Mon Sep 28 - 3:17pexhausted
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Action & Adventure/War of the Worlds

Category:
Movie
Director:
Steven Spielberg
Year:
2005
Genre:
Action & Adventure
Average:
71 reviews
Friday August 28, 2009 - 3:51 AM

BigMamaSugarDady

SO GUYS I got a great idea, lets make a movie about aliens AND....UHm.... OH Cast Tom Cruise as the lead actor Dahaha-hiuck.

No.

Screw Tom.

Not a bad movie... but HORRIBLE actor. And casting for that matter... FOR the most part.

Saturday May 31, 2008 - 3:28 AM

Robinoxide

L.O.V.E.




but please people i'm begging you that although there is a "war of the word's 2" out-DO NOT WATCH IT.


it's more loW budget than those sci fi shows on the sci fi channel.


or be a little curious fuck and go watch it and want to kill yourself too..but don't say i didn't warn you.

Thursday January 10, 2008 - 11:18 PM

*shyknee_candiE*

sick movie, lol a little cheesy at times....but its sick

i dont rellie like tom cruise, i think hes an egotistical asshole....but he did pretty okay in this one, kept to the script without weirding people out....ha

(you know its sad when your Tom Cruise and you walk into a wall with an erection and break your nose...) lol

three starzzzz

Thursday January 10, 2008 - 8:06 PM

~Glitter-Stick~

wow, i really don't get the problem...

i'm not generally a fan of tom cruise, but he did alright in this one, the point is, he's a deadbeat dad, and he's played a pretty good dumbass father figure in this movie. sure he over acted, but it's kinda part of the point. i'm sure if a real situation like that happened, most people would act in a very similar manner, if they were also cowardly dead beat fathers... lol

anyways, the effects were great, the story was alright, gets a little too 'family moment' like for me more than once, but the general chaos and destruction were done prefect in my opinion. and besides the happy family ending, the prospect of the aliens dieing of the common cold was fantastic.

i really can't see why so many people didn't like it, if tom cruise was their only problem. either way, i think it deserves 4 stars, i own it and i've watched it a fair amount, and i'm looking at the whole spectrum of the movie, not just the actors, or the story, or the effects, everything on the whole, and with everything on the whole, it was a very well done movie.

and another thing, the fact that people went to see that movie with a war in mind was stupid. what the hell kind of weaponry would we have, now, to go against an alien race who'd obviously advanced enough, and had been advanced long enough to have planted their war machines under our cities long before we even got there, to travel thru space and time to try and take over our planet. i mean really. this is supposed to be a one sided battle. if it wasn't for our germs and bacteria we would have lost that war anyways.

but i know it's just cuz everyone hates tom cruise, so they form their opinion on everything he does around the fact that they hate tom cruise. so this movie could have been flawless, prefect in every way, and there would still be this many people who hated it with every fiber of their being, just cuz the name tom cruise is attached to it. form opinions of real facts guys, not of a popularity contest.

Thursday January 10, 2008 - 4:22 AM

L.A.Girls.

I did'nt mind it but I kept wait for like some serious war to go down and it never happened

Tuesday April 10, 2007 - 10:22 PM

!!SIDESHOWMEL!!

all i can say is..



















lame.

Wednesday February 14, 2007 - 11:43 AM

shatteredxhopes

I thought it was a pretty good movie.

Thursday January 18, 2007 - 8:26 PM

$wr3ak$

some ppl shouldn't be alive so they can submit there stupid opinions about supid movies..

Thursday January 18, 2007 - 5:03 PM

sports2kool

It was okay. I have seen better movies

Thursday January 18, 2007 - 3:59 PM

bitchy_baby

acting=sucked, plot=sucked, everything about this movie=sucked it doesn't even deserve a rating it sucked so bad lol i turned it off after the first 5 minutes

Thursday January 18, 2007 - 3:56 PM

CanadianGirl4

This movie sucked it wasn't about the theme at all. The theme of it was Tom Cruise trying to become a good father and suffer from his lack of responsbilities of being a father. One of the worst movies I've ever seen and I hate Tom Cruise as an actor.

