Thu Jul 2 - 3:42pfriendly
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Action & Adventure/300

Category:
Movie
Director:
Zack Snyder
Year:
2007
Genre:
Action & Adventure
Average:
156 reviews
Friday September 12, 2008 - 8:52 AM

!!SIDESHOWMEL!!

should of been longer.

still EPIC

Thursday September 11, 2008 - 10:24 PM

beef_supreme

in the future, this film will be shown in museums as the cornerstone of 21st century homoerotica.

Thursday September 11, 2008 - 5:38 PM

¤•~NIKKI~•¤

Excellent movie!

Wednesday September 10, 2008 - 7:06 PM

poopshoot

Great story, beautiful imagery, and a lot more historically accurate than one might think.

Wednesday September 10, 2008 - 5:07 PM

the_tr!xster

I think I've seen this movie about 10 times. I fell in love with it. It had awesome effects, a great storyline, great fucking lighting... all of it was awesome. I'm a sucker for love, and the end almost killed me. He just should have told her he loved her, damn it.

Gah. The ass kicking was amazing.

Saturday May 17, 2008 - 10:38 AM

urbanturban

"this is...AWSOMEEEE!!!"

Friday October 26, 2007 - 1:19 AM

!!_K_A_O_S_!!

I liked this movie.

I never studied he Spartans...or even knew what they were before this movie;

I liked it for the visual appeal.

And I'm a huge fan of fight scenes lol

And the Spartans are tough.

For the people who call them "gay" or what have you.

Say that to ANY of the actors faceslol

Thursday October 25, 2007 - 8:45 PM

remy|renee

Honestly it looked like a bunch of underwear models running around in speedos. I also thought it was pretty lame how they posed every time they got the chance.

The story was a bit boring, they could have done much better. It wasn't as realistic as I had hoped.

Although we had a good laugh making fun of the homos after the movie was over with.

Thursday October 25, 2007 - 1:40 PM

MissMurder

Amazing

Thursday October 25, 2007 - 12:38 PM

Ghettone

No Climax,
And the Point was dellivered at the dead end of the movie.
Not all it was cranked up to be.
did anybody notice that there was 2 narritors?

Wednesday October 24, 2007 - 4:12 PM

Muku

Fucking Amazing!!!!
So Epic!


-Muku ♥

Tuesday October 23, 2007 - 11:52 PM

Ragga_Scum

One of the best movies ever. Great story about the 300. Awesome cinematography.

Tuesday October 23, 2007 - 12:10 PM

-Style@Best-

One of my favorites <3

Monday October 22, 2007 - 7:28 PM

whatshername

It Was AWESOMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMME!

Monday October 15, 2007 - 12:03 AM

wafflez

it was pretty awesome, nice rendering too.. but it would be better if the people we're animated/rendered though...

Friday September 28, 2007 - 7:11 AM

Tank-boy

Did you know the greeks invented sex?
The french showed it to women tho...

STABBA STABBA!

Thursday September 27, 2007 - 11:07 AM

Theo!

BEST MOVIE I'VE EVER SEEN!!

Wednesday September 12, 2007 - 8:17 AM

ruffryder108

SPARTANS!!!!!!!!!!!! PREPARE FOR GLORY!!!!!!!!!
kick ass movie thats all i got to say.

Wednesday September 12, 2007 - 7:44 AM

KandiJungleGirl

I thought the cinematography in this movie was absolutely amazing. And I'm fine with the fact that "there was no real climax" because it's based on historical fact. It's a well-filmed movie about a part of history. They couldn't embellish on it too much without ruining it. One of the best movies I've seen in a very long time.

Wednesday September 12, 2007 - 4:17 AM

ravendancer

It was one of the most kick ass movies I have ever seen. and the men were extremely hot! 5 STARS

Tuesday September 11, 2007 - 4:08 PM

penzonzo

it was ok, but i agree with gnorknik that there was no real climax.
there was no suspense. no supprises.
i think it got a lot more hype than was necessary.
epically since god or war 2 came out and ppl were already loving the whole ancient Rome/spartan theme..
it was interesting, and i did enjoy it all the same.. but i'd never tell anyone that it was the best i'v seen.

Monday August 06, 2007 - 10:48 AM

Kid*KahRizma

Truly fucking epic....
captivating.
intense.
gruesome.
marvelous......

Sunday August 05, 2007 - 8:05 PM

MollyCore

Amazing movie

Some parts I was completely taken in, it was a work of art.

my new favorite movie.

Sunday August 05, 2007 - 1:25 AM

(Kaz)

Loved the cinematography!

It was just good all around.

