Fri Jul 3 - 10:31pfantastic
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Action & Adventure/The Village

Category:
Movie
Director:
M. Night Shyamalan
Year:
2004
Genre:
Action & Adventure
Average:
42 reviews
Tuesday April 01, 2008 - 8:29 PM

[(*Chels)]

If someone were to ever ask me what the worst movie i had ever seen was... i would without any hesitation say this one takes the metal!

absolutely horrible i want my time and money back

Monday March 31, 2008 - 11:54 PM

the_tr!xster

Awesome movie, M. Night Shyamalan did a great job with this one. It did make you think, and you didn't know what was going to happen next.

It reminded me of a book I read when I was younger...

I do agree that you can't watch it more than once though, because it has such an impact you only need to see it once.

Woot.

Monday March 31, 2008 - 5:50 PM

bioluminesent

soooooo predictable...
i hated it.

Friday February 22, 2008 - 5:16 PM

Fattycakes

dumbest movie I have ever seen! I could have ripped the movie theater apart whenever it ended! frown BOO!

Friday February 22, 2008 - 4:49 PM

Caleidh

DIFFERENT, AND CAPTIVATING...

for fucking once in a blue moon! Good movies with different stories are hard to come by now a days.

Wow after reading comments, who the hell told all these people it was a horror movie?
Stop watching lame ass TV previews people, it makes movies better.
ALWAYS.

Friday February 22, 2008 - 9:41 AM

moth

This moving is very intriging. I know this sounds cheesy but it's like watching a book. Most movies are based off of books, but the feeling in this one like it was actually telling a story just captivated me. The way the village was trying to protect itself from the outside world because of all the bad things that happened to the founders, it's great. It just goes to show that sheltering yourself or your loved ones doesn't keep shit from happening. It just changes the way they handle it and how it's taken care of. Secrets hurt everyone eventually. M. Night is one of my favorite directors and this movie is one of my favorites!!

Thursday July 05, 2007 - 3:25 PM

~Glitter-Stick~

worst movie i saw in quite a while when i watched. i've seen worse since then, but i wanted a refund after watching it. i was expecting a horror movie and i got this stupid sap story with a blind girl. waste. of. time.

Monday June 04, 2007 - 6:24 PM

scary_3

FRIG'N AWESOME!!

Monday June 04, 2007 - 1:22 PM

*shyknee_candiE*

kinda a waste of time..sorta like that cheesy creepy theme...it was ok tho ahha.......whats shitty is u can never watch it more then once, there is no point because the ending is what makes up the whole movie..

Monday June 04, 2007 - 2:14 AM

kismit123

It was one of the worst films that i ever wasted my time watching. I so wanted my time and money back.

Sunday June 03, 2007 - 1:54 PM

innocentcas

Loved it!! It was completely different from most movies out!

Saturday June 02, 2007 - 7:51 PM

~*MorningXStar*~

I did not like this movie. I saw it in theaters. And I wanted my money back >happy
Rip Off!!!

Wednesday May 09, 2007 - 5:50 PM

sexy_smilez

wasnt extraordinary at all.

Wednesday February 14, 2007 - 8:10 AM

sprite_mew

Good to watch once.

Wednesday February 14, 2007 - 12:39 AM

Shm00p!

The first part of the movie wasn't bad, but I didn't really like how it ended. The concept was kind of interesting, but they should have worked on it a lot better. From the trailers, you don't expect the movie to be what it is. I was expecting a lot of suspense and some gore, but I was disappointed.

Wednesday December 20, 2006 - 11:16 PM

Room103.49

Absolutely riveting the first time through. It is dissapointing to say however after watching it the first time, it's no longer interesting to watch through again.

Wednesday December 20, 2006 - 7:23 PM

drake22

fuckin sucked all i have to say is it sucked worse than my girlfriend in the movie theatre

Wednesday December 20, 2006 - 12:41 PM

Brooker16

i think this movie sucked ass!!!

Wednesday December 20, 2006 - 9:23 AM

.*.Mizz_Momma.*.

I actully liked this movie.
The end made the movie kinda neat.

Sunday November 12, 2006 - 5:00 PM

killerclown

this movie was soo stupid horrible movie

Sunday November 12, 2006 - 4:56 PM

*Jammers

I liked the movie.
The ending was NOT was i expected at all....and i dunno, i just like bascially all of M. Night Shyamalan's movies movies!!!