Thursday January 18, 2007 - 2:23 PM

NNY

The original version of the movie did quite well...and I thought the remake was alot better. Ofcourse the ending is kinda ridiculous, but only because we were EXPECTING something else. Otherwise it was a very well thought out idea and I believe it deserves alot more credit than it got.

Thursday January 18, 2007 - 1:50 PM

headbang2rock

I thought that movie was ok but i love tom cruse even though he is an old fat

Thursday January 18, 2007 - 10:54 AM

ashleyc_p

not the best money but it pass some time

Thursday January 18, 2007 - 12:43 AM

~*~MiSs-PRisS~*~

It was good, until closer to the end when it took forever to get them out of the house, and then it just seemed to drag on and on, like they ran out of IDEAS.. ahhh

i was definitly dissapointed

Wednesday January 17, 2007 - 11:20 PM

RapidImpulse

this movie fuckin blows

Wednesday January 17, 2007 - 6:50 PM

DLC333

it was a waste of money scary movie 4 was better hahahaha

Wednesday January 17, 2007 - 6:06 PM

][JoRd87][

I loved this movie!

Some of the best special effects I have ever seen in a movie.

The sound of that foghorn when the aliens are about to wreck havoc is priceless!

Wednesday January 17, 2007 - 1:54 PM

d.jpyro

meh it was alright... remakes of old movies shouldnt be done unless your going to change it... it was an old movie so of cource eavin the new one would be shit... they should have re-done the entire movie...

but of cource they probubly wouldnt want to do that cuz then they would have had to THINK of something...

the only good movies ive seen in my life with good scripts are:

SAW 1-3
thank you for smoking
lord of war

and trust me ive watched alot of movies in my lifetimetongue

Wednesday January 17, 2007 - 11:11 AM

CruzDemon

Another movie with Tom Cruise, acting as.....TOM CRUISE!

Two stars for the effects and the fact that Steven Spielberg directed it...otherwise NO STARS!

Wednesday January 17, 2007 - 3:13 AM

underdosed

ehh, qhat can i say it was just "ok"

Tuesday January 16, 2007 - 5:06 PM

ChuckD

Had potential. Too much Tom Cruise and not enough of what else was going on around him. Next time make it about the theme and not uninteresting characters running in circles.

Tuesday January 16, 2007 - 3:45 PM

ImThOuGhT

This Movie SUCKED what the hell are the gonna remake next?? Jason and the Argonauts??

Friday January 12, 2007 - 6:16 PM

0_ReMiX_0

................

Friday January 12, 2007 - 4:09 PM

*~yin~*

this movie was alright considering it had the modern day technology to help with the effects. what was up with that screeching tho. hope that girl didn't lose her voice!

Friday January 12, 2007 - 3:56 PM

StarShyne

Boring, the previews looked good however...
Tom cruise has lost his acting skills totally.

Friday January 12, 2007 - 3:28 PM

*LupineStar*

the original radio broadcast of war of the worlds was awesome...
so awesome that people committed suicide thinking it was real.
this movie does not do it justice, however. also, i didnt get why that girl would scream ONCE, then be just standing there calmly like that. that was kind of dumb. as for tom cruise; not my favorite actor, but not the worst... though he kinda annoys me and is a strange person.

Friday January 12, 2007 - 3:20 PM

AeStHeTeHoMeR

This movie was the worst HollyWood Screen Play
of an awesome novel by H.G.Wells.

Read the book it at least makes sense
and doesn't depend on CG to make up
99/100ths of the movie.


SAVE YOUR MONEY AND YOUR TIME

Friday January 12, 2007 - 1:18 PM

Becker_Boo

tom cruse ruined this movie.think it would have been alot better if he wasn't in it...loved the alien space ships and stuff...but was a little out there for me..lolz

Thursday November 09, 2006 - 10:06 PM

lair_driver

Well - the only thing I can say is this. A superadvanced Alien race in this film somehow made it to Earth, planted in secret -weapons to be used for a future invasion. Then they show up, and wreak havoc with mind bending weapons that turn people to ash and change the weather.They take out global armies, and finally when they are ready to come out and say hi- they fuckin fall over and die because of germs??

