Sat Jul 4 - 6:17ahappy
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Action & Adventure/The Watchmen

Category:
Movie
Director:
Zack Snyder
Year:
2009
Genre:
Action & Adventure
Average:
46 reviews
Monday October 18, 2010 - 4:14 PM

Raver_101

YO fuck this four star shit. i've read the GN a shit ton of times before the movie came out. When it did i was nothing less then impressed. they pretty much followed though with the GN almost 100%
as for the blue dick... fuck it Dr Manhattan is by far one of the most unique characters created in comic history. man if only i had his powers over matter i'd be fuckin set happy

Monday October 18, 2010 - 12:21 PM

halloweentown122

I'm still trying to figure out how this is a lower rated movie than Rocky Horror Picture Show.

Great CGI, I liked the story line in this movie more than in the comic, however the comic is much more brutal than the movie. Pretty good movie all around. The only thing that bothered me a little was the opening credits montage, it was just a cop-out for the backstory.

Monday October 18, 2010 - 11:14 AM

SaWa

Awesome on so many levels...

Sunday October 18, 2009 - 9:15 PM

moonqueen

Visually amazing, flawless action, real actors cast as opposed to big-draw names, great character development, and still made room for laughs. Every bit as brutal and well-acted as the Dark Knight but with many (obviously) more sci-fi elements. I have to disagree with the following complaints:
1) "you had to read the comic to enjoy this movie." Wrong! I totally got the storyline and I never read the g.n. til after I saw the flick. Does thinking hurt you or has too much E severely shortened your attention span?

2)"the movie wasn't as good as/ruined/wasn't true enough to the comic!"
Wrong again. After the crapfests movies like X-Men and Wolverine have turned into this was incredibly true to the original material. The few parts that were changed were still 100% in keeping with the spirit of the comic and the ending in particular was considerably better for cinema than the original would have been (which was great for a comic book that could layer on the explanations and side-stories but would have come across as uber-cheesy in a flick this gritty).

3)"too much drano-colored cocknballs"
Really?!?! REALLY?!?!?!?! A movie about nuclear annihilation, political cover ups, alienation, conformity, love in the face of adversity, etc etc etc and the only thing you can focus on is the fact that, for once, there was more male nudity in a film than female?! If it had as much minge NONE of you would complain. Even the chicks would be like "*shrug* It's minge." Really dudes, get over the whole masculine insecurity sh+t. It's really a turn off to everyone but your mom.

Saturday June 06, 2009 - 10:11 PM

ppppaul

"my boyfriend saw it without permission, which in turn pissed me off. so it gets a 1 enjoy your rotten movie that ruined my boyfriends purity"

...What??

Thursday May 21, 2009 - 11:43 PM

DoorwayxCreeperx

my boyfriend saw it without permission, which in turn pissed me off. so it gets a 1 enjoy your rotten movie that ruined my boyfriends purity

Wednesday May 13, 2009 - 7:49 PM

sum1butno1

I wasn't so against the blue penis per se, but it was just endless and insubstantial, they had no sense of how to translate it into a good movie. It had good elements, but as someone who read the comic beforehand it cut out a lot while still leaving the uninitiated out in the cold and uncaring (especially the opening sequence, that surely left a lot of people with a big "wtf" on their lips).

Wednesday May 13, 2009 - 5:11 PM

sprite_mew

Liked it at first............ but then i'm like "how long can this go on for????"

Thursday May 07, 2009 - 3:52 PM

SPINJA

roll eyes

Wednesday May 06, 2009 - 11:26 PM

Sandbag

Two hours of blue penis just to have some sorry excuse of an ending to wrap up this pisspoor excuse of a film.

OMG, the enemy of my enemy is mah friend! Now all the peoples of the world will dance around the campfire and sing kum-by-ah in perfect harmony for all time to come just cause they declared a mutual enemy. Hands down the weakest ending of any film >2hrs I've seen. More of the same sorry fucking bullshit we've been getting passed off on us from hollywood for the past decade or so....people need to start watching more classic and european films so they realize how far hollywood has sunk into a quantity over quality, money-making orgy.