Saturday August 04, 2007 - 10:34 PM

lildeathkitty

This was the most badass movie I've seen in years!!! *does the I wanna be a spartan dance*

Saturday August 04, 2007 - 6:53 PM

fat_mack_2

this was a great movie. btw that was a great line when customers ask where they are. i should try that.

Saturday August 04, 2007 - 3:32 PM

Gnorknik

Hrm. Well, the effects were great, the action sequences were fun, but... it never went anywhere. There was no climax to the story; it was constant, all the way through.

Looks like I'm the only one that doesn't love the movie.

Saturday August 04, 2007 - 1:16 AM

Hairspray.Queen

This movie was fucking AWESOME. I loved it in theatres, tomorrow I plan on getting the dvd.

It blew my mind.

Friday August 03, 2007 - 7:46 PM

melimel13

one word: WOW!!

the new age of CG is here!!!

seriously half-naked oily muscular guys running around ^^ what is there to critizise...

Sunday July 15, 2007 - 6:48 PM

Laurfest

even the hunchback was jacked and oiled mmmmmmmmmm

Thursday July 12, 2007 - 3:41 AM

•°†Eve†°•

Great movie, can't wait to watch it again.

Monday July 09, 2007 - 8:57 PM

MSG

oiled up men plus lots of thrusting, screaming, and dying.
it was good, but not as good as the hype or the comic.
i guess i expected more after sin city...

Wednesday July 04, 2007 - 5:02 AM

!^ZaKaLaKaTaK

greatest movie ever. recommend all to see it

Wednesday July 04, 2007 - 12:48 AM

Hypershine

SPAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARRRRRRRRRRRRRTTTTTTTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tuesday July 03, 2007 - 1:52 PM

JodieTehDJ[E]

i like chocolate bars
great movie

SPARTA!

Tuesday July 03, 2007 - 1:09 PM

Stoxe

Very good movie, it was worth watching and being pregnant and uncomfortable in my seat lol.

Tuesday July 03, 2007 - 12:23 PM

lsddmt2ci

Ever since I watched this, I can't help but tell travelers that come into my gas station asking where they are: "This is SPARTA!"

+1 Kick

Monday July 02, 2007 - 11:57 PM

Fooly_this

that movie changed my life

it was GREAT!!!

Monday July 02, 2007 - 7:39 AM

Yaz~!

doesn't anyone find it ironic that at the same time as the movies release the US government was trying to convince the public to go to war with Iran?

Wednesday June 06, 2007 - 5:35 AM

shifty16

that show kicked ass!!!
i loved it!

Tuesday May 22, 2007 - 12:19 AM

BreakToDaBeat

5 star

this best for gory !

Monday May 21, 2007 - 7:40 PM

coffeecup420

5 star's mofucka
suchh a good movie seen it enuff already
i liked how they slowed time down for sum of the fights
i'd definetly buy this movie!!

Monday May 21, 2007 - 5:35 AM

thehugeone1

"Then we'll fight in the shade,"
tongue

Monday May 21, 2007 - 4:28 AM

julia_lullia

one of the best epics ever made.

Monday May 21, 2007 - 3:41 AM

~Glitter-Stick~

lol i can't give a review without saying what's already been said, but might as well anyways lol

THIS IS SPARTA!!!

Wednesday May 16, 2007 - 12:32 AM

dollspit

I watched it about 3 times already. It's so satisfying in every way.. everyone gets what's coming to them, and I love what the queen does to the womanizing douchebag.

Monday May 14, 2007 - 11:31 PM

TOUCH.it

AMAZING.
just amazing.
The film effects..
the plot.
the acting.
the way the movie came together.
the fighting.
just.
AWSOME.

Sunday April 22, 2007 - 3:50 PM

xizorargus

AAROO!

This movie was inherently badass. The only problem I see with the movie is that when it comes out on DVD, seeing it on a tiny-ass screen won't have nearly the same effect as seeing it on the massive 50-foot theatre screen.

Sunday April 22, 2007 - 3:37 PM

trinasaur

Anyone who would attempt to substitute a movie for a history lesson is a moron. No matter the historical inaccuracies, 300 is a badass movie.

Badass, I say!

Sunday April 22, 2007 - 5:11 AM

Intanjible

It's a fantastic movie if you like things that appeal to the absolute lowest common denominator.

Saturday April 21, 2007 - 5:22 PM

!!!!!..Nallaine

Amazing Movie.

That's all.

Saturday April 21, 2007 - 2:57 PM

L-E-IT

THIS IS SPARTAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!

Friday April 20, 2007 - 1:03 PM

babywomm

I think a lot of people ignore the fact that it was based off a graphic novel and not made to be 100% historically accurate. And the way it looked was meant to simulate the comic book. It was a great MOVIE and nothing more.

