Fri Jul 10 - 11:09aexcited
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Action & Adventure/X-Men: The Last Stand

Category:
Movie
Director:
Brett Ratner
Year:
2006
Genre:
Action & Adventure
Average:
40 reviews
Sunday October 18, 2009 - 10:14 PM

moonqueen

What the f? WHAT THE FFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF? The only reason this is getting two stars is it had some really decent special effects and some acceptable acting (Magneto and Xavier both quality). I've always hated the characters of Cyclops and Jean (and the whole love triangle b.s. with Wolverine) so wasting them both in one movie also made my day. As a huge fan of the old comics and the very-true-to-the-comics cartoon show from the 90's I hate this series of films with a passion. They screwed up so much with these movies, taking characters totally out of timeline continuity (Rogue was NOT a teenager with no extra powers when she joined the X-Men - the whole reason Rogue kicked a$$ originally was because she had already absorbed Ms. Marvel's powers of flight and super strength), or giving totally random characters names of people from the comics that they have nothing to do with. Also why does Storm sound at least a little African in the first one, but then the accent is just gone? I love Halle Berry and she's gorgeous but a horrible casting job for a powerful African woman once worshipped as a goddess. The Juggernaut was also NOT A MUTANT. Wtf? And the Phoenix as a split personality?!?! WTF?!?! What a load of freaking hogwash. I cheered when she got stabbed because this garbage finally ended.

Thursday July 05, 2007 - 1:48 AM

FT.Photography

"I'm the Jugganaut BITCH"

lol I loved this movie... I was just SO mad when Xavier
died... everyone in the theatre went..... W T FFFFFFF!??

Sunday January 14, 2007 - 11:19 PM

Knowhere

"I'm the Juggernaut bitch"

I mean, come on.
Just... come on!! WTF???

Anyway visually this movie was quite stunning. The script was beyond shite though. I think I was one of the few people that enjoyed the ending. Also seeing Iceman transform all ice, Shadowcat and Beast made it decent.

Mediocre for a Marvel, but definately worth watching.

3 stars

Wednesday January 10, 2007 - 12:03 PM

~NDPenDentHeart~

ok i loved this movie. but did anyone else catch during the credits when magneto wakes up? does this mean that we're in for another movie??

Friday December 29, 2006 - 6:40 PM

Sybelle

I love x-men, but I must say, this is by far the worst. The change in director, the cheesey factor, etc. made the movie almost unbareable.

Friday November 10, 2006 - 6:05 PM

DoubleDeckerDJ

First... They kill Scott Summers... Then Professor Xavier....


Seiously.... That's just uncalled for.... That's not the way it went down... Way to try n fit YEARS worth of comic books into a 1hr 20 minute film....

And you end up with something that, while visually stunning, still left me pist off at the end....


BOOOOOOOO

Monday November 06, 2006 - 3:29 PM

*Jammers

I enjoyed the movie!!!! For me anyways, i find that with most series of movies that the 1st is alway's the best....but i liked the last X-men ALOT better then the second...(again, just my opinion).
And i quite enjoyed the end when they left it open so perhaps there could be something more added on to it. (Kind'a reminded me of Saw....like it should end....but u know something else could come from it).

Monday November 06, 2006 - 2:55 PM

mandykay

this movie Rocz .... but never mind

Monday November 06, 2006 - 2:44 PM

lair_driver

The movie itself was a huge departure from Bryan Singers take. Singer kept X1 and X2 more towards the comic mythology, but also adding a reality to it - that cant be seen in comics. Brett Ratner- just tried to do way to much in one film - and it felt congested the whole time. The Pro's = introduction of some awesome characters like Juggernaut, Kitty Pryde, and a wackload of B - listers. Thats actually what made it cool- because it encompassed a large portion of the X- men universe. The Cons- trying to shove a earth shattering Civil War - which currently is shaking the marvel world in comics- into a 2 hour film. If he had been given permission to make it an epic film. To make it a 3 hour film, with plenty of room for development - the movie would have been different and better.

