Tue Jun 25 - 10:49aspiffy
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Horror/Quarentine

Category:
Movie
Director:
John Erick Dowdle
Year:
2009
Genre:
Horror
Average:
25 reviews
Monday June 08, 2009 - 1:21 PM

jadedtara

I agree with kyleismetal.....the preview gives away almost the whole movie.

Tuesday May 26, 2009 - 2:29 PM

kyleismetal

So bad, terrible rip off of cloverfield, the blair witch project, and 28 days later all combined.

One word of advice for the director; DONT SHOW THE LAST SHOT OF THE FILM IN THE TRAILER

Friday May 22, 2009 - 9:53 AM

||dnb||

Awesome awesome awesome.
I really really enjoyed this movie
It sent me and my sister on a zombie movie rampage
I like these kind of scary movies because they could so totally happen
Not like monster movies and such
After reading everybodyís reviews I really want to see the original
I just watched a clip of it and it looks exactly the same as the re-make
I just think itís funny that they only waited like 2 years to re-make it

p.s. I LOVE Jennifer Carpenter

Monday April 20, 2009 - 10:31 PM

starwars

I wanted to say it was a good idea but I strongly recommend that everyone who hasn't seen the UK release 'REC' buy,borrow,obtain it from a friend because it's an amazing movie and destroys this movie. Why they would base a movie on REC is beyond me..

Tuesday April 07, 2009 - 10:12 AM

REDZ

I am being more than generous giving this movie 1 star it was awefully written and the characters act like idiots the entire time. It takes them forever to conclude that the people foaming at the mouth are bitting people even after it happens a few times they shrug it off like nothing is wrong? Only like 2 people in the movie ever use weapons?!?? come on now I would have taken the gun from the first injured officer after the old lady bites the first cop. Seriously also there was so many dumb scenes in the movie like where the second cop goes up close to the little girl after she just bit her mother by this point I would think one wouldnt have a problem putting the girl down with a shot to the head. The characters are just naive morons the entire time and never develop through the entire movie also the female main character was so annoying by the end I just wanted the guy recording to slap her. I really was intrigued at the concept of the movie in the begining but movie just kept getting worse. I could bring up so many dumb parts like near the end when the vet is in the closet with just a glass door and has told them he has been bitten. The one old guy just calmly stands in fron of there with his back turned to him until he turns?!? All I can say is FAIL!

Monday April 06, 2009 - 5:45 PM

DeSpIsEd__IcOn

this movie was fuckin awesome. nuff said !!

maybe the next time purerave posts a movie to be reviewed, maybe JUST MAYBE the spelling will be correct !

its quarAntine with a fuckin A you illiterate bastards !!

lol

Monday April 06, 2009 - 8:01 AM

DoWnToWnJuNgLiSt

NORMALLY i fucking hate scary movies because I find them boring, but surprisingly this one actually kept me interested....probably because of all the fucked up ways that they were killing the zombies, like smashing them with the camera, kept things a little more interesting....

Thursday March 26, 2009 - 11:17 PM

MuffinsBro

If I wasen't completly Drunk this movie would have been soo much worse !

Thursday March 26, 2009 - 10:44 PM

Becker_Boo

was very good.
I have found people either like it or hate it because of the way its shot.
i liked it....

fucken creepy if that ever did happen.....shudders

Thursday March 26, 2009 - 3:25 PM

Ragga_Scum

Liked it. Scared me. Doomsday virus for the win. I'm sure the Spanish OG version is better however I watched this version with an open mind. Everyone dies... best way to end a movie.

Saturday March 07, 2009 - 2:47 AM

*SeVaSTrA*

blair witch camera thing.............ehhhh phew! That is all i have to say.

Friday March 06, 2009 - 9:50 PM

Caleidh

remakes are stupid.
watch the real movie, REC, if you want to see a much more original, BETTER ending wink

Friday March 06, 2009 - 3:51 PM

+jane

awful waste of two hours.

Thursday March 05, 2009 - 7:13 PM

Robinoxide

A lot of parts were making me say "why on earth would someone do that in the first place?" or giving away better ways to deal with their predicament than how they handled roles in the movie. whomever wrote the movie didn't fill in a lot of blanks. like, why did everyone wait so long to use the phone? why did it take so long for dumb asses to stop walking up to people rabid and foaming at the mouth like "ohh dear, what's wrong? I'm going to help you.."

please. this was a sad attempt at "scary"


no problems when it comes to the type of shooting. this movie plain sucked.