Thursday April 19, 2007 - 10:51 PM

pr0found

why didnt they just tell us it was gladiator2...

Wednesday April 18, 2007 - 10:39 PM

joel

It was okay. Way over hyped with not much of a story. The fight scenes were cool, but after a while it was just more of the same and looked really fake at times. Was very faithful to the graphic novel though.

I wish it were more historically accurate, because many will just assume that it and the novel are accurate when they're not, nor meant to be. oh well

Wednesday April 18, 2007 - 8:28 PM

IwishIcouldDance

all i can say is, AMAZING

Tuesday April 10, 2007 - 11:44 AM

Bradhadair

One of the best movies ive ever seen.

it wasn't boring at all, im not much of an action buff myself

but the entire production was wicked.

compared to sin city, it was so much better.

can't wait to buy it

Monday April 09, 2007 - 4:16 PM

SuperK

SICK SICK SICK...


only thing I didn;t like is when it end... they should have showed the rath of 10 000 Spartans.

as for the fighting sceens they we sick. everything was sick...

Monday April 09, 2007 - 2:50 PM

Brytnii

I just saw this movie Saturday at an IMAX theatre. It was a lot different than I was expecting. I agree with jord87- wasn't really as violent as people made it out to be so I was pretty surprised. I really liked the idea of the Spartans and think the actor that played the king did a really good job. It did seem rushed- I think they could have made it a bit longer and played out certain scenes with more detail but overall I thought it was great!

Monday April 09, 2007 - 12:01 AM

][JoRd87][

I don't know about this movie being "epic"

I liked the fact that they kept it simple but it seemed way to rushed. The fighting was way to repetitive and it really wasn't as violent as people made it out to be.

Thursday March 29, 2007 - 11:17 PM

E=MChammer

I thought this movie was way to over hyped. I did however love the historical inaccuracies in the film.

Thursday March 29, 2007 - 6:54 PM

tangerineSKY

HOT.

Wednesday March 28, 2007 - 5:38 PM

attitudechick

i thought this movie was awesome, granted im not one for history type movies but it was pretty good, it actually had a good plot to it. Some parts were kinda boring but over all i enjoyed it.

Wednesday March 28, 2007 - 1:21 PM

+jane

GAY GAY GAY GAY

Tuesday March 27, 2007 - 10:59 PM

djdisorderly

great movie, awsome cinematography was excellent, and had a really good plot...i give it a 5 out of 5...

Tuesday March 27, 2007 - 7:25 PM

charleegyrl

best movie for me since scarface....mmmm spartans

Tuesday March 27, 2007 - 6:52 PM

dags

ha ha i loved it so much i downloaded it..perfect damm copy too

Tuesday March 27, 2007 - 5:30 PM

queercricket

I saw it twice in three days. It was amazing. The fighting was intense, and it was so visually appealing. I had one problem with it, and it's not big. The Oracle on top of the mountain was wearing a toga that went over one shoulder. When she was dancing, for just one shot, the strap switched shoulders. It was weird. And the King doing his wife was a little gross. Some great, quotable lines. Loved it.

Tuesday March 27, 2007 - 1:09 PM

PureSEXMegs

I found it a little repetetive. Rush and fight rush and fight.
it was definately what you call a fighting movie.
I almost fell asleeep once, but I cant say its because of the movie or that i was just burnt out;

I'm more of a comedy person though or something that hits home to myself sooooo I dunno.....

Monday March 26, 2007 - 10:47 AM

1yoguyseen

ewwww no stars
I fell asleep twice

Monday March 26, 2007 - 8:24 AM

~Drea~

not my type of movie wish i didnt spend my 8 bucks and waited till it came out on dvd but my fiance wanted to see it and he liked it so that is alll that matters to me

Monday March 26, 2007 - 1:12 AM

coldhands

can u do better?
fucking doubt it.

Sunday March 25, 2007 - 11:24 PM

killerclown

dude this movie was badass major kickass it would be fun 2 see fucked up

Sunday March 25, 2007 - 10:06 PM

malkavian6

Such an amazing movie. i loved every minute of it. i was so sad it ended. all of the flaws in the battle scenes mean nothing because of how good it was.

Sunday March 25, 2007 - 7:25 PM

TheLegend

sick.

Sunday March 25, 2007 - 6:08 PM

Caleidh

Good visuals through the whole movie, but thats the only thing it had going for it.
It kept my attention the entire time, but really lacked story line, even for a mostly historic war movie.
It also used alot of the same Lisa Gerrard style music as Gladiator and Troy did, making it seem so over used.