I also think his hand was forced in trying to get that- shock factor- by killiing off Cyclops and Xavier. We all know death is relative in Comic world, so I somewhat felt cheated by that. The special effects were great of course, as is almost any CGI movie now. We have come to take it for granted, but that is a good thing- because it forces a director to look back at the quality of the script. Not just wooing our eyes with fancy explosions and laser eyes.

I liked the Civil War idea. But it needed to be expanded upon far more and I felt it was wasted quite a bit. It went from being a Civil War - to just a major problem. Still, it was a solid film. Left something to be desired - but not a failure.

Monday November 06, 2006 - 2:26 PM

Symbiant

Was cool that is all....

Monday November 06, 2006 - 1:33 PM

heartless_angel

They gave pheonix too much power and they turned the story around big time. I give it a 7.

Monday November 06, 2006 - 12:30 PM

thehugeone1

I thought it was a great movie.
I don't care that it didn't follow the comic book, not only would that be almost impossible to do because of time, it would be kindof a waste of money, at least with a diffrent story line you are paying for something new, and semi-orginal.

Monday November 06, 2006 - 12:26 PM

StarShyne

I feel asleep during it at the theater, mainly because it sucked and I was stoned.

Monday November 06, 2006 - 8:36 AM

DJSHANK

I just hope they do more x-movies someone said it was going to be the last one i hope not. It was decent first 2 where better.

Sunday October 29, 2006 - 7:22 PM

Intanjible

Thanks for taking a big steamy fucking dump all over my intelligence, Ratner. Honestly I wouldn't have minded waiting the extra year or so for a quality motion picture from Bryan Singer. With a title like "The Last Stand" that doesn't really leave room for a sequel, so now we'll get to endure prequels, which will further bastardize the concept of these characters. This is almost as bad as when Joel Schumacher wiped his ass with the Batman franchise. Maybe if they make a fourth X-Men movie, Singer can come back and save it from mediocrity. They could call it X-Men: Aftermath or something.

Sunday October 29, 2006 - 7:07 PM

ravendancer

I didn't like how it ended, it pissed me off.

Sunday October 29, 2006 - 6:41 PM

Pale~As~Sin

VERY disappointing.

Sunday October 29, 2006 - 4:15 PM

void

i love x-men
but this is no where close to the story
did the writters even read the comics
and what was stan lee thinking letting them do this to the x-men saga
it was ok if you don't know the real story of x-men

Sunday October 29, 2006 - 3:00 PM

DarkKodiaK

all this movie did was shit in the mouth of the fans of both the movie and the comic books.

horrible horrible horrible trite.
the acting, the dialogue, the lack of character development.... all crap.

not to mention the lack of explanation about the new mutants introduced, and promptly killed off....

uuuug... just so much wrong with the movie... it really need another half an hour to explain crap and to build up the story more. Just too short, shit acting, shit story equals shit movie.

Sunday October 29, 2006 - 12:41 PM

.starscream.

I just watched it last night.

I really enjoyed it. No i don't follow the comic books.

Sunday October 29, 2006 - 12:31 PM

Sgt.Pepper

it was alright.. i never read the comics. but i knew what happened, so when i watched the movie i was disappointed, and it was definately rushed through
and i'm not going to even bother with the spinoff movies, those always give you a worse opinion...

Monday October 23, 2006 - 11:14 AM

cabbagepatch

amazing amazing amazing.. I think this is the first time I've watched a trilogy and equally enjoyed all of them..

Saturday October 21, 2006 - 11:54 PM

Brianna

I liked it for the most part..

Saturday October 21, 2006 - 12:15 AM

dj_saiyan

It could have, should have, and would have been more, had Fox not forced them to rush it.

I'll give it three.


By the way somebody asked what happened to Cyclops and Nightcrawler...

Cyclops is dead. End of story. They had no choice but kill off his character, since James Marsden had previous commitments to Superman Returns. However, if you're a fan of the X-Men comics, you'll notice that damn near everybody dies a time or two, and almost always seem to come back.