Tuesday February 24, 2009 - 12:04 PM

Some_thing

better then most.


I didn't see a single zombie in this movie. people are screwed to think having rabies makes you a zombie.

Tuesday February 24, 2009 - 3:21 AM

Nubtech

Pronstar is right.
Terrible. I work at a Rogers Plus, and I have been warning people away from this film all week.

Monday February 23, 2009 - 8:38 PM

d.jpyro

"Although I think they could have explained the reason for the infection a little bit better"

there were signs all over the movie on how people got infected, which were the rats, yah it doesn't say exactly how but it still gives you an idea..

maybe they were pissing on bread or something(kinda gross tongue).. but i'm the kind of person that likes to use my imagination on this subject

but anyways there was no zombies, yah they weren't exactly human anymore, but it was just a human form of rabies.

----------------------------------------------

i loved it from the home "style" video to the crazy rabie infected lady trying to get into the elevator tongue..

i only give it 4 stars because it doesn't end(the only thing i really hate in movies).. oh and i forgot

the VERY annoying black cop

*** maybe they should make a movie about whats going on outside

Monday February 23, 2009 - 1:52 PM

ginni87

The movie was predictable, but what "horror" movie these days doesn't? At least they went all out with the "R" rating, instead of trying to make a scary movie out of a "PG-13.
Loved the shaky-cam, gave the impression of being right in the action.

Loved the gore, blood, and inventive new ways of killing "zombies", or rather infected

Unfortunately, like every other scary movie, the (armed)characters sit around doing nothing until they've lost control

For once I would like to see a movie where they would do what I would do, and kill all of the infected when I had the chance lol!

Sunday February 22, 2009 - 9:38 PM

br1x3n

best new zombie film i've seen in a while.

i like how they used the "home movie" theme without making me want to puke the whole way through from super shakiness.

loved it happy

Sunday February 22, 2009 - 8:56 PM

*laa.dee.dah*

This movie was horrible.


Not scary, plus it's just like every other dumb modern "horror" movie made in the past five years.



Very boring, I was happy when the DVD ended.

Sunday February 22, 2009 - 8:17 PM

meeek!

Where were the zombies?

This movie was awesome.

P.S. REC was garbage.

Saturday February 21, 2009 - 1:10 PM

Shm00p!

5 stars because this movie creeped me out for the majority of it. I jumped a lot and there were times that I just wanted to close my eyes.

It was a remake of an older movie called Rec. They made it almost exactly the same as that one, except they added a couple more things.

I thought it was really well done. The camera was a little to shakey during some parts, but it didn't bother me too much for the most part.

Although I think they could have explained the reason for the infection a little bit better.

PS: It's spelled Quarantine not Quarentine.

Friday February 20, 2009 - 2:39 PM

*WhiteTrash

pretty crappy movie....fell asleep halfway through it lol.

Friday February 20, 2009 - 12:23 PM

Danigirl

The movie really sucked!! Had a good idea behind it, but executed very,very poorly!! And the Main Chick, reporter chick...the whole time I was yelling at the T.V for her to shut the fuck up! I definately think the movie could of had better potential if done right.

Thursday February 19, 2009 - 9:13 PM

~Glitter-Stick~

this gets such a high rating from me because it genuinely creeped me out.

it's shot in a style alot like cloverfield, but i think what gives this movie more suspense is the fact that the camera guy in this one is actually a camera guy... lol not some wad with a camera. so he gets the good shots, the ones that show you what to be scared of. and i think it works really well at doing just that.

the plot wasn't completely outrageous either, which i think also makes it seem more real.

and the part where the camera guy kills that woman with his camera is about the point when i realized that i loved this movie... lol

deserves nothing less than 5 stars.


*EDIT*

by the way, i'm sure someone would have noticed this before had most of you been paying attention to the actual movie and not the handi-cam work, but they weren't zombies, just infected with a mutant strain of rabies. zombies are typically the dead reanimated. these people weren't dead when they walked and attacked. details guys, details