Thursday November 09, 2006 - 8:18 PM

lezlie

all around i would say watching movies like this will over time, decrease your level of intelligence

Thursday November 09, 2006 - 6:31 PM

bucky-jvh

decent. it's not a bad movie, but it's not an overly good movie.. i thought it was neat, and yet, i also didn't find it very interesting. this movie left me not knowing what to think, so i'll give it a semi-even 3 stars.

Friday October 20, 2006 - 4:58 PM

liger

Great movie. The little girl freaks me out. I never got why the aliens vaperized the humans if they needed the blood of humans. It would be alot better if they had another lead actor.

Friday October 20, 2006 - 3:01 PM

k-eight

It got pretty tense at times.. which is why it got 2 stars.. other than that it was annoying and Tom Cruise was probably the worst choice for the leading role.

Friday October 20, 2006 - 1:44 PM

QueenB

i didnt think it was all that great. kinda lame

Monday October 16, 2006 - 11:24 PM

self_destruct

meh, its wasn't that great and the ending was just lame. Tom Cruise needs to disapear.

Monday October 16, 2006 - 11:22 PM

.[Spades].

No star.
I wasted my money in theatres on this garbage. I want my god damn money back!
Worst decision I ever made (watching it that is)

Whoever reads this review, don't waste your time. When you are in Blockbuster, don't even stop to read the back cover of the movie case.
Just keep on walking.

Monday October 16, 2006 - 6:56 PM

AtaniFrostwulf

just saw the movie, and i think it was damn good. the only thing i didnt like was tom cruise...he always has that fucking retarded-ass grin on his face. oh well the ending was just a bit far-fetched, but i guess it could happen.

Monday October 16, 2006 - 4:53 PM

!!!Aynzley

but if your talking about the old one it was fucking AWESOME.

Monday October 16, 2006 - 3:17 PM

The_Radical

This movie was crap

Monday October 16, 2006 - 3:08 PM

chicks_rule

the movie waz ight

Monday October 16, 2006 - 1:29 PM

*PrincesS*

worst movie ever. seriously.

Monday October 16, 2006 - 1:09 PM

Pam~

You know I'm kinda disappointed. It is a good movie, but a little far feteched.

Monday October 16, 2006 - 7:36 AM

!!!freshstyle

This movie has the real cinematic feel to it. Sci-fi meets modern day life with brilliant sound and special effects. The bad CGI of the aliens didn't even let me down.

Monday October 16, 2006 - 12:11 AM

**Kooter**

it was really good but because of the directors past work i think he could have done it better

Sunday October 15, 2006 - 11:01 PM

Brianna

I liked it...It was pretty good...

Sunday October 15, 2006 - 10:33 PM

_fcuk_m3_

lmao i went and saw that movie fucked on candie lol scared the living shit outta me

Sunday October 15, 2006 - 9:38 PM

Bluntabulous

huh? boston is for some reason untoughed by all of this...
and i hate tom cruise...what a stupid movie.

Sunday October 15, 2006 - 8:20 PM

firedragon

1, because of that screaming little bitch that didnít listen to anyone, and that dumb son who never got hit by the ex father, and that ass tom cruise

Sunday October 15, 2006 - 6:32 PM

pumpitlouder

everyone's against tom cruise because of his personal religious affairs...
get over it.
he likes scientology.
free country.
he was good in the movie,
generally he's good in movies...
not the best but he was good in this one.
gooooood movie period.

Sunday October 15, 2006 - 6:15 PM

Windowlicker

It wasn't bad, it would have been better without Tom Cruise.

