Fri Jul 10 - 11:19aokay
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Action & Adventure/Cloverfield

Category:
Movie
Director:
Matt Reeves
Year:
2008
Genre:
Action & Adventure
Average:
68 reviews
Saturday August 22, 2009 - 1:33 PM

!!SIDESHOWMEL!!

gay.

Friday August 21, 2009 - 2:21 PM

Some_thing

Alright movie. The head of the statue of liberty looked way too small. 30 full grown people can stand inside the head.

Monday May 25, 2009 - 8:36 PM

raver.x.barbie

I thought this movie was awesome.
Most people disliked it because of the point of view it was shown from. I think it gave it more edge and made it a little more realistic. This movie gets 5 stars from me. You haters can go suck it.

Thursday December 18, 2008 - 1:31 AM

crunchattack

I thought this was pretty good! I dont know it was unique like not a lot of movies have been made like that and stuff

Tuesday December 16, 2008 - 12:38 AM

Volte-Face

I understand that alot of people dont like it
But I loved it

Monday December 15, 2008 - 11:30 PM

!!!GETSICK

meh

Tuesday October 21, 2008 - 10:28 AM

Raver_101

It was cool when that chick exploded

Sunday October 12, 2008 - 9:43 PM

Shm00p!

Half of these ratings say "Blair Witch Project meets Godzilla". Yeah, we get it.

I thought the movie was good. The monster looked cool, the effects were nice, and the romance was cute. The handycam view did get a little annoying at times, but overall I think it added to the experience of the movie.

The movie could have used a little more explanation, like the monster's purpose. But it kept me in suspense throughout the whole thing and the ended was unexpected.

Thursday October 09, 2008 - 7:01 PM

claireq

I liked it... I liked it better after I read the wiki on it. very interesting.

Wednesday October 08, 2008 - 10:03 PM

whatshername

eh it was different and interesting but because of the way the camara was it was hard to see alot and the backround noise blocked out most of what people were saying

Wednesday October 08, 2008 - 7:47 AM

SuperManda333

I liked it for the romance factor.

Thursday September 11, 2008 - 2:06 AM

twilight_lex

horrible movie... godzilla meets blair witch seriously... to much motion half the movie is a love story and it just gets blah at the end...

Wednesday September 10, 2008 - 5:04 PM

the_tr!xster

I wish I could have actually WATCHED the movie. There was so much motion, I almost puked a little. Very lame. I thought the days of The Blair Witch Project were over.

Baha.

It wasn't even scary.

It made me sad on the inside.

Monday September 08, 2008 - 9:01 PM

Minion

It was everything I expected from a movie about a giant nameless monster killing shit.

Maybe not original, and maybe not the most amazing production to grace the wide screen, but I was fully entertained for an hour of my time.

Monday September 08, 2008 - 12:43 PM

deadmetalx

well done handcam style!
it was original

Monday September 08, 2008 - 12:35 AM

Liquid_Gecko

junk! e...for effort

Tuesday August 19, 2008 - 11:10 PM

Tank-boy

Orriginality? Imagination? Yo look up the ancient Syrian myths of Wotan, then the Hebrew myth of Leviathan, FUCK YO PLAY FINAL FANTASY 10... It had a monster from the sea, that ejected little mosnters of varrying power that challenge you as bosses throught the game... Literally the EXACT same monster... Same colouration, same size, same fuckin' everything.

Even Greek history has the same creature being slain and it's flesh made into the world.

IT RIPPED OF GODZILLA! WHAT... Godzilla is STILL a varryance on the same theme, that was derived when western history was re-introduced after world war two to the Japanese, plus some new shit what got translated.

But srysly, the ancient manuscripts and shit talk about this beast from the sea that creates many spawns. Mentions how big it is, and approximates how long it sleeps for. Even Cthulhu Ftghan of recent incarnation of the myth has been in literature for the last fiddy years at least.

READ A BOOK PEOPLE! Or just talk to be people that do and condense the knowledge =^.^=

When knowing shit from books passes 100% the time as orriginality we're all fucked.

One star 'cause of exploding corpses. As far as that goes I'm down.

Tuesday August 19, 2008 - 1:04 PM

DougFunnie

great concept. entire movie from the point of view from a handheld camera in the midst of a crisis.

really enjoy disatser movies, and this one is pretty enjoyable if you enjoy an essence of Godzilla.