As for Nightcrawler, he was in the original draft of the script, but the role was so small that Alan Cumming decided that it wasn't worth it to him to spend six hours a day getting into all that makeup, for maybe two minutes of screen time. However, he has stated in interviews that if there are more X-Men films, he will return. For continuity purposes, X-Men: The Official Game, explains Nightcrawler's absence in a story context. Though since I've never played the game, I couldn't tell you how they explained the character being absent.

Friday October 20, 2006 - 11:14 PM

Hella_Cool

it was a let down and and a cop-out.

Friday October 20, 2006 - 9:54 PM

kandiBREAKER~

fuckin SIK.
love the X-men series

Friday October 20, 2006 - 9:09 PM

Novemberose

Wolverine never lost his pants. WTF. SERIOUSLY.

Friday October 20, 2006 - 7:55 AM

Six_six_Six

i loved it
i wasnt expect the ending tho =/
they could still make it better
but meh, i sitll rate it 5

Friday October 20, 2006 - 7:21 AM

!!SIDESHOWMEL!!

god that movie was better than the first two

Friday October 20, 2006 - 5:22 AM

Arcus_Angelus

So in reading all these reviews, I have to of course agree that the movie fucking rocked! Yes it didn't follow comic story line, and some people hated it for that, but beyond that. . .was it a great movie? Yes.

Let's take a SMALLVILLE approach to this . Let's call it an alternate universe. Eliminate "story line" from your thought process and watch the movie as it is. An entertaining piece of work that ended the Trilogy.

My only problem was (and this is strictly a personal thing) was that in the 2nd movie they teased me with the name dropping of "Gambit" who is my favourite EVER! And then to see him. . .or rather, and then "NOT" to see him was a little dissapointing, but whatever, that's my issue!

Again, overall it was a great movie, a great end to the Trilogy, and it was fresh. . .sure some people were going to hate it but to those of you a tad more open minded to the "alternate universe" angle, you should love this movie, a lot of "No way. . .did that really just happen!?!" Especially to those who knew the comic story line and found themselves truly shocked.

Friday October 20, 2006 - 5:10 AM

Monkeface

THIS MOVIE IS THE SHIT!!!!

Friday October 20, 2006 - 4:30 AM

shifty16

the best!!!!!!

Friday October 20, 2006 - 3:57 AM

Hairspray.Queen

wasnt a big fan of the first 2.. but i really really liked this one. i would definitely see it again.

Friday October 20, 2006 - 12:49 AM

coffeecup420

people say it wasent that good cuz it was nuthing like the comic ok truuu
but all in all it was a bomb as movie didn't think it was goign to be good but it was a tripp to smoke a doob too straight goods

Friday October 20, 2006 - 12:33 AM

nachos666

it was alright. i enjoyed the last 2 better. magnetos character is who i loved the best. though i was really sad that gambits character wasn't in it. and my favourite of all "psylocke" had a small gay roll in it.
i just can't wait for the magneto movie to come out.
and you know there will be more.
i think this one was too rushed. at least...i felt like it was.

Thursday October 19, 2006 - 5:15 PM

liger

Graphics rocked, I wish they told us what happend to scot and nightcrawler.(if anyone has an idea of what happend plz tell me..) It could have been better.

Sunday October 15, 2006 - 8:01 PM

!!!.v.K.!!!

nothing like the comic... i was disapointed FULLY.

Sunday October 15, 2006 - 6:04 PM

(Mend[it]upp)

it was a great movie but i agree w/ krazyrace it got alil cheesy the other ones were definately better

Sunday October 15, 2006 - 3:38 AM

Krazyace

It was defintely the worst X men movie. Had a lot of cheesy lines and surprises I didn't like. Still good rental though.

Saturday October 14, 2006 - 6:18 PM

~Drea~

loved it!!! great movie great story line great graphics... one of my fav movie's of 2006 so far