Sunday March 25, 2007 - 4:22 PM

lila

verrrrrry good fighting scenes.. LOVED it! but in between the fighting scenes was kinda boring... the way the movie was made was wicked too!

Saturday March 24, 2007 - 5:31 AM

luv696

The BEST movie I've seen in along time...LOVED IT!

Friday March 23, 2007 - 9:43 PM

Liquid_Sun

"Intuition Perfection of a Diety" Great fukin movie

Friday March 23, 2007 - 6:27 PM

Acidity

PERFECTO!!! have no word about it...
Warner Brothers - THE BEST!!!

Friday March 23, 2007 - 5:44 PM

Haatley

Horrible movie.

I only reccommend this to people who enjoy thin story lines and bad acting.

Friday March 23, 2007 - 5:39 PM

Towel-Boy

This movie was really good i rate it a 3 because it made me mad that it didnt follow the true history of the battle of Thermopylae.

Friday March 23, 2007 - 5:21 PM

.LsDee.

I dont even have words for it.
it was just that good.

made me tear up a little bit too.
And not a single movie, has ever made me cry.
lol

Friday March 23, 2007 - 11:32 AM

LogicBound

Worth every penny!

Went opening weekend and was impressed. Went back during the week and saw it on IMax and was in awe, hell almost giggly at times!

Definately one to end up on the rack at home!

Friday March 23, 2007 - 11:08 AM

jessica:)

i really liked it...and all those hot bodiesss lol

Friday March 23, 2007 - 10:05 AM

boredompays

Im so mad. about 6 of my friends and myself got into the movies for free. 5 of my friends and myself went to see dead silence and one of our friends went to see 300. Our movie sucked bad, then when our friend came out of 300 he couldn't stop saying how fucking awesome it was. Then the next day I hear so much about this movie.

I will see it soon enough.
Shit.

Friday March 23, 2007 - 7:15 AM

jbake

i friggin loved it!! but i really coulda done without all the narrarratting *sp?* lol yeah without it for sure tongue

Thursday March 22, 2007 - 9:31 PM

jam.

epic.

Thursday March 22, 2007 - 3:50 PM

Leggz

Phenominal movie... one of the best films i've seen in a long... long time...

Thursday March 22, 2007 - 12:41 PM

xX[Andr00__]

I honestly don't even remember half of it... I was in a k-hole for most of it. I do remember some serious battling though... Good thing I only paid $4-something to see it...

Thursday March 22, 2007 - 11:17 AM

-andrea-

I LOVED THIS MOVIE!!! its soooo beautiful cant get over that the hole thing was shot infornt of a green screen and digitaily inhansted it sooo pretty the skys and everything ....mmm the ab that like ever spartian had ...yummy! i loved this movie and usally i dont do well im action movies and every fight sence i couldnt close my eyes b.c it was way too pretty lol.....

Wednesday March 21, 2007 - 9:24 PM

~*Jax*~

FREAKING AMAZING!!! Sexiness all around...fight scenes were out of control...and I left that movie wanting to chest kick shit like a mutha fuckin Spartan!

ps. Spartan's are the shit.

Wednesday March 21, 2007 - 3:48 PM

~*MorningXStar*~

I loved this fucken Movie!!!
The Graphics, the Gore. *drools*
I would so spend the money to own the damn movie.
Oh, And the men were fucken Sexy as Hell!!!

Wednesday March 21, 2007 - 2:23 PM

andrewreid7

VISUALLY STUNNING! the colours, contrast, clarity and speed changes in the filming make for an exciting display. Story could have been put together better.

Wednesday March 21, 2007 - 1:59 PM

*~foxfire~*

HORRIBLE WASTE OF MY TIME

Wednesday March 21, 2007 - 7:57 AM

demimonde

worth the price admission any day.

Tuesday March 20, 2007 - 11:36 PM

silver_sunkis

It wasn't so much the historical accuracy that made this movie amazing. Because 100% HISTORICALLY accurate it was not... What made this movie so amazing in my eyes, aside from the visual imagery, were the characteristics of the characters.
Knowing something of Ancient Greek Society, I could see how each of the characters represented their roles in society, as well as where they were from (Spartans, Arcadians, Persians) wonderfully. Some examples: The Spartans' value system lay around glory in battle; Spartans placed a large emphasis on using insprational rhetoric in boosting the morale of each other before each battle; Spartan children WERE trained at a really young age to engage in combat... Spartans essentially lived for these things and strived to gain honour in their lifetimes ...
It was cool seeing them use the Phalanx as their main fighting strategy... especially having learned about the intricacies of it in school.
And hot damn, some of the scenes were steamy! And the fact that everyone was scantally clad added to it's appealing nature.
Damn good movie. And seeing it in IMAX was the icing on the cake wink

Tuesday March 20, 2007 - 4:19 PM

.[Spades].

