Sun Mar 24 - 7:57ahappy
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Horror/The Descent

Category:
Movie
Director:
Neil Marshall
Year:
2005
Genre:
Horror
Average:
16 reviews
Saturday May 31, 2008 - 3:10 AM

Robinoxide

totally a lesbian power movie.


it was just plain stupid.

Monday April 28, 2008 - 12:07 PM

.tokyo

The ending was pretty confusing...
But overall it was a good movie.
I really liked the blooper's too
they were really funny xD

Monday April 28, 2008 - 1:03 AM

dewwars

sucked. complete crap

Sunday April 27, 2008 - 7:04 PM

AngelsCurse

Good horror movie. I disliked the slow degredation of sanity, but to each their own. I really liked the 'cave human' idea as it could be potentially possible. Overall, no one surviving is pretty sweet. I hate when people survive a death trap.

Monday March 24, 2008 - 2:09 PM

Dangel

happy

Sunday December 23, 2007 - 10:57 AM

travelsize

For a second I thought I was reading the wrong review, but I had The Departed on my mind, not The Descent. Decent movie. Didn't demand my money back, not that I paid to see it, anyway. lol

Sunday December 23, 2007 - 3:49 AM

beef_supreme

kay
anyone seen "the cave"?
no?
good. don't waste your time. after reading this review, you will need to see neither the descent, nor the aforementioned crapfest.

people with varying degrees of experience in cave exploration... explore a cave. as they go into uncharted territory, shit goes horribly wrong. the director(s) build you up and biuld you up, droppping hints that everything is a result of mental degradation or insanity, or that the happenings are some kind of metaphor, conspiracy, but then, in a crushing blow, things take a turn for the shamaylan, and in both the cave and the descent, it turns out to be...






SPOILER ALERT




motherfucking cave-bat-asshole creatures. cave dwelling monsters of one description or another.

come the fuck on.

what was that movie? the departed? yeah. the departed. same deal. spend the whole time building up to some revelation about a cathartic metaphor or a conspiracy or god knows what, and then.... fucking ALIENS. little green goddamn men in spaceships.

the only reason the descent gets one star is for a couple examples of a DP or AD having at least BEEN to a good movie, lord forbid having ever WORKED on one before; namely, a nice bit of editing and visual composition with the girls in a narrow tunnel. the claustrophobic feeling is enhanced by the tunnel being shown only as a thin strip of light in an entirely black screen.
also, points to whoever came up with killing both family members with the flying pole.
completely unrelated to the movie really, and frankly the most startling and upsetting segment of the whole film.

so in summary, if you want torture-porn, watch SAW or hostel. who are you kidding. you like gore? go get you some lame, straightforward gore. you like psychological, suspenseful, or otherwise REAL horror, look elsewhere.

one star out of five

Saturday June 02, 2007 - 4:16 PM

nicky8904

i really liked this movie, very few movies have good horror but this one did it for me i really enjoyed it. Right when they showed the creature i jumped out of my seat and screamed lol wasnt expecting it. definatly recomend it for the goodness.. expectualy the ending is very good not ur typical ending

Thursday February 15, 2007 - 3:19 PM

;mandalicious;

meh.

Thursday February 15, 2007 - 1:48 AM

][JoRd87][

everything about this movie was very well done!

I absolultely loved it and it gets added to one of my favorite horror movies of all time!

Monday January 01, 2007 - 7:45 PM

hey_u_guuyss

ugh
i didnt like this movie
it was gruesome and....dumb.

Saturday December 30, 2006 - 11:41 PM

The_Radical

CRAP

Saturday December 30, 2006 - 10:59 PM

Caleidh

UK version is even more perfect then the american one.

To anyone that hated this movie, you wouldn't know a good horror film if it bit you on the ass.

Saturday December 30, 2006 - 8:29 PM

firedragon

Awesome movie, loved ever last bit of it.

Saturday December 30, 2006 - 7:26 PM

Saskwatch

This movie was great. Real gory. Real dark, they just pop out. I recomend this movie. highly.

Friday December 01, 2006 - 8:38 PM

nachos666

i very much enjoyed this film. it has suspense and gory.
and i'm a bit claustophobic which made it alittle more scary for me.
not too many good horror's out right now. so i do recommend this movie, when it comes to dvd the end of december smile