Thursday April 16, 2009 - 8:18 PM

.Smashbox.

Not my type of movie at all, but I think it was really well-done, and good for what it was. I heard the movie was almost exactly like the book which is amazing since that rarely happens. My only complaint is that it was three hours long and my boyfriend and I finished one of those LARGE theatre drinks halfway through...hahaha.

Tuesday April 07, 2009 - 5:59 PM

6n6

Read the book first and you'll be disappointed in the movie ending, but if you never read the book or never plan to, seeing the movie is just going to be confusing :S. Either it's different from the book so meh, i guess the change in ending wasn't too bad but i liked the comic better.

Tuesday April 07, 2009 - 2:08 PM

pEz!

I think you're all kinda retarded if you think you needed to read the graphic novel to follow the storyline. maybe you should stick to G ratings? or the sunday funnies?

Amazing adaptation. Brilliant camera work. Great acting for a superhero flick. A long movie that's worth every minute of it. Glued to the screen intensity. You gotta see it on the big screen! Was done much much better than I expected. Director Zack Snyder (Dawn of the Dead, 300) proving once and for all that he's no flash in the pan.

Snyders upcoming films:

Cobalt 60 (2011) (announced)
Heavy Metal (2010) (announced)
The Illustrated Man (2010) (announced)
Untitled 300 Sequel (2010) (announced)
Sucker Punch (2010) (pre-production)
Guardians of Ga'Hoole (2010) (filming)

Tuesday April 07, 2009 - 12:44 PM

NeonBlack

After having raved all night at Dark Rave last month and spent the morning at an afterparty, my friends and I decided to take a few hits of acid and go see the watchmen. ALL I can say is I'm glad I read the graphic novel before watching the movie, because it would have made no sense to me... OH man INTENSE is the only word that comes to mind, I believe I cam out of that theatre a different person. I'll have to watch it in a sober mind state soon enough.

Thursday March 26, 2009 - 3:26 PM

Ragga_Scum

GIANT BLUE COCK!!!!!


that is all.

Monday March 23, 2009 - 8:52 AM

kellsbells69666

I was definitely confused - i need to watch it again now that i know what happens! Very good and a GREAT storyline... just a bit hard to follow for me at times. I can remember a few times when i was just like, "Wait... What the hell just happened??" lol

Sunday March 22, 2009 - 6:24 PM

cytracet

Good movie. Even better comic. I'm waiting for the director's cut DVD hopefully they'll cut in The Black Freighter.

Sunday March 22, 2009 - 5:32 PM

Dj.Diatomix

movie wus fucking excellent, people who rated lower must not of had the brain to contain the storyline. i felt the need to buy the comic after i saw it. it wus rely good

Sunday March 22, 2009 - 1:43 PM

Lu-Moo

I was indeed hoping it wasn't going to be THAT dedicated to the comic in the sense that I never read them. So its true, if you didn't read the comics, movie really wasn't for you.

Somewhat annoyed that I had to read the comics to understand this movie one bit since I sat through 3 hours of pure confusion and left wishing I had bought booze instead.

So 1 star for someone who hasn't read the comic. Wish someone had warned me how bad it would be for the non comic reader :/

Saturday March 21, 2009 - 7:03 PM

side_kid

extremely mediocre movie

great comic though



it will be better on dvd


i'm sure of it

Saturday March 21, 2009 - 2:33 AM

kizzzzzzzzombie

Fucking awesome, ending was different from the graphic novel. But it was necessary to make it that way for a film.

So good, was definately worth the wait!

Friday March 20, 2009 - 10:10 PM

lillee

it was alright, just alright.
it took too long for the story to develop, byt the time anything happened i was bored and didnt care how it ended.

Friday March 20, 2009 - 6:30 PM

MuffinsBro

fucking AMAZING !

Friday March 20, 2009 - 1:00 AM

+jane

it was pretty long but I enjoyed it for the most part, good sound track too.

It could have used more blue dick in my opinion. It's nice to see some naked men as apposed to naked girls all the time.

Thursday March 19, 2009 - 9:29 PM

Stellar.

I thought it was good. My boyfriend didn't really like watching a naked guy's balls on the screen for 2 hours, but it was a great portrayal of the comic.

