's really an experience you needed in the theater, seeing the films back to back with ALL the trailers spliced in a la 70's Grindhouse double features at the drive-in or seedy theaters. However, they edited both flicks a lot for time for the theatrical release and the dvd versions (esp of Death Proof) are waaaaay better. Planet Terror is entertaining for very obvious reasons (zombies, hot chicks with guns, El Wray is the sexiest wrecker driver EVER, an incredible soundtrack written by the director) but Death Proof is a flick you really need a quirky sense of humor, appreciation of detail and (dare I say it) an appreciation/understanding of strong,real women to appreciate. A lot of guys (and some women) delude themselves into thinking women aren't tough and don't swear or talk about sex. The girls in this flick, especially the second group, reminded me so much of me and my girls it was disturbing. A lot of people don't get this flick at all, but the ones who do will tell you they watch it significantly more than Planet Terror because it has a lot more depth.

Saturday November 22, 2008 - 9:50 AM

metalraver

good movie

Saturday November 22, 2008 - 1:39 AM

happiechild

Planet Terror embraces the Grindhouse spirit completely

Deathproof is one of the greatest homage films ever made

Saturday May 17, 2008 - 12:09 AM

Liquid_Gecko

I'm not usually a fan of zombie movies, but this was the best one I have ever seen. the other movie that went along with this I never saw. but rememeber even if it was cheesy, its supposed to be that way. thats what a grindhouse movie is! check it out on wikipedia!

Friday May 16, 2008 - 11:47 PM

urbanturban

i had to give it 3...since that is the combined average of both movies...

"planet terror" was really awsome.(5 stars)

the trailers between the movies were even more awsome(5 stars)

"death proof" was one of the worst movies i have ever seen...(0 stars)

Tuesday December 11, 2007 - 5:56 PM

!!SIDESHOWMEL!!

this movie kicked some serious fucking ass

"Two against the world."

love

Thursday May 24, 2007 - 10:41 AM

nachos666

i loved planet terror the best.. it had chicks, and zombies, and everything cool. and all the trailers in between the movies were great too... like thanksgiving... and who can forget!~
hobo with a shotgun!!!!

Wednesday May 23, 2007 - 10:56 AM

xXxJunglettexXx

loved them both..
tarantino is a sick fucker lol..
"i['ll show u some wood" hahhahh

Wednesday May 23, 2007 - 12:41 AM

Doll~face

Rodriguez movie was as suspected, it was great, but nothing that original. The idea was good, but it just didn't keep me as entertained as Taratino's movie. That car chase scene was intense, I loved it!! Then again, I'm a car girl wink
over all, they both rocked and I can't wait to see it again

Wednesday May 16, 2007 - 12:48 AM

dollspit

Orgasmic!

Saturday April 21, 2007 - 2:27 PM

Knowhere

LOVED IT

Planet Terror:

No plot? No consistency? Unrealistic? Grainy film quality?
All this was done on purpose! And it works for this movie in every single way. Alot of this seems inspired by the ultra-cheezy "City Of The Walking Dead", where there are zombies running around military compounds chewing everything up and getting shot. Also MANY other horrors I just feel like that one stands out, but yeah this is well worth it if your a horror fan.

This is easily THE best "homage to old horror" movies I've ever seen.

Death Proof:

When it comes to 70's exploitation thrillers, Tarantino knows hit shite. This references so many movies and does it with style. Even throwing in old 70s synth music at parts, this is straight out of the 70s and 80s. Great acting and unique vision. The only thing is, if your not a fan of the Tarantino style "back and forth" dialogue, it may seem like its starting off too slow. And maybe it is slow, but otherwise it delivers.

ALSO don't miss the underr-rated HOBO WITH A SHOTGUN!! trailer....

Saturday April 21, 2007 - 10:24 AM

Abstraction

Planet terror was absolutely amazing!!
Puss n gore, zombies, striper with a gun leg, doc with her friends, picking up road kill, ball chopping scientist, and lead riding a little scooter to escape.

FUCKIN LOVED IT...I NEED TO BUY IT

As for Death proof..well, very slow, but fuck i loved the ending!!!
and i have to agree, Zoe bell IS fucking amazing!!!
The whole theater cheered @ the end!!
what a great finish!

Saturday April 21, 2007 - 9:18 AM

kaylieee

This movie was awesome.

The fake trailers were of epic proportions.

The Rodriguez movies was so freaking awesome.

Saturday April 21, 2007 - 3:12 AM

;mandalicious;

hype.hype.hype.

Friday April 20, 2007 - 9:43 PM

LisaD

The fake trailers were soo funny. Werewolf Women of the S.S, the Nicolas Cage cameo as the Chinaman was sooo random.

Friday April 20, 2007 - 7:06 PM

TinyLittleAtom

Planet Terror, ftw.

Death Proof, ftl.

Planet Terror. Zombies. Tits. Hot bitch with machine gun for a leg. Amazing.

Death Proof was a typical Tarantino movie:
slow.... slow.... slow.... death.... slow.... slow.... FAST.... end.

WELL worth the money.

Friday April 20, 2007 - 5:00 PM

Juice!

In-fucking-credible.
The first movie was better than the second, but I loved everythign about it.
Fucking WICKED.
happy

Friday April 20, 2007 - 4:00 PM

the_mad_monk

Completely over the top. I cant remember the name of the Rodriguez one, but it as reallllllly funny. So many unnecessary explosions. So many campy cleavage and booty shots. And the guy that collects testicles? Classic.