I absolutely loved this movie.

'Nuff said.

TONIGHT, WE DINE IN HELLLLLLLL

Tuesday March 20, 2007 - 12:11 PM

.Indestructible.

Amazing... I had high expectations... and it exceeded them.

Tuesday March 20, 2007 - 9:21 AM

marcman3

i smoked a blunt before i watched this movie and im pretty sure it changed my life.

Monday March 19, 2007 - 11:20 PM

Yojimbo

If you're looking for historical accuracy, go watch the history channel. This was a fictional take on a historic event. Zack Snyder did a great job of bringing Frank Miller's graphic novel to the big screen without losing anything in translation. The comic style cinematography add to the effects during the battles. 300 is a great epic film.

Monday March 19, 2007 - 4:53 PM

Legs

sooooooooooooooooooooo goooooooooooooood.

Amazing cinematography.
Amazing acting.
Amazing everything.
Loved it.

Monday March 19, 2007 - 12:43 PM

regan_cries

Saw this movie at rainbow.amazing graphics.Good story line,very artistic,and shows some history,but not alot

Sunday March 18, 2007 - 2:39 AM

!!LadyStarDust!!

I thought it was awsome
I loved how it was made

Sunday March 18, 2007 - 12:47 AM

Ultramoose

movie was so fucking badass.

MADNESS?! THIS IS SPARTAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

Saturday March 17, 2007 - 8:21 PM

Bassdegrime

hisotrically this movie was'nt the most accurate. but it gave you an idea of how crazy shit was. like zerkzies vast reach and power. * like the amount of slaves just for his mobile thrown *.

Saturday March 17, 2007 - 6:21 PM

Indulgence

good movie kinda makes me want to spear my buddy next to me...lol

Saturday March 17, 2007 - 3:45 PM

qwar

i'm in love with this movie.. gad.. great awsome amazing... it just keeps making wanna see it over and over again.. lolz

Saturday March 17, 2007 - 11:58 AM

LuffaMan

Fucking amazing movie from front to end.Honestly it was kick ass seeing How my Greek's kicked it old school happy

Saturday March 17, 2007 - 8:24 AM

Arcus_Angelus

Amazing. . .from start to finish it was simply. . .amazing.

Cinematography was well done, expecially during the fight scenes (the real selling point to the movie). It wasn't a total hack and slash since they threw in some political intrigue which was nice. The story while conveyed somewhat inaccurately was still entertaining, so i'm not going to bust their balls for that one, if I want to watch a historically accurate portrayal of what happened. . .i'll watch the Documentary. What they gave me was an action filled epic film that is well deserving of my 5 stars.

NOTE: One guy looked too much like Darcy Tucker of the Toronto Maple Leafs, which totally distracted me from the movie because it made me laugh. lols!

Saturday March 17, 2007 - 7:28 AM

amandaleena

5 stars...seen it twice, probably going to see it twice more before it's out of theatres (imax, and I live next to a second run film theatre)...awesome movie, nuff said.

Saturday March 17, 2007 - 12:43 AM

Kittysyren

Awesome cinematography.... not a boring moment...must see... must own.

Friday March 16, 2007 - 7:17 PM

DJ;illeagle

saw it last night... "THIS IS SPARTA!!!"

boots to the chest!!!

dope movie, i think im going to hit it up again sunday afternoon.

nuff respect to frank miler and the creators of this sick as shit movie!

Friday March 16, 2007 - 3:04 PM

Handy

Great Movie.. I can't wait till it hits DVD for all the extra's

Friday March 16, 2007 - 2:48 PM

Majerelee

It would be great if you were able to utterly suspend disbelief and are totally ignorant of both history and current events.

A Spartan spewing about liberty and justice and freedom? Anyone want to take a guess at why they were so well known and highly trained for fighting prowess? To keep the slaves in line. The slaves who were something akin to 70% of the Spartan population.

So... mr. bush... i'm sorry, mr.spartan king, with the hords of dark skinned godless monsters on your doorstep, please pull your head out from where ever it has been residing and stop the bloody talk about freedom.

Then the traitors/bad guys etc: every one disfigured, scarred, deformed or monstrous...
the goodguys: poster children for the eugenics programs... nice message folks.

The cinematography was ok... my only issue is they did everything in epic battle scene fashion (read as over exposed and with a sensitivity that made every nice piece of dust flying by visible). That I must admit was a cool and cutting edge filming idea... back when they used it in Saving Private Ryan... and Gladiator... and every other battle scene since...