Wednesday March 18, 2009 - 11:07 AM

Bassdegrime

to much big blue cock

Tuesday March 17, 2009 - 5:25 PM

HEATER

Amazing
Very true to the Graphic Novel
I felt it went very fast for a three hour movie

And not quite enough blue penis for my tastes

Tuesday March 17, 2009 - 10:39 AM

Some_thing

pretty good. too much blue penis. the sex scene with the owl and miss jupiter was a little bit much.

Monday March 16, 2009 - 9:56 PM

LEMONFRUMP

So-so.

Monday March 16, 2009 - 9:15 PM

*JaMmCat*

Blue dicks everywhere!

Monday March 16, 2009 - 11:06 AM

Mattie-Bear!

amazing.

brilliant.


that is all.

Sunday March 15, 2009 - 8:55 PM

nachos666

definitely alot of blue penis.

I liked this movie though. it had alot of plots and twists.
also the comedian... oh yah! jeffery dean morgans character was very hot...

its nice to see good movies made from comic books smile

Sunday March 15, 2009 - 5:35 PM

Tank-boy

There was an aweful lot of electric blue penis. And homo-eroticism. And killing pregnant hookers.

Anyone notice on Ozymandias's like startup page in secret document stealing scene it had a file named "boys".

LE NON!

Sunday March 15, 2009 - 1:13 PM

Tryptic

DR. FUCKING MANHATTAN!

Saturday March 14, 2009 - 10:50 PM

discobisco

How did this movie have only one editor? Scenes seldomly flowed and there were outright cheesy moments, such as the "Isn't it great to be able to run away to your own little cave and blah blah blah let's save some kids" scene. Totally unnecessary. However, the Comedian and Dr. Manhattan's characters were fantastically developed, just wish there was better continuity. O, and no unmentioned poorly rendered cats with horns. Compared with the movie's hype, it was not quite fulfilling as Biodome with Pauley Shore.

Short version: Letdown^2

Saturday March 14, 2009 - 8:28 PM

CapnFantasmo

None of you seem to understand. I'm not locked in here with you. You're locked in here with me.



5 fucking stars.

Saturday March 14, 2009 - 3:43 PM

skttrbrain

.................................
.............................
.......................
...................
..!!??!?!

I want my money and 3 hours back.

Saturday March 14, 2009 - 3:38 PM

beatinheartsbaby

bOOOOOOO was so long and there was no real climax

Friday March 13, 2009 - 7:20 PM

][JoRd87][

great movie! Stayed true to the novel! Barely had a dull moment!

Friday March 13, 2009 - 6:02 AM

mf_doom

Good.

Thursday March 12, 2009 - 7:21 AM

Mephisto

Mindblowing, simply mindblowing. I walked into this movie pretty much blind.....and walked out immensely pleased. GJ and where the hells my Silver Spectre <EG>

Wednesday March 11, 2009 - 5:38 PM

AngelsCurse

Good movie. I was expecting a bit more. But overall. I enjoyed it and was highly amused.

Dr. Manhatten for the win.

Wednesday March 11, 2009 - 10:08 AM

Statistic

I loved it. Initially I was mad skeptical, but after the first scene with the Comedian, I was a happy bunny.
All of the Rorschach scenes in prison were wonderful!

Wednesday March 11, 2009 - 8:50 AM

ccadillac14606

Awesome movie And its Rohrshack remember im not locked in here with you you're locked in here with me

Wednesday March 11, 2009 - 12:05 AM

pixi_stix123

AHHH SO AMAZING
i cried like 4 times not even becuz of sadness but because i was so friggin happy with this movie.
and Rorchach is gunna have MY babies, sorry, but i am in loves with him.

Sunday March 08, 2009 - 3:33 PM

.žouL.on.Fire.

IT WAS EPICCCCCC WIN!
It was perfect in staying true to the graphic novel. I almost came in pants because of the awesomeness of this movie. The costumes and the camera angles made me feel like I was watching the comic happen all over again but this time with live action. Also, Rorschach needs to have my babies. NOW. what a badass character! he sounded even more badass in the book though.