Tuesday August 19, 2008 - 5:58 AM

fkn.prfkt

scared the bejeebus outta me

Monday July 07, 2008 - 8:26 PM

BadHabits

anyone who thinks the monster isnt scary is stupid and cynical. If that creature started destroying YOUR city every single one of you would be shitting your pants. end of story.

Monday July 07, 2008 - 5:36 PM

brewsky

it was like.. the first movie ive seen that the main character(s) died.
it was pretty good.
the whole movie was suspense..

Sunday May 18, 2008 - 4:40 AM

The_Radical

Ok, not bad, not good, just ok.

Saturday May 17, 2008 - 5:26 PM

Robinoxide

awessssooome



i lUV da big sary monster =P

Saturday May 17, 2008 - 12:22 AM

AngelsCurse

I was both disappointed and pleased with this film.

I suppose my disappointed comes from some of the CG. But mostly from the hype it brought and the limitation on critique before the movie became public.

The CG was good, but not great. I thought we should have seen more of the monsters. But overall I am satsified with what I saw.

The story was really good. Some guy is going to Japan (The world of giant monsters) and the night before he leaves, his city is attacked by a giant monster. Subtle, yet ironic.

The ending was amazing. The last line, disturbingly sweet.

Camera work was much like the Blair Witch Project, but I think I would have enjoyed the movie a lot less had it been more professional.

Overall...

Friday May 16, 2008 - 11:44 PM

urbanturban

its like "the blai witch project" but it dose not suck.... you actually get to see cool stuff happening besides some ppl running around in the dark in there pajamas...i like how the movie manageed to capture the plot and sideplots from a single shaky camera with a 1st person view...the cg was impressive, making nyc look like it was actually getting sacked. if you like movies about monsters go see this...

Monday April 28, 2008 - 1:48 PM

Amberfette

Great movie.

I'm not sure what all the people who hated this movie expected. It's not supposed to be a Hollywood blow up the world and every person in it kind of movie. Well it could lead to something like that, but the main purpose is not to do that. Also, there is no need for a large amount of character development. This movie is about WHAT would happen, not about does Joe love Jane or whatever...that's not the point here.

I watched this movie without reading any reviews and never saw a single trailer for it. I think watching this movie without any prior information about it made it that much better for me. I had no expectations what so ever.

The effects were awesome. The concept of the movie was great. It's nothing like Godzilla where you have an over sized Gorilla attacking. This is a foreign creature with smaller creepy creatures jumping out of it. (Seriously who cares how it's able to create all the little creatures that came out of it. There's an infinite number of things that exist on this planet as it is that we can not explain, let's not get caught up on something foreign). Then to those who are caught up on why did she die when one bit her. Use your brain. She had something foreign to her body injected into her body which is poisonous. Plain and simple.

I won't say more, in case there others out there who haven't seen it and are curious to watch it.

Monday April 28, 2008 - 3:16 AM

dewwars

Watched the whole 84minutes in 5minutes.
Not worth your time.

You people that likked it suck.
hard.
srsly.

Wednesday April 02, 2008 - 2:37 PM

SheriffKevin

for the people talking about the monster stfu its not about the monster but children don't understand cinema so i could understand where you'd be confused

Friday February 22, 2008 - 4:35 PM

Caleidh

Frasor is just mad that it didn't end in a Daughtry song. lol

You people that dissed it suck.
hard.
srsly.

This movie was genius. Hard on the head, but hey, that just adds to the realism of the whole thing. happy

out of five, I give it a ten

Sunday February 10, 2008 - 5:29 AM

trinasaur

Blair Witch Project, meet Godzilla.
Godzilla, Blair Witch Project.

The characters sucked.
And the filming made me sick.
But the monster was PIMP.
And, in theaters, the sound rocked my soul.

Sunday February 10, 2008 - 1:18 AM

DeSpIsEd__IcOn

i thought this movie was fuckin kick ass...mind you YES the actual creature itself wasn't too scary looking but the little spider looking things that came from it...THOSE were fuckin awesome and kicked surpreme ass !!

i wanna see this again for sure !!

lol stewie nailed it with those quotes

"whats that" " something also terrible" lol

Saturday February 09, 2008 - 11:00 AM

.:soundwave:.