And seeing as there were a few people coming out of the theatre going 'Wow, Spartans were so cool!' I think maybe there should be a disclaimer at the begining: "If you don't know anything about Spartan history and are dumb enough to take entertainment as a history lesson please leave now!"

Now I'm just getting nitpicky so I'll stop.

Honestly though, take away the politically charged references and I could easily have ignored everything else due to the fact that the battle scenes were really cool. Maybe someone will edit it and make it so its not quite so enraging to watch.

Friday March 16, 2007 - 2:38 PM

Novemberose

Mmmm... 300 muscly men in leather loin cloths... best movie of the year!

Friday March 16, 2007 - 1:13 PM

Vanilla_Ninja

Was pretty good...more of a guy movie...there were times when there was so much going on you couldnt see anything. but it had a good story and a lot of action.

Thursday March 15, 2007 - 8:30 PM

.HerbalMagic.

IN-FUCKING-CREDIBLE!
one of the most amazing fight movies everrrr.
loved the fighting style n strategies!
killer graphics.
A MUST SEE.
DEFFINATE BUYER!
and lots of hot bods to look at!

Thursday March 15, 2007 - 6:52 PM

Queef-Eater

This movie is so friggen sweet!
I'd go watch it again.
Definite DVD buy too.

Thursday March 15, 2007 - 5:48 PM

Minion

Definately worth the multiple hour trek to see it on opening night happy It was everything it should be- gorey, sexy, violent, and dare I say EPIC xD

Thursday March 15, 2007 - 5:29 PM

RelatveObsrvr

It was incredible!!! Against such insane odds, the Spartans kept their shit together and taught the world a thing or two. why? because they are Spartans dammit and there is no better way to die than in defense of their home.
I love when King Leonides calls the Athenians "philosophers and boy-lovers" after they send no help to stop the invasion.

Puts things into perspective. You can act intellectual and superior all you want, when you have a million Persians at your border who do you want on the front lines?

The narrator was well chosen and pulls the story together.
His speech at the end brought tears to the eyes of more than one person in the place.

The battles are crazy, although i wish we could have seen the first and the last battle.

Every scene could be frozen and turned into a painting.
The whole film just gave the feeling that this is and was a very important time in history.

Please go see this in theatres so you will get the full effect.

Thursday March 15, 2007 - 4:49 PM

DadaSaint

oh man... i cried a lil, thas how good it was.

davidson doesnt cry.

Thursday March 15, 2007 - 3:46 PM

;MørbidCherry

Amazing movie.
I've never read anything historic about this time, so I didn't know exactly what to expect, but I enjoyed the gore and mercilessness of the Spartans. It was always interesting and pleasing to my eyes. EPIC indeed.

Thursday March 15, 2007 - 12:35 AM

bucky-jvh

i just saw it and this movie gets an easy 5 stars. there's always those few things you would change, or you point out that are dumb, but in this movie those things were deinfately few. i thuroughly enjoyed this movie in every aspect, despite it's swimming in a sea of just flat out terrible movies of the last decade. from what i've seen it's easily one of the most well done movies of 07 so far.

Wednesday March 14, 2007 - 10:24 PM

Aperfectdrug

Best action movie I have seen in a really long time plus lots of hot men and women in close to nothing

Wednesday March 14, 2007 - 10:02 PM

TheMan.com

your mom loves it too

Wednesday March 14, 2007 - 9:14 PM

nachos666

this was a fucken amazing movie!!!! the slowed down action sequence was amazing.... wow! i can't wait to own it!!!!

i would give it 10 stars but there are only 5 here!!!!!
sweet!!!!!!!!

Wednesday March 14, 2007 - 7:18 PM

someguy4

HOLY SHIT!! Amazing is all i gotta say. ultra fkin violent and awesome. its that awesome that makes you laugh its so kickass. see it!

Tuesday March 13, 2007 - 7:25 PM

$wr3ak$

i don't see why everyone liked it so much, caus it was kind of a letdown. i realy don't think movies can get much stupider than this, i wouldn't even read the comic book. i would be surprised if it was even possible to make a movie so bad, and so stupid, that it would make 300 look good.

Tuesday March 13, 2007 - 3:26 PM

[L][O][V][E]

It was, by far, the most amazing movie I've seen in my entire life. The narration, cinematography, dialogue, acting were all superb. I'd recommend this movie to anyone. It's a must see especially in the theater. Awesome.

Tuesday March 13, 2007 - 3:09 PM

cutelilpunk

:]

Tuesday March 13, 2007 - 1:28 PM

ollie

Pretty imagery, decent plot. I wouldn't have expected more from a film made entirely from a graphic novel. Good show.

