Fri Jul 3 - 10:12pfantastic
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Action & Adventure/Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

Category:
Movie
Director:
David Yates
Year:
2009
Genre:
Action & Adventure
Average:
14 reviews
Wednesday August 19, 2009 - 3:56 AM

barnaby.jones

ive found all of the harry potter movies to be choppy and rushed and disappointing.definitely the best so far out of the lot,
but that aint sayin' much.
it was missing a lot and had a lot of unnecessary crap shoved into it which made it seem sort of jumbled and hurried. pissed me off.
but i am loyal to the series, 'til death.
and i totally cried at the end,
but not as much as the people behind me.

Thursday August 13, 2009 - 5:37 AM

5yNNy+S0RR0w

Best so far ^^

I actually really loved it!

Cant wait for the next one ^^

Wednesday August 12, 2009 - 10:14 PM

hathor

mehhh...
like everyone else is saying, the fight scene?? oh well the death eaters just walk out unhindered?.. and they should have had him wearing the invisibility cloak like he was in the book, instead of hiding lamely at the bottom of the stairs..

and i always thought the relationships between all the kids was a secondary sort of theme; Tom Riddle's life and the horcruxes was made the secondary theme in the film. would have been awesome to see his family and more of his life..

also, did not like their choice of actors for professor Slughorn.. i pictured someone much dumpier, heavier, and prissier...

i guess the stuff they did do was done well enough.. made me cry when Ron made Hermione cry and she pelted the birds at him.....

no big funeral for Dumbledore either! wtf. oh well

Tuesday August 11, 2009 - 12:14 PM

*neon-dreams*

I don't fully remember the book, but now that I read this I do agree somewhat. I don't agree that the movie was 90% about Ron and Lavender although it was a big focus area. But 90% is a bit exaggerating. the Harry Ginny kiss thing is true too - In the book it was this epic kiss and in the movie it was pretty much just a peck. I bet you any money J.K.Rowling's feels regret with the way the last movie went. They probably just couldn't fit everything in the movie and make it make sense with the previous movies because they did leave stuff out of every movie.

but this one, I'd say they left the most out.

apparently the last book is going to be two movies. It better be way better than this one.

I enjoyed it when I saw it, but that's because I forgot half the stuff that happened in the book. Now that you're mentioning Scrimgeour I'm thinking, 'oh yeah! what the hell!?'

Also, they really should have focused a bit more on Ginny and Harry. But maybe the guy who played Ron felt more comfortable making out then the rest of the cast. Who knows.

If it's not a believable kiss, if you can tell the actors uncomfortable, you might as well not add the scene. IT would have ruined the movie if there was a blunt bad acting feel to it.
and they are at a stage in the story where replacing any main characters would be pointless.

just a theory.

Im hoping its more or less that, opposed to the writers and directors taking a short cut. There was barely anything about horcruxes! Wth, man?

P.S. I teared up at the end. and my mom cried. if I hadn't already bawled when I read it, I would have.

P.P.S. Yeah, I saw it with my parents. Ive been into Harry Potter for 9 years.

Monday August 10, 2009 - 7:27 PM

jadedtara

I've loved Harry Potter since the beginning but this one, well I walked out part way through. Not at all impressed.

Sunday August 09, 2009 - 4:40 AM

!!!!!..Nallaine

As the greatest Harry Potter fan ever,

this was the worst HP film ever.
also, No John Williams = baaad.

Saturday August 08, 2009 - 11:46 PM

BloodShed

Love the books, but I hated the fact that in the movie they seemed to focus mainly on the relationships of the characters instead of the actions. [Ginny/Harry] [Herminone/Ron] [Ron/Lavender]

No major end fight scene as mentioned before. They didn't even focus on the book he used of "The Half-Blood Prince". Though, I do have to mention that the person playing as Slughorn was definately a good choice. And Malfoy's personal battle with himself trying to please the Dark Lord was magnificent.

Saturday August 08, 2009 - 10:06 PM

RedDragon124

i'm a metal head but i have to say that the HP series is one of my favs .... but the books are way better then the movies

Thursday August 06, 2009 - 5:49 PM

KandiJungleGirl

I love the HP series, but this movie was no where NEAR accurate enough. They didn't include TONS of key points. Order of the Phoenix, HBP, and Deathly Hallows should all have been/be 2 movies each. I know DH will be, but it better be worth it.
Visually, the film was amazing, they all have been. Just not enough substance. It's like they're trying to make up for what they lack in book to movie accuracy with stunning visuals. I'm slightly disappointed.

Tuesday August 04, 2009 - 6:20 PM

Raver_101

I have to say at the sound of sounding like a nerd, it wasn't as good as the book but it was very well done. Thus far it was the best potter movie yet, I cant wait for the deathly hollows happy

Tuesday August 04, 2009 - 1:31 PM

e-gore

I saw this and thought it was absolutely awesome. It's the first of the Harry Potter movies that have made me cry. I can't wait to see how they do the final movie! finger

Tuesday August 04, 2009 - 11:28 AM

*BunnE*

Fantastic. Better than the last few in keeping up with the books. Some serious things were left out but it was already around the 2.5 hour mark... They had to cut some things out. The movies will never be as good as the books but they can still be a good story in their own right.

Monday August 03, 2009 - 9:11 AM

coffeecup420

It was good..if you didn't read the book..
But if you read the book the movie constantly Made it hard to like..meaning by all the change's and essential Part's being left out
Like the big war..their was no big war in the movie they substatuted it for a single flick of the wand...Ron's brother's fiance was left out..Harry being left sirus's house elf left out and a bunch of dumbordor's memory's which helps you understand more of the story..

BUT After all of that The movie is not so bad the second time around cause your already used to the change's...i liked it more after i wasen't cheesed about it
All i can realy say is Movie's fuck shit uplol

Tuesday July 21, 2009 - 11:28 PM

.Smashbox.

I love Harry Potter. The books and other films were great, but this movie was disappointing frown Too much was changed, and where was the big fight scene at the end!?! I was looking forward to it the most and it never came. / Fail.