Sun Jul 21 - 8:19pokay
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Horror/Martyrs

Category:
Movie
Director:
Pascal Laugier
Year:
2008
Genre:
Horror
Average:
9 reviews
Sunday September 12, 2010 - 7:21 PM

nikkinine

the concept behind this whole entire movie was brilliant, despite the fact that i wanted to turn it off about 4 times. [that is saying a lot since i am a horror movie fanatic.]

5 stars for bending my mind.

Sunday September 12, 2010 - 12:36 AM

Funeral*Bot

Best fucking Horror flick everrr! i love something thats deeply disturbing happy

Dont watch it if ur looking for some lame ass slasher movie

Thursday May 21, 2009 - 4:01 AM

Shm00p!

Yeah, the French are definitely good at making movies. love

Monday May 11, 2009 - 6:31 PM

LEMONFRUMP

YES, YES, YES, YES, yes. I love true horror.

Monday May 11, 2009 - 4:28 PM

Beki

The gore was top notch true enough... but the story was just plum weak!

Friday May 08, 2009 - 10:19 AM

happiechild

The problem with Martyrs isn't the gore... I think if you sign on to watch this movie, you're either really into gruesome, disturbing, sickening imagery and messed up stories... or you're really dense for not having read the back of the DVD box first tongue

When it comes to disgusting, Martyrs wins hands down, it's gratutious, it's in-your-face, and completely excessive.

My issue with Martyrs is the arch of the climax... it builds and builds with one torture scene after another... to reveal a mediocre motive and a last 15 mins that plateaus in terms of psychological disturbance... and you just sit there thinking "ok get on with it already" By the time it ends you feel things have been taken down a notch... it's dissapointing! I'm squirming in my seat for an hour and 15 mins, I expect to be screaming and pulling out my hair and covering my eyes by the end... but no, I'm just thinking where to go for food after the movie oh well

I like gore, but I think the best horrors are still the ones that show less but fucks with your mind most. Of you can go the cheesey route and pour on the gore while the audience cringes and laughs. If you want a good serious horror though, the trick is to marry the gore and the suspense and psychological manipulation, but Martyrs really falls short in that respect.

For just a smidge less gore but twice as disturbing, I'd definitely recommend └ l'intÚrieur (inside) instead.

Friday May 08, 2009 - 1:57 AM

meeek!

Not the "most fucked up" I was expecting.
However it was a great film.
Definitely up there with High Tension and Inside.. The french are killin' it
DVD was released on 04/28 (Reg 1)

Thursday September 25, 2008 - 4:00 PM

Mr_Douchebag

I haven't seen it yet, but I am currently DL'ing it. But if it's anything like the French film 'High Tension', then I'll love it. happy

As for lezlie, watch High Tension and tell me which is better.

Sunday September 14, 2008 - 11:03 PM

lezlie

Wow. I would never recommend this movie to anyone, simply based on how insanely disturbing it was.

In terms of horror though, it definitely would get 5/5 for horrific. But if someone actually captures that pure horror on film, do you really want to see that?

All I'm gonna say is, if you cave into curiosity and watch it - be ready for the most fucked up shit you'll (hopefully) ever see.