Good one!! smile

Sunday November 12, 2006 - 3:57 PM

CoKee

good movie, hoooorible ending

Sunday November 12, 2006 - 3:09 PM

hathor

Great the first time you see it.... but no real point to watch it again since the twist is already ruined, and the twist is the only real point to the whole plot, i thought.

Sunday November 12, 2006 - 2:45 PM

bitchy_baby

they ruined the twist to fast like once u findout that the monsters arent real its just stupid

Sunday November 12, 2006 - 2:12 PM

carebearxonxk

such a fucking dumb movie! like seriously the actors were terrible, and the story was just dumb.

"oh lets send the blind chick (and the only realtively good actor) into the woods were the elders dress up as little red riding hog so she can get us medicne from a hospital in the outside world that she's never been to!!"

sweet. i have to say though, 1 star because at least the story was a bit different. horror movies are just using the same sort of ideas over again, and the amish village and the "bad colour!" was a bit... lame- i mean, original.

Sunday November 12, 2006 - 1:08 PM

dollspit

The twist wasn't MNS' fault, it was based on a book called Running out of Time. So blame the author.
As a science fiction/drama, this movie could have been interesting.
His only BIG slip was marketing it as a horror.
We all went in to be disturbed and walked out with the "see kids, the boogey man isn't real" vibe. And that's what blows.

Saturday October 21, 2006 - 11:53 PM

Brianna

DUMBASS MOVIE!!! enough said..

Wednesday October 18, 2006 - 10:13 PM

!!LadyStarDust!!

I found it really boring
and the twist with the whole they kept themselves locked up

that was the stupidist thing

just my opnion

Wednesday October 18, 2006 - 9:36 PM

.Jane.Doe.

The movie overall was rather boring but the ending was great so......3 stars

Wednesday October 18, 2006 - 9:08 PM

Rizi

people hate it b/c they were expecting a horror film...guess what none of this director's movies are a horror film The movie was awesome as the movie is simple as that awesome story and everything!

Wednesday October 18, 2006 - 7:45 PM

youdontknowme

this movie blew nuts ... and at the end you find out that there actually living in present time after they jump over a wall ... wtf ... it was a complete waste of time ...

Wednesday October 18, 2006 - 7:24 PM

pyrettablaze

UHHMMMM come on if the only people that new what was going on the entire time were the five or whatever people from the counselling groups, who couldn't face the fact that people die, then why were there people older than them in the village that made absolutely no sense. All in all it had a really dumb plot with many holes, however I give it two stars for some good cinematography.

Wednesday October 18, 2006 - 5:53 PM

bucky-jvh

i chose 1 star due to the fact that i wasn't completely sure that the end would be gay, and it was, hah.

Wednesday October 18, 2006 - 4:56 PM

DRs1fan

It Was An Awesome Movie I Loved It! I Hope Sometime Soon M. Night Shyamalan Would Make The Village 2!!!

Wednesday October 18, 2006 - 4:01 PM

Ragga_Scum

I had to vomit a few times just to get past the opening scene.
worst movie in the history of movies.

Wednesday October 18, 2006 - 3:38 PM

1nkbloT

This movie was predictable and sucked balls when I saw it in theatres two years ago, and I'm pretty certain it still sucks now... Unless they replaced the entire film with a new one.

Wednesday October 18, 2006 - 3:19 PM

~Drea~

i like this movie .... hes so freakin hot

Wednesday October 18, 2006 - 2:28 PM

JamesLipo

No matter what the point of this film was, it was piss poorly made. M. Night is a dry pool.

Wednesday October 18, 2006 - 12:34 PM

happiechild

I actually liked the Village, the thing I didn't understand was why it was billed as a horror flick? There is nothing scary about this movie, he reveals the secrets early on, it's really more about a moral and emotional struggle of the characters than creatures in the forrest. This was my idea of a semi sappy love story/drama, not a horror flick. The distributer was definitely targeting the wrong audience on this one.

I really liked the line about being able to tell someone's feelings for you by the way they never touch you. That particular bit struck a chord with me.

Monday October 16, 2006 - 11:56 PM

Scarah

I pretty much totally agree with M@

Saturday October 14, 2006 - 5:32 AM

CanadianGirl4

Besides Open Water, this was one of the worst movies I've ever seen. It was shit, and a waste of my time.

Wednesday September 27, 2006 - 6:35 PM

;M°rbidCherry

Yeah this movie was shit.