Tuesday March 13, 2007 - 11:28 AM

Bacchus

This was a top notch action movie.

If you're looking for great acting, go see something else you fool. Don't expect oscar winning performances in this type of movie, and to those that expected such...have you never seen an action movie?

Don't compare it to history. This movie was based off of a COMIC BOOK that was *loosely* based on events that happened in history. This move had about as much in common with the original story as did the Warriors. Frank Miller never claimed to be historically acurate and neither did Zack Snyder. They simply wanted to make a cool fucking movie.

And they DID.

The action was great, the effects were amazing and the visuals make lord of the rings look like it was done by highschool students. The speaches were epic, the fight sequences were epic, the movie was epic.

Tuesday March 13, 2007 - 1:21 AM

trendthrill

this movie rocked my ass so bad, i'm going to be bruised for years...

norly!!!

Monday March 12, 2007 - 11:38 PM

s2001

I enjoyed it!!
tongue

I love the CG! and the slow motion beauitful.

need more movies like this for sure!

.....does anyone know where that apple came from?

and i loved that guy while he was eating that apple he was just stabing off screen on the left. lol

Monday March 12, 2007 - 8:09 PM

cptpopetastic

It was amazing for what it was.

And that is a movie based on a graphic novel, not factual history.


Anyone who wants to bitch that the movie was historically inaccurate needs to go play in traffic for a few.

Monday March 12, 2007 - 4:15 PM

Alphaeus

*atari* doesnt know what he's talking about.... had he SEEN the actual movie he woulda known it had nothing to do with the 'Turks' roll eyes

300 is now up there with one of my favourite movies. Excellent storyline (although a lil off from history), great acting, the action was brilliant, and the special effects I dont beleive were over done at all...

The 'feel' of the movie was spell binding, and quite inspirational. Finally a movie to make greeks proud... unlike Alexander which made us look like a bunch of homos. lol

Monday March 12, 2007 - 2:27 PM

BasS|SicK

Wow.

Just wow.

I've been waiting for a movie like this for a while.

Monday March 12, 2007 - 2:01 PM

TinyLittleAtom

Didn't follow the graphic novel as much as I expected but damn, it was close.

Overall, an amazing movie.

Monday March 12, 2007 - 1:13 PM

stereolion

The best battle movie I have ever seen. The word "epic" is used too much but is the only accurate adjective for this film so...
EPIC.

Monday March 12, 2007 - 1:36 AM

sassy2424

went in completely blind, didn't have a clue what the movie was about, and loved it.
great movie.

Sunday March 11, 2007 - 11:47 PM

illuminari

Saw this in IMAX the night it was released.

I know the whole history behind it, and I've read the comic. Unfortunately the movie was based more around the comic than the history itself, which is a little dissapointing, since some of the history was more entertaining than what happened in the movie.

1> Leonitis didn't kill a wolf. He killed a slave. He had to strangle him to death without being caught.

2> It didn't rain the first night; it rained the second night, after the Persians had already lost thousands.

3> The Phalanx was SOOO not right. And they never broke Phalanx to battle 1-on-1 until the actual final battle.

4> This was the scene I was waiting for throughout the whole movie, and it wasn't in there! The actual last battle, Leonitis was one of the first guys to get struck with an arrow. He went down, and all the Persians instantly tried to take his body. All the other Spartans stopped what they were doing and ran to protect his dead body. FOUR TIMES they had to fight off the Persians, and they did! Then they dragged his body away from them. That's where they formed a circle around his dead body, and that's when the arrows killed the rest of them. They all died in a circle around his body. *sigh* That would have been so dramatic.

BUT! Aside from that, this movie kicked some serious ass. Loved the action. *LOVED* the acting. Whoever said the acting sucked is an idiot. That acting was fucking awesome. Loved the special effects, but they relied a liiiittle too heavily on them for my tastes. And, of course, loved the storyline.

Best movie. Ever. Even if it isn't 100% accurate.

