Sat Jul 4 - 6:28ahappy
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Action & Adventure/Superman Returns

Category:
Movie
Director:
Bryan Singer
Year:
2006
Genre:
Action & Adventure
Average:
9 reviews
Sunday October 18, 2009 - 7:04 PM

moonqueen

Yarg. Good casting for Superman (although I've heard they had to digitally downsize his "kryptonite" to be more family friendly) and moderately acceptable Lex Luther, but I was totally unimpressed with everyone else. Has Peta Wilson really gone so far down the B-list she has to do crappy cameos like this to support her bleach habit? The most hoss part of this flick is when Superman lands near the guy with the turret gun. When the dude shoots him point blank in the face and it just wads up like putty against his eye and falls to the floor you wanted to scream "Oh, you is f+++ed now!" at the screen.


"someone should spit some aids into kate bosworths mouth"

As a card-holding f+g hag I should find that insensitive to the plight of homosexuals with HIV and AIDS everywhere. However, I think upon viewing this film they and I would concur with your assessment.

Friday January 12, 2007 - 9:49 AM

dg_superman20

u ppl dont know what ya be talkin bout

Friday January 12, 2007 - 12:40 AM

0_ReMiX_0

lol i agree has defintly returned to much
i dint really liek the movie that much

Thursday January 11, 2007 - 8:58 PM

Mandas

i thought it was sweet

Thursday January 11, 2007 - 3:30 PM

StarShyne

GO SUPERMAN!

Thursday January 11, 2007 - 12:54 PM

happiechild

I can appreciate this film for its basic entertainment value... splashy production values, special fx were ok, cast was pretty, etc. A definitely plus is that you don't have to know anything about Superman to see this film, it's pretty much spelled out for you.

I saw the movie in IMAX 3D and while the IMAX aspect of it was great (I love IMAX) the 3D scenes SUCKED. It kinda ruined part of the experience for me because I was so distracted by lousy effect that I couldn't fully pay attention to the scenes. So much money was spent on this production, I felt the least they could've done was throw in a little extra to get everything right.

Saturday January 06, 2007 - 11:47 AM

side_kid

man do i love superman

but man did jimmy olson and lois LAME ruin this film


someone should spit some aids into kate bosworths mouth

Thursday December 14, 2006 - 10:51 AM

thehugeone1

I found this movie very disapointing. Not enough diologe or plot. About half of the movie is Super man just flying around and the other half is Kevin Spacy rubbing his hands together going "Good, Good...."
I bet it'll be remade.

Friday December 08, 2006 - 3:00 PM

lair_driver

Okay, well I know that Im a little impartial to Superman. Ive been collecting the comics since the early 80's and I have pretty much followed him ever since. Ive determined that people either like Superman alot, or the hate him. There isnt much middle ground. Sure his costume may seem a little outdated compared to todays standard, but the bottom line is- he was the first Superhero and laid the groundwork for everyone else that came after him. He is the ultimate minority success story. SO- How did Superman Returns do the legend justice? Did it or Didnt it?

The sheer size and budget of Superman guaranteed that people would have the best possible visual experience of Superman possible. Singer tried to bring the comic element to life, while trying to stay true to the Richard Donner roots established in the Christopher Reeve films. What does a $300 million dollar budget buy you? Well a bunch of Airplanes, a Space shuttle, and enough explosions to rock a small city. Singer took quite a hit for going over his budget- but im glad- because it paid off in spades.

The script work was solid, Kevin Spacey played a great Lex Luthor. He did the dark Luthor quite well. His sidekick - played by Parker Posey (?!) was hillarious and she added just the right amount of humor. If you compared it to X3 or other comic book movies of that type, it destroyed X3. As that movie was a 3 part movie crammed into 2 hours. Superman was a 3 hour movie, that felt like 2 hour movie.

Brand Routh did a solid job as Superman, I say that without any regret. I didnt like the Bo-Toxed face look , and I think they over did his make up in a couple of scenes. But he had the acting down right. It isnt so much of a challenge to play Superman, as it is to play the goofy Clark Kent.

The only cons- if you could consider them that. They took some liberties with his story line- (the Super baby), They didnt explain how he survived in space for 5 years looking for a planet made out of the element that would now kill him, They also made the fortress as easy to walk into as a local Walmart. I loved the Plot, the New Krypton idea was awesome.

I liked the fact that it was 2 parts comic book movie, 1 part natural disaster flick, and one part dark comedy. Now that a sequel has been confirmed- Im hoping they bring in Braniac or Darkseid. Have him kick real ass on film, its about time. Singer will work with a much Smaller budget $180 million. But considering he did X1 and X2 on comparable budgets, the movie will likely be shorter.

A great way to spend 3 hourssmile