But yeah, Deathproof (Tarantino) sucked. Too slow considering what it came after and simply not interesting. I couldnt care less about what happened to the characters.

Having said that it still gets 4 starts despite me walking out of Deathproof 45 minutes in.

Friday April 20, 2007 - 1:44 PM

side_kid

DEATH PROOF SUCKED HARD

HARD HARD HARD HARD HARD HARD HARD

I can't believe people actually enjoyed it.


Tarantino is a hack now!

Friday April 20, 2007 - 12:56 PM

fawk3r

fucking best movie of the year no questions asked tits,blood,guts zombies,killing,car chases and a chick with a gun for a leg u cant beat that shit.

Friday April 20, 2007 - 10:44 AM

ChiKandi

All i can say is "omg, chick with a gun for a leg!"

Friday April 20, 2007 - 6:18 AM

Shm00p!

I loved everything about it.

I liked Planet Terror a little bit more, but Death Proof was good too.

The trailers in between the two movies were funny.

Tuesday April 17, 2007 - 10:00 PM

Caleidh

TOO AMAZING FOR WORDS.

Tuesday April 17, 2007 - 6:36 PM

defkreationz

Probably the best movie(s) ive seen this year..

Tuesday April 17, 2007 - 6:01 PM

hairofthedog

DEATH PROOF IS AMAZING

Tuesday April 17, 2007 - 4:26 PM

karlene

Both movies were amazing for two completely different reasons.

Well worth the $8.50 I paid to see it, and well worth the 3-hour long sit

Tuesday April 17, 2007 - 9:44 AM

boredompays

I got into this movie for free which was nice, also stoned out of my mind. I loved the Rodriguez film, gun as leg? nice. loved the "sneak previews" between. I did not get to stay for the whole Tarantino movie, but I saw most of it. Not as exiding as I hoped but I could still feel it was Quentin Tarantino. All in all it was a good night spent.

Monday April 16, 2007 - 10:36 PM

;M°rbidCherry

Fuck it, loved both. Kept me interested and laughing as well. love

Monday April 16, 2007 - 9:42 PM

!!!!DJ_SAIDIN!!!

Definatly one for my top ten...........although I agree with the Bliz on the second ones ending, Tarentino shouldve killed em all in a bloodbath lol.....that wouldve been ALOT more true to the movies name, and theme..........I recommend this movie to neone who enjoys well thought out killing! lol

Monday April 16, 2007 - 9:23 PM

Verve

Both were great- Obviously cheezy, but still amazing.
They made me howl! Especially DeathProof!
loved the fake previews.
DEFINATLEY "HOBO WITH A SHOTGUN"
man, I would see that if they made it!

Monday April 16, 2007 - 6:54 PM

!!!!!!!!!!!!BLIZ

I loved it. Saw it opening day. Rock on. Second part was kinda lame but I took it in stride! Hazaas to old school style film making.

Monday April 16, 2007 - 4:17 PM

][JoRd87][

Best 2 movies I have seen so far this year. I enjoyed Death Proof a little more and the trailers were hilarious! Overall....these 2 movies are pure entertainment and are well worth your money on a Friday or Saturday night out.

Monday April 16, 2007 - 3:00 PM

OoPixieOo

amazing.
it was like a retro zombie movie
hehe.,
" and if you want to open that door... don't"

Monday April 16, 2007 - 1:47 PM

lezlie

It sucks that it has to be reviewed as one because Planet Terror was wikked whereas Death Proof was pretty lame.

The fake trailers are awesome, I want them to make Machete for real.

Monday April 16, 2007 - 6:53 AM

DJ;illeagle

I love Quentin but i think these movies were some what weak. i was disappointed and shocked at that. don't get me wrong i laughed my ass off but for his name, it will never be among those of pulp fiction or jackie brown

Monday April 16, 2007 - 12:10 AM

queercricket

Well, this review needs to be very divided.

Planet Terror, by Rodriguez, was good. It had a pretty lame plot, but they decided to explain the plot in a one minute speech at the end, so it didn't really take up much time. In fact, since it is a zombie movie, I think that was the way it should have been done. Overall, it wasn't a genius movie, but what did you expect? It was a lot of fun gore.

The fake trailers! By FAR the best part of the movie. They were all fucking hilarious! Brilliance. I would see any and all of the movies if they actually made them.

Death Proof, by Tarantino, was one of the hugest let downs EVER. It was absolutely TERRIBLE! The chase scene at the end got my heart racing, and ended up kinda funny. But the first hour or so was just so stupid, boring and a waste of time. The plot was just so weird, and there was too much absolutely useless character development that wasn't important or interesting. I almost just recommend watching Planet Terror and the trailers, and then leaving when Death Proof starts, because that is the order that it happens in. But maybe you will like it.

Anyway, this averages out to three stars.

Friday April 13, 2007 - 10:28 AM

BabyDevil_15

This was the best movie i think i have seen, especially at the end with the car chasing the girls and then they go maniac on the guy an beat his ass with a steel polem LMAO, it was so great

Friday April 13, 2007 - 2:00 AM

stereolion

planet terror was some fun zombie action but nothing special. death proof is the real winner; watching it, you feel like you can suddenly see and understand everything in the universe. <<< yes i just compared watching a tarantino movie to being omnipotent. wut?

Thursday April 12, 2007 - 6:00 PM

Upspoon

i laughed through the entire 3 hours 10 minutes. classic quinten and rodriguez.
hahahahahaha and i'm still laughing
great flick

Thursday April 12, 2007 - 4:34 PM

BUDZ

awsome
fucking loved it