Sunday October 15, 2006 - 6:01 PM

(Mend[it]upp)

pfft i thought it was awesome and i think tom cruise is a good actor...but hes fucking insane and a dumbass lol its a shame his talents are wasted like that

Sunday October 15, 2006 - 2:27 PM

Fight..Fright

not as good as the 1950;s verson. Yall were expecting a diffrent type of film than this one is. You have to rember when the first radio broadcast happened. People across london actally thought alians were invaiding

Sunday October 15, 2006 - 2:48 AM

Symbiant

Awesome. Steven speilberg is a genius and people shold recognize the original sci fi producers and writers.

Steven
George
Cameron.

Bodness.

Sunday October 15, 2006 - 2:44 AM

Yagerslav

Aleins sprayed human blood everywhere!

Sunday October 15, 2006 - 1:37 AM

*laa.dee.dah*

The movie sucked balls.

The beginning (with all of the lightning) was pretty good but the rest of the movie blew.

Sunday October 15, 2006 - 12:48 AM

crazeejay

i enjoyed it basically because i just love all steven spielberg movies...the only shitty part about the movie was tom cruise he was horrible for the part cause he cant act...

Saturday October 14, 2006 - 11:55 PM

SkyInMyPocket

i wouldnt even see it, if i had time to kill. its that bad.

Saturday October 14, 2006 - 5:21 PM

happiechild

One of the worst movies I have ever seen, if you're thinking of renting it, please chop off your hand and dip the bloody stump in the vat of acid instead - it will cause you less pain.

It was the single stupidest (sorry, I know that's not really a word) movie ending ever! My brain hurt afterwards trying to fathom its stupidity!

Even if you don't agree with me about the ending bit, there's no denying that Tom Cruise's acting is some of the most overdramatic rubbish ever seen. It's very hard to find an attachment point and root for the good guys when you wish the main character would just die already.

I hope that in posting this review I was able to lower the average rating by even the slightest bit so that no more hard earned money from moviegoers of this world get wasted on seeing this piece of garbage.

Saturday October 14, 2006 - 1:06 PM

.Jane.Doe.

it was good

Saturday October 14, 2006 - 6:52 AM

you.yes.you

i like seeing tom cruise as a dumbass dad. i wanted to stand up and point to him and just say "SEE you're an asshole tom cruise! you, are , an asshole!

Saturday October 14, 2006 - 5:00 AM

Lady-GnG

Movie sucked!!!
Tom Cruise...the freak. Need I say more.

Friday October 13, 2006 - 11:52 PM

LeggoXMyXEggo

the only reason i am giving it 5 stars is because Justin Chatwin is HOT!! he played the son of tom cruise.

Friday October 13, 2006 - 11:35 PM

j_wilson808

one thing i dont understand about the movie is....if they knew earth was inhospitable for them, why did they bury their war machines here in the first place?

and if they looked at our planet with "envious eyes", why wouldnt they just stay here and keep the planet for themselves instead of planting machines here and then leaving, only to return anyway?

but i'm still giving the movie 4 stars cuz the effects and the blood-stained landscape was amazing

Friday October 13, 2006 - 10:42 PM

.starscream.

you know what, I liked it.

I don't know why.

Friday October 13, 2006 - 10:31 PM

!Jabba

WORST MOVIE EVER

Friday October 13, 2006 - 10:23 PM

~Drea~

ahh stupid.. effects were good but serioulsy stupid not worth seeing ever

Friday October 13, 2006 - 10:13 PM

nachos666

i thought that the machines looked amazing. reminded me of the vinyl albums of the war of the worlds musical remake.
i loved the concept of the machines being in the ground though i did like the original alot better. i'm not a fan of tom cruise. and he always has to be the hero.

ya. i think i only liked the movie for the tripods. they made the movie they were very creepy.
they made me think, how i would run and hide if i've seen them.
and pee myself..... lol

Monday October 02, 2006 - 10:24 AM

Bassdegrime

worst movie ever

i sat through the whole thing waiting for a war

Saturday September 30, 2006 - 11:55 PM

*hotnsexy69*

Pure Garbage!!!

Thursday September 28, 2006 - 3:28 PM

KandyGlow

The effects were great but in the end it was just another remake.