What better last words? I hope I get to tell someone I love them before I die.

The monster looked awesome, stfu.

If it was such a shitload of fuck, then why give it a star?

I give it 5, because it fucking rocked.

Oh, and if you say "out of five, I give it ten" then make sure you actually give it a rating, numbnuts.

Friday February 01, 2008 - 3:59 AM

kandijester

it wasnt bad persay, but on a scale of 1 to ok i/d give it a maybe

Thursday January 31, 2008 - 12:30 AM

;LAL0

I really enjoyed the camera being first person and what not..but the story line was kind of boring...I really didn't think the ending was that good...If there is a sequel then i would probably watch it...all I can say is meh ...

Wednesday January 30, 2008 - 6:07 PM

beef_supreme

cloverfailed.

Wednesday January 30, 2008 - 11:14 AM

sp

NOT ENUFF ALIENS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The format it was shot in was col though.

Tuesday January 29, 2008 - 9:34 PM

.:§pec-|-eR:.

Loved it made me think of .... wait what movie are we talking about??

*bubble bubble bubble* ""whoooooooo" *FLEMMIGING

Tuesday January 29, 2008 - 8:11 PM

sawmeinhalf

This movie rocked my balls.

And to Jess, you're from Kansas, sorry you don't have the IQ level to write more than two sentences.

Tuesday January 29, 2008 - 2:30 PM

{{Jess}}

I've never seen this movie.
I'm not now...
whats with all the paragraphs.
simply say if you like it
or not.
Done.


&& Yes. I average a 3.2gpa.

I'm pretty sure I can finish a sentence or two. Dumbass.

Tuesday January 29, 2008 - 11:20 AM

Skrink_*La*da*

I was very impressed! But the camera view got on my nerves!

Tuesday January 29, 2008 - 2:56 AM

.ChinoMoreno.

Pretty spectacular if you like monster/disaster movies. It has a quasi-Blair Witch Project style that tries to look as real as the amateur footage from September 11. The one thing Cloverfield lacks is good characters. Sure, it's exciting and enthralling to see these people run around hiding from a giant monster attacking Manhatten but the people might as well have been from The Hills. So if you like monster movies, disaster movies, AND The Hills, you'll probably give this movie two more stars than I did.

Monday January 28, 2008 - 5:45 PM

Queenyy

Waste Of My Life.

Sunday January 27, 2008 - 11:08 PM

shaunty

I fell asleep...need i say more.

Friday January 25, 2008 - 4:59 PM

forgues

I watched like the first half hour and it was prolly one of the worst movies ive ever watched...

Friday January 25, 2008 - 4:28 PM

DJ;illeagle

u haters. shut the fuck up.

this movie was choice, original and realistic.

saw this shit on acid and it was love at 1st sight.

Friday January 25, 2008 - 12:21 PM

LEMONFRUMP

I liked it.

Thursday January 24, 2008 - 8:13 PM

Ragga_Scum

fantastic remake of Beast From 20000 Phatoms! They did an amazing job of keeping the integrity of the old flick while adding and bringing the movie into the 21st century. The view point they opted to go with was creative. I also loved how they marketed this movie with no info at all. I saw a sneak screening the Monday before it came out and Paramount sent an FCC officer with nightvision to make sure no one was video taping any parts. JJ Abrams again knocks one out of the park. I suggest going to see this.

Thursday January 24, 2008 - 7:45 PM

Astra.Vera

This movie was delicious BECAUSE of the fact that the monster was not anything we've seen before in a movie. & because they didn't show the monster straight on for so long, drives the suspense & the what could be Reality of it. It was well balanced in all aspects, like for it to be shot as if by a held hand video recorder is unique because there has only been one other movie to do this [that I know of & has become poluar]; The Blair With Project, which wasn't nearly as good. To me, when a movie is shot in this way it seems to be more life-like & for them to not get to the point for the first 20 minutes or so of the movie also helped me feel as if it were real. Movies these days are ALL THE SAME. Same story, same ending & if they do try to be somewhat different than the others, they rarely succeed. It also had a well to do meaning, not only was it a horror/thriller but a romance. For those of you who prefer to only sit, stare & omit any sort of Thinking, then Alien Vs Predator is for you. Don't get me wrong, I Love AVP, but they dragged it all on for way too long. That movie was crap, stick to the originals. All it was, was another mindless action movie, showing off their almost decent support of graphics & their sex scenes. The only support I give is to H.R. Giger for his incredible creation of the Alien.

