Fri Jul 3 - 9:46phappy
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Action & Adventure/Go

Category:
Movie
Director:
Doug Liman
Year:
1999
Genre:
Action & Adventure
Average:
15 reviews
Sunday October 18, 2009 - 5:59 PM

moonqueen

An entertaining movie with a unique use of multiple perspectivees. Liked a lot of the casting and it had some extremely funny and random bits. The film doesn't make the characters' futures rosey or provide them with any life altering revelations (like many similar movies of the era) and is honest that the characters enjoy parties to get f-ed up more than for the vibe. That said this film makes me sad because:
a) a lot of the "culture" isn't a culture anymore and wasn't even all those years ago - a lot of people are just looking to get F-ed up regardless of the consequences for themselves or others and, to sound like a flower child, it ruins the vibe.
b) for people unfamiliar with the positive aspects of parties this movie puts a negative face on all "ravers" because of its use of a rave, X, and some related terminology - in some ways it is "ravesploitation."
c) despite everything that's available to you in this modern age being bored, alienated and restless is still, for most, an incurable disease.

Friday February 16, 2007 - 12:07 PM

(styleebunny)

the reason i love this movie is because its alot like life, not like a movie, like how she works at a grocery store and how its diff perspectives, some parts were lame but most were great...love it

Tuesday January 23, 2007 - 9:18 PM

tP

it was ok it was entertaining at some parts

Tuesday January 23, 2007 - 8:44 PM

Becker_Boo

i saw this movie before i knew what drugs were.and i liked it.lol

Monday December 18, 2006 - 11:51 PM

Mariju_ana

Bad casting and BAD SCRIPT. It's amusing if you really have nothing better to watch, which you dont now a days, so....fuckoff

Tuesday October 31, 2006 - 7:23 PM

Leechna

I actually liked this movie! Not the best one i've seen but, pretty decent!

Friday October 27, 2006 - 9:14 PM

breakz_bitch

All in all i thought it was a pretty lame movie. Made pretty much for idiots like that dude.

VVVV

Friday October 27, 2006 - 6:21 PM

420Lette4life

yeah it was a funny ass movie.. but a bit long.. but it was tight.. i was rolling when i seen it so it was all good!

Friday October 27, 2006 - 5:15 PM

Mr.Me

I thought this was a really good movie. It had a decent story, a good cast, and was an entertaining movie. My only complaint would be the scene in the grocery store were Mannie and the worker were dancing around after he took a couple pills; that scene is too long and imo, not needed.

Friday October 27, 2006 - 4:37 PM

chempusha_420

yeah, it was alright.

Nothing spectacular, just alright.

Friday October 27, 2006 - 4:09 PM

Doops

it's aright!

Friday October 27, 2006 - 3:35 PM

*Atari*

This is a very good movie. I felt the way that they did it was very original. I really thought the characters were well defined, and original.

Wednesday October 18, 2006 - 12:26 PM

happiechild

I found Go to be a very entertaining movie, I just don't think it should be considered a "rave" movie. The rave in the film is only a small portion and the story is not an exploration about the lifestyle or culture of raving, it is merely a backdrop and a club or house party could've been used in place of it and the film would probably have worked just as well. Dropping Tracy Lords name into the dialogue gave it a little creed I guess.

I'm a fan of the structure of the movie, telling of events taking place at the same time from different perspectives and seeing how all these lives intersect. Dialogue was funny with memorable lines ("if you were any less white, you'd be CLEAR!" ) and I LOVED the cat who could read your thoughts. Fun cast, some good twists, good cinematography (getting good rave footage isn't easy but they did it, vibrant colours, and a few somewhat different camera angles utilized)

Tuesday October 17, 2006 - 1:34 PM

Lulu

I thought the cinematography was dope... thats about it

Monday October 16, 2006 - 11:43 PM

self_destruct

Its a good, fun movie and it will probably become a "rave classic", but the way they portray the E high is so not the way it is. Anyone who has never done E before and watches this movie will totally get the wrong idea of what it is like.