Sunday March 11, 2007 - 11:18 PM

matty_boy

greatest movie ever i seen 3 times so far

Sunday March 11, 2007 - 7:21 PM

.addicted

i love blood

Sunday March 11, 2007 - 7:14 PM

*Atari*

I have to say that I thought the movie sucked balls. I think that 300 was the worst movie I have ever seen. I felt that this movie was just a well put together battle scene with slight dialogue here and there. The story line was rushed and underdeveloped. The acting was horrendous. It was content yelling and at even the slight change of emotion it was shattered by a content barraged of one layer characterizations. It was completly one level. Those that say the acting was good need to learn what makes acting good. Having people just be one level and yell the entire time DOES NOT MAKE GOOD ACTING. DEVELOMENT/CHANGE MAKES GOOD ACTING. Having a actor have peaks and rises in his speeches. THAT IS GOOD ACTING. The movie started to repeat itself after awhile. Like hardcore. The struggle that they need to over come was just a flat line. there needed to be more fear, disappointment, hope, just something. It also moved by way to slow. At one point, it took them five minutes for a guy to throw a spear. I was about ready to yell at the screen, "THROW THE DAMN SPEAR ALREADY!" They didn't really build up the evilness of the Turks. We were supposed to hate and fear these guys with only slight words here and there to justify it. Many of the camera view had me baffled at what was going on. Now I just might be the only one that thinks this way. Many of my friends really liked it. I felt it was a supreme waste of two hours and $6.50.

Sunday March 11, 2007 - 6:11 PM

Patches

i havent' seen it yet, but reading the book and knowing the history, miller purpsefully didn't make it all true to contemporary accounts of Spartan life.

but it could be said the apartheid nation of Sparta does have similairies with countries in last 2 decades, south africa, the states...
will be seeing in imax today, can't wait!

Sunday March 11, 2007 - 4:09 PM

CoKee

-------------------
i dunno wat it is frown
-------------------

if you dont know what is it then dont make a review saying that you dont know what it is...retard..plus, how could you not know what this movie is...its had so much hype over the past few months, it most be lonely living under a rock

anyways...movie was amazing...enuf said

Sunday March 11, 2007 - 3:14 PM

Italian_raver

are you on crack buddy. This was a real life event. the spartans were the best and most diciplined ground troop of thier time, they acually did live adn die by their code. There is no brainwashing here. If it wasnt for those people ay back then who left their home to bascially commit suicide just to hold off the persian onslaught, the world would be sutch a diffrent place. there still is a memorial to this day of these brave men. Dont look into this more than it is, this has nothing to do wiht bush, this is history, so stop assuming and disrespecting the people who died for the love of their own country. I know Italy would be all messed up and my family wouldnt even exist if it werent for them.

Sunday March 11, 2007 - 2:51 PM

IansOnCrack

this whole movie is just a reflection of the war on terrorism just replace the times with guns the king breaks spartan code and goes 2 war hmmm sounds like a mr gorge bush and the whole movie just seems like hidden propaganda like there code and shit to die in battle oh what you mean like American and Canadian soldiers as well as all the other movies coming out these days like behind enemy lines 2, or the marine with john cena they all media brainwashing! it is alllllll brainwashing its fucked right up i know it kinda sounds crazy but its totally true u can see all the stuff they slip into movies 2 make u think a certain way about war and such trust me

Sunday March 11, 2007 - 5:30 AM

DavidSama

This movie raised the bar on special effects.. This movie is so amazing.. well maybe the fact that I saw it in the IMAX theather helped.. but this movie have extremely amazing special effect and gorgeous camera shots... all that slowmotion fallow by the rapid movement action scenes really kick butt.. this is a most see movie and one movie you wouldn't mind owning on blue ray!..

Sunday March 11, 2007 - 1:01 AM

SquishteK

i dunno wat it is frown

Sunday March 11, 2007 - 12:36 AM

jadedtara

I thought it was filmed incredibly but it just seemed to drag on for the second half though.

Saturday March 10, 2007 - 6:17 PM

mary_jane

read below.

Saturday March 10, 2007 - 4:08 PM

Radek

it was really sick.

i expected more from the movie, especially before i saw it.

they really depicted the persian army in a bad and unrealistic way.
but shit happens.

a lot of fantasy, not as much reality as im use too in medieval movies.

however, definetly recommend watching this movie.

filled to the tits with action.
also recommend burning a fat one before you see it.

Saturday March 10, 2007 - 12:10 AM

5hade

EPIC.

Thats the only word to describe the action and scale. The whole film shines with a luster of blood-stained polished brass, and gives proper tribute to the honor and strength of ancient spartan society. Although the historical accuracy is suspect (as far as some of the oddities and monstrosities go) it can be overlooked for the sake of creative vision. Some scenes, especially the oracle consultation, could be taken from the reel and framed as art. Even though the director had nothing to do with the other recent Frank Miller adaptation, Sin City, the film does share a similar gritty feel.

A word of warning, this is certainly not a film for children or the faint of heart. There is very intense violence (at times, almost over the top) and some nudity/adult situations. The language, however, is refreshingly clean.

Brilliant and beautiful film making. Lord Of The Rings scale battle without the slower storyline points. Well worth every cent of admission.

Thursday February 22, 2007 - 3:15 PM

side_kid

Saw it last night and it was totally rad.

Not as good as good as the actual comic, but as close as you could possibly get.