I Believe the entire point of the movie was to compare it to Reality & to THINK [yes, it does involve a lot of it] 'WHAT IF?'
Because really, anything COULD be living in the depths of the Ocean... we've only discovered 10% of it.
SO quit being so goddamn CLOSE-MINDED.
Because close-minded people... don't tend to get very far in Life... well... they might but they're never really Happy, now are they?


'if u watch a movie to watch a movie, you hate it
if you experience a film, you fucking love it
end of story'

xcake said it best.

Thursday January 24, 2008 - 2:41 PM

Christian

Save your money, buy a beer, make it a double gin tonic, or double rye ginger, or how about a double vodka cran, or perhaps you can buy a dime and get high, but for the love of god DONT GO SEE COLVERFIELD.

What a piece of shit. I was literally sitting there moving around in my chair waiting for it to be over, you know like a boring office meeting, or a long liturgy over someone that you don't know dying, or perhaps just flat out feeling like youre 6 years old and stuck at church in clothes you never wear. Thats what i felt like. Like when is it gonna start picking up, when are people gonna start dying. I dont care if i spoil the movie so im gonna say the best part was when the one chick Marlena got bit by one of the little creatures that the big monster drops to earth, yeah watch closely cuz her FACE EXPLODES its amazing. Now if more heads blew up or if the creatures were actually deadly like not easy to beat off, then maybe its a movie. But these things sucked i mean the chick who got bit pryed one of the camera dude. FUCK THAT it shoulda bit both of them. EVERYONE should have gotten a gun when they ran into the army. SOMEONE should have had grenades or something like fuck what a boring fucking movie. 0o0o0o0o lets go look for the girl I love but was gonna ditch her for some PHAT paying job as VICE PRESIDENT to some shitty japanese company. BOO HOO now all my friends are gonna risk their lives to help me find her while this GIANT THING is attacking the city. OH and ONE chick gets away, ONE survivor but do they show her afterwards, fuck no cuz apperently the movie was about the US gov finding the tape and were watching it for the first time front to back. GAY FUCKING IDEA FOR A MOVIE. blair witch meets godzilla. I WANT MY MONEY BACK JJ ABRAHMS.

Go see Alien Vs Predator Requiem
That movie is a GOOD monster movie.
Except for the climactic ending which fell apart for me. They reach the chopper easily. It doesnt feel EPIC like arnold's escape in predator. AGAIN another sick Monster flick.
Cloverfield is just pure shit.

PS A MONSTER MOVIE SHOULD ACTUALLY SHOW THE MONSTER. 120 mins of suspense makes it a thriller.

o0o0o0o0o0o Im so scared cuz im in suspense.

I bet I can keep you in suspense
hold that thought
I HAVE TO SHIT.

Thursday January 24, 2008 - 4:40 AM

L.A.Girls.

I really liked it ..It kinda made me dizy but ..Still i like it .

Thursday January 24, 2008 - 3:58 AM

AdamE

personally i loved this movie right from the party to the ending i liked the hand camera shot i actually did feel like i was there i also liked there trailers and tv commercials because they gave you some like a few second clip then you want to know what its about like what happens so it drove me to the theatre to watch it and i liked being right in the thick of everything my friend was actually crying near the end because they were so close and then booom
i was on the edge of my seat every minute after the first explosion ummm if you guys remember the last clip sorry its a spoiler but you will notice while there on the ferris wheel the monster drops down into the water behind them from the skies so where did it come from awesome movie great special effects i love when military blows shit up i give it a 5 stars hands down

Thursday January 24, 2008 - 2:18 AM

side_kid

missed opportunity

Thursday January 24, 2008 - 12:49 AM

stereolion

***SPOILER***

Your mom is the cloverfield monster.

Thursday January 24, 2008 - 12:48 AM

mr_incompetence

***SPOILER***

Chris Hansen is the cloverfield monster.

Thursday January 24, 2008 - 12:29 AM

Scarah

FREAKIN' AMAZING.

Holy crap. I felt like I was with them and I had to run away from the monsters and try to get out of New York myself lol. I loved the whole hand held camera thing, added to the, 'you're there' effect. The monster was pretty original in my opinion, like nothing I've ever seen. It was very real, and the actors were very good. I was actually pulling for them the whole time.

