Thu Apr 26 - 5:13asleepy
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Documentary/Jesus Camp

Category:
Movie
Director:
Heidi Ewing
Year:
2006
Genre:
Documentary
Average:
19 reviews
Friday April 01, 2011 - 11:34 PM

.catalyst.

Awesome, make that phenomenal, documentary. The folks at A&E are finally turning out some really cool stuff that isn't true-crime.

It's a peak into the uber-fanaticism of modern day Penecostal movement and the abuse of children as the most potent vehicles in the dissemination of the word of 'God.'

If you are secular you should see this to try to understand what religious extremism looks like in the lives of people who could, potentially, be your neighbour. If you're a believer, you should see it to try to understand what fundamentalism and extremism can do to contort and distort the positive elements of faith.

If you dug this, check out a documentary called Hell House - it's just as awesome.

Thursday December 11, 2008 - 11:41 PM

Scarah

I thought it was really disturbing. The one little girl who went up to the lady in the bowling alley really annoyed me.

Friday February 08, 2008 - 6:51 PM

KoRnFarey

fuck this is creepy like LEVI " I WANT THE MEAT"

Wednesday August 29, 2007 - 8:24 PM

amyophelia*

quite an eye opener, and it was disgusting to see how those kids were treated

Wednesday August 29, 2007 - 6:36 PM

Deee

Sooooooo funnny

Saturday June 16, 2007 - 8:38 PM

Caleidh

opening the eyes of many more people in this world, and teaching them that this world is full of more fucking lunatics then you think.

I'm glad the movie disgusted some people. Those are the harsh breaks of truth

Saturday June 16, 2007 - 2:57 PM

mc-phyci

this movie discusts me....

Thursday June 14, 2007 - 5:49 PM

Leechna

Crazy Movie...I never knew people like that existed

Thursday June 14, 2007 - 11:39 AM

Novemberose

Wow... watching little Christian Nazis being made is creepy as hell!
Very informative, and shocking at the same time!

Thursday June 07, 2007 - 11:30 PM

trinasaur

Made me cringe.
On several different occasions.

Thursday March 15, 2007 - 6:54 PM

perplexity

Wow. I didn't realize liberalism was dead, oh, wait that's becauses it isn't!

Friday February 23, 2007 - 7:14 PM

BUDZ

i was sooooo pissed off after watching this movie...the things they teach their kids are ridiculous!!!!

Thursday February 22, 2007 - 9:09 PM

nachos666

i thought it was really good... yet very disturbing!
i wanted to beat the shit outta those evangelists or whatever they are telling that crazy shit to those kids.

i mean : let kids be kids...don't push shit like that down their throats. the world is a scary place as it is, and they can learn that when they are older. just let them be children, to enjoy life as it is...

its bad enough that alot of "kids" now are having kids..
i dunno... it made me really upset watching it.

Wednesday January 03, 2007 - 8:06 PM

Shmoo-shmoo

But hey, at least they're not beheading people yet.

Wednesday January 03, 2007 - 4:50 PM

Minion

Never before have I ever hated religion as much as when I finished watching this movie. I had no idea how completly and utterly brainwashed evangelist christians were. To be perfectly honest, I found this movie frightening. Informative mind you, yet frightening.

Wednesday January 03, 2007 - 3:54 AM

:ice:on:fire:

This movies was incredibly messed up. I couldn't even believe some of the things they make those kids do.. well actually its worse because the kids want to do them... it was horrific

Monday December 18, 2006 - 5:17 PM

yhcrana

bill maher showed a clip from it on his show, talked about how they pray to cardboard cut out of bush and stuff.. and a clip of a kid saying he was saved at 5, that he felt he needed something in his life.. he was fucking 5 years old! what the hell do you need in your life at 5, except parents that take care of you, instead of sending you to an insane camp to tell you how other people are wrong.
fuck these people

Monday December 18, 2006 - 2:07 PM

YourDigitalJesus

Jesus Camp (2006)
Directed by:
Heidi Ewing
Rachel Grady

Tagline: America is being born again

Plot Outline: A documentary on kids who attend a summer camp hoping to become the next Billy Graham.

MPAA: Rated PG-13 for some discussions of mature subject matter.
Runtime: 84 min / USA:87 min
Country: USA
Language: English
Color: Color
Certification: USAtongueG-13

www.imdb.com/title/tt0486358/


YourDigitalJesus' Review:

Ok, so I've been staring at this blank page for about 10 minutes trying to figure out where to start. Really, all I needed to do to sum this up is to upload a video of my head exploding as i watched this.

Well, for those of you wondering why my head exploded heres a quick summary of the movie.

"Jesus Camp" Follows an Evangelical Christian youth pastor who runs a Christian themed summer retreat for children. At camp the young ones participate in such wholesome activities as; Learning how abortion is a sin against god, how science is all lies, and how their non-christian friends are going to hell if they don't "save" them.

The movie has no commentary of any sort by the directors and they have various interviews with all the fundies (see: fundamentalist -> see: "Bat Shit Crazy"wink that run the camp.

Thier views are fucking insane, to say the least. These kids are about 6-12 years old and they have another batshit crazy speaker telling them how Roe v Wade (landmark american case that legalised abortion) has resulted in "1/3 of your friends never existing". then for the batshit icing on the batshit crazy cake they take thier tools (kids) and have them stand on capitol hill with red duct tape with "life" written on it covering thier mouths. Am i the only person who thinks its despicable and vomit inducing to use impressionable kids to further your radical, fundamentalist right with political ideas?

Since the release of this movie the actual "jesus camp" has been closed down (Hallelujah!!) but the damage has already been done to these children. Dont get me wrong, i have no issues with kids learning about their parents religion but this is fucking nuts!

I've got thousands of things that i'd like to touch on in this review but I'm so blinded with rage and confusion that i cant go on. Hopefully you will watch this and understand where i'm coming from