It was like a 2008 take on the old B rated monster movies, but rated A and awesome. hah.

Wednesday January 23, 2008 - 2:53 PM

sprite_mew

Haven't enjoyed going to the movies this much in a long time.

What a monster movie should be.... 10 minutes of monster... 1hr 20 minutes of suspense and "What the fuck??"

Tuesday January 22, 2008 - 10:31 PM

Yen

All u people are pussies who said they got motion sickness
I got dizzier riding a fuckin ferris wheel
Anyways the hype behind this movie was a lot better then the movie itself
Ill give it three stars because the monster was crazy and the effects were wikked
Story line, well there wasnt one besides this guys going to Japan getting ruined by Cloverfield
BUT, if they do make a sequel like they are saying they are then my rating would definetly go up
They did have to end the movie the way they did because of the premise of the movie (all being shot by the one camera) and a lot of the downfalls of this movie are because of the same reason
I unno I enjoyed it
Wouldnt pay to watch it again tho
Definetly original

Tuesday January 22, 2008 - 9:51 PM

!nfinite

i'm just adding 5 stars to counter-effect the idiots who rated it 0 stars but gave the movie props.

Tuesday January 22, 2008 - 7:55 PM

BasS|SicK

I thought it was decent. I know it has no plot and things just 'seem to happen', but I think thats what makes the movie. Thats what they were trying to do. The ending was kind of, meh. But still a one-time watch deal.

Tuesday January 22, 2008 - 6:59 PM

kernal

i loved this movie it was great
although i only give it 4 stars

Tuesday January 22, 2008 - 5:59 PM

spikedklown

it rocked. reminded me of jaws, relying more on suspense than "look at my cool monster we made up" some stupid people though.

Tuesday January 22, 2008 - 1:33 PM

*~foxfire~*

haven't seen it so i can't make a review though hearing it causes motion sickness i probably won't go see it since i get queasy a bit easily :/

Tuesday January 22, 2008 - 11:53 AM

3zen

as the reviews will show, you either love it or you hate it.
i loved it.

not only do i feel that this is by far the best monster movie ever, i feel that the format complimented the plot so well that i consider it one of the best movies ive ever seen.

it took an open mind to be able to absorb everything the production had to offer, but once i got there and in it, i couldnt take my eyes off it. im pretty sure i didnt blink once. i yelped a couple times, clenched my girlfriends hand, and dreamt about it again that night.

awsome!

a little imagination can go a very long way...

Tuesday January 22, 2008 - 10:52 AM

johnglist

pretty sick when i saw it yesterday but all i could think about was temple of boom brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr RINSE OUT

Tuesday January 22, 2008 - 10:44 AM

Shadowhunter

They made it to much of a big thing, bit of a stunt. and whats with the whole camera moving thing, i think about half the theater had to leave before they throw up! but overall it wasnt that bad. AND I WAS one of those people who died laughing when anyone died or something horrable happend to them!

Tuesday January 22, 2008 - 2:42 AM

hollywood.co

They could have done SO much with this.. and totally fucked it up by making too many emotional attachments and having ZERO plot...


The 'handy cam' camera movements reminded me of blair witch and made me feel sick.

There were seriously people in the theater LAUGHING at this movie because it was so stupid. [biggest laughs came at the helicopter crash.]
On the way out I could hear conversations about how the movie sucked.



shite.

Tuesday January 22, 2008 - 1:39 AM

toolthuggirl

to be completely honest, out of a group of 7 people a total of 6 thought the movie was total crap, two walked out, 3 got sick to their stomach.

if you have a strong stomach and are not prone to motion sickness, then maybe you could enjoy the movie.

The first half was not entertaining at all, and the last half (from what i hear) was just as disappointing.

Monday January 21, 2008 - 11:48 PM

esc

Amazing new take on a monster movie!

Sure the whole thing is shot in handy cam mode.

But that's what makes this movie shine!

Sure you don't get really good shot of the monster. But if you were the person behind the cam would you go for a bad ass shot and risk getting killed?

It dose have a cliffhanger type ending but the whole movie lives up to the style it was shot in

I loved it

can't wait tell a good torrent comes up

^_^

:{esc}: