Tue Mar 26 - 5:13acarefree
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Movies: Horror/Halloween

Category:
Movie
Director:
Rob Zombie
Year:
2007
Genre:
Horror
Average:
42 reviews
Tuesday September 16, 2008 - 8:24 PM

!!SIDESHOWMEL!!

i like how the whole movie was focused on Micheal.

that's pretty much it.

and Sherri Moon makes me cream.

Tuesday September 16, 2008 - 6:25 PM

vanna_banana

i loooooved it

Sunday January 06, 2008 - 4:40 PM

Shm00p!

Excellent movie. Great gore content. licks

Thursday October 25, 2007 - 8:31 AM

Jelo

meh.
i love zombie's films as well, erm, both of them.
his take is satire and sarcasm. why was he given 'hallowe'en' ?

some parts felt like it was a Zombie feature and then it was like something tripped, it became another film, then back to Zombie.

this isn't even remotely as good as the original. much of the 'creepy' element was removed by showcasing Myers as much as he was. kinda like the revelation of Zion in Matrix, never shoulda happened.

it is what it is. a remake of a great horror classic which had a silent creepy entity that walked and stalked. Curtis IS the scream queen.

who filled those boots here?

watched and not hated but won't be seeing it again.

still lovin' R.Zombie though...

Thursday October 25, 2007 - 2:21 AM

KandiJungleGirl

I can't wait to see it!

Wednesday October 24, 2007 - 9:47 AM

Skrink_*La*da*

I was a little dissapointed about this movie, I was expecting alot more....But all together it was still an awesome movie! happy

Saturday October 20, 2007 - 3:24 AM

BlueEyes821

Great Remake.

Friday October 19, 2007 - 5:49 PM

RedDragon124

it was the best horror movie i have seen in a long time

Saturday October 13, 2007 - 9:50 PM

puremoney

im a fuckn huge horror movie fan and this one was probly one of the best remakes iv seen in time str8 up........rob zombie killd it

Friday October 12, 2007 - 3:55 AM

mel3374

loved it

Friday October 12, 2007 - 1:27 AM

jen51

This was a sweet ass movie. It was totally messed up and just an all around great remake!

Friday October 05, 2007 - 7:18 AM

eccy

the movie is fucking sick alright yes its a remake but its also so much more than that rob zombie lets you see what makes mr myers so evil bakstory is what make tis film just as good if not more informational than the orignal

Friday September 28, 2007 - 2:56 PM

~NIKKI~

Gore and Tittiez!

Friday September 28, 2007 - 7:26 AM

Tank-boy

My favourite christian holiday after kwanza!

Thursday September 27, 2007 - 6:28 PM

mailbox.arsonist

rob zombie is a genious director.... did anyone else notice that its the same cast as the devils rejects?

Thursday September 27, 2007 - 1:52 AM

Heart~Broken

definately liked the beginning!

Monday September 24, 2007 - 1:57 PM

TeamKiz

well done. scarey, tasteful, in depth.. wasnt what i was expecting but definitely worthy

Sunday September 23, 2007 - 2:23 PM

JiveTalkinRobot

Brutally bad.


This is an instruction manual on how to ruin a classic movie.

Friday September 21, 2007 - 9:06 PM

VAAAAAGINA

actually.. mike myers was a product of his environment..

i remember seeing his parents doing the animal sacrifice and how micael was beat

Friday September 21, 2007 - 9:01 AM

Automaton_

I liked this movie alot but.....it made Michael Myers WAY to common. What was so cool about the original is that there was no reason for him to be a crazy psycho killer. He was the boogey man, born to be evil. He wasn't some poor little boy who was the product of his environment!!! That being said I really did like this movie as long as I didn't think as him being Michael Myers.

Friday September 21, 2007 - 6:33 AM

silver_sunkis

I've studied a lot of psychology
and the ENTIRE time I watched this movie,
all I could think about was the AMAZING job they did in building Michael Myer's character as a sociopath (psychopath if you want to use the more familiar term).
Abusive family.
Bullied as a child.
Torturing animals.
The unflinching emotion.
Such a great representation of what they were going for in creating the character.
LOVED IT!
...
Mind you, in the later parts of the movie the chase scenes became a lil' too lengthy.
But the beginning of the movie balanced that wink

Thursday September 20, 2007 - 3:07 AM

meeek!

MIKE MYERS IS A BEAST!!!!

The movie was pretty good too lol

Tuesday September 11, 2007 - 2:17 PM

adele

The opening scene was KILLER! Holy crap the shit that came outta their mouths!! INSANITY! I thought it was a DAMN good movie! Nobody makes good horrors anymore, its hard to get a new spin on killing people. I still say TCM originals are the scariest cus they seem so real.. but this one was well done!

Haters begone! If you like scary flicks, this ones a watcher!

Tuesday September 11, 2007 - 11:46 AM

!!Reaper!!

This is probably the beat remake of a horror flick, it was really amazing done very well, rob zombie is such a fucking genious he made it sooooo disturbing & i loved seeing all the blood & gore haha it was soooo good forsure a movie that u have to see @ the show

Tuesday September 11, 2007 - 10:09 AM

DJ;illeagle

Big it up for mr. Rob Zombie haters!!! hes got my balls than you'll ever grow. this cat does shit his way and for him... which im my opinion is proper. fuck u haters. hahaha

Tuesday September 11, 2007 - 1:13 AM

the_bitch_33

haven't got to see the movie yet but I love the first halloweens, I hope it as good as those. for everyone that has seen the movie I hope you liked it and if you didn't than I don't think you get the mind of rob. you should watch his other works.

Tuesday September 11, 2007 - 12:49 AM

kmkjuglet420

how many more people are going to continue to say this movie is a remake? It is simply another movie added to the series of movies. Its supposed to not be like the other halloween movies duh. I give mad respect to rob zombie as a film maker, even though this movie isnt like the other halloween movies, he did his own thing, hey man you didnt like it so dont see it again, dont buy it, shit boycott zombie period. but the mans genious. I hadent seen a good horror movie in a while until he came out with house and devils rejects. Yeah, many might claim those to be like old texas chainsaws call it what you wanna call it, but he was going for an older set style of movie... blood blood gore and boobs, fuck thats what horrors about. Anyone know of Argento?

Monday September 10, 2007 - 8:18 PM

Ol.DirtY.BaSS

this movie was horrible....rob zombie sucks at life and should never direct another movie...

EVER.


the whole move was just kill kill kill. blood blood and more blood.


rob zombie should have done us all a favour and left a classic horror flick just that. a classic.

two very enthusiastic thumbs DOWN!

Monday September 10, 2007 - 8:11 PM

$ProJect:Lance$

go fuckin see it...RIGHT NOW! i loved it. and if you didnt know, his mask is really a captain kirk mask spray painted white with frayed hair??

Monday September 10, 2007 - 5:09 PM

Novemberose

Best slasher flick I've seen in theatres!

Monday September 10, 2007 - 2:05 PM

TwiggyOmega

It was very good, i loved it. and i also loved how Sherry Moon was a stripper/mom it the movie, it was great <33

Saturday September 08, 2007 - 10:49 AM

.loathing.

loved it, watch it..i says you..watch it!
good stuff.

Friday September 07, 2007 - 11:09 AM

Nyx

I cant even lie.. I was amused. This pleases the Nyx.
But i would like to start off by saying the newstyle and the classic are two different classes so you really cant even compare.
Zombie didnt take this film into a big bizzar pissoff fest like i thought he might. I havent been a huge fan of his previous films (love his tunes), but ill have to admit i enjoyed his take on this one.
There were characters and parts where i couldnt help but think.. JUST FUCKING DIE! But things get sorted proper.

Now if youve read ANY reveiws on this film Im not giving anything away by bringing up Robs idea of looking back into Michaels childhood. The first portion of the flick is an insight on how Michael comes to be the bloodlust that he is.
Well done. Kinda makes you feel for the deeply disturbed lil guy and brings on a more humanized feel to Michael which im not entirely sure im comfortable with but its an interesting spin. Makes you "understand" Mikey.. but part of me jus doesnt need the reasoning.. ive always jus accepted him for the slashing dreamboat that he is.
I dont wanna give anything away and be a spoiler so ill jus cut to the chase.
As the film fast forwards 15 years later and into Michaels adulthood things start to spice up.
The mans a beast. He jus dun give a fuuuuuuuck. Noone was safe from this bloody badboy!
I wonder what the head count was for Michael in this one? Im gonna have to look into that.

I was also amused how Zombie reinstalled some scenes from the Original Halloween (if you remember the original youll know what scenes im talking bout) but as you would catch onto this he'd take a different spin on it and turn things in a total different direction. Again.. well done Rob. Rejuvenating classic memories but not doing it in a way as to flat out regurgitate its predecessor.

I think if i had rented this and watched it on my computer or tv i probably wouldntve enjoyed it nearly as much.
Big sound.. big screen always wins with this sorta film.
So to make this short.. in conclusion.. I will tip my cap to you this time Rob. Your flick was not an original.. yet not a re-make. It cant compare to the original which struck fear into the hearts of us youngin from back in the day. But a well done addition to a classic series!
Ill be friendly cause i think im still full of my massive bag of sugar snacks and give to you 3.5 stabbings outta 5.

(Sidenote: The clown mask mikey wears as a child in this film is infact the design considered for the original michael myers mask from 1978. If ya didnt know.. now ya do)

Monday September 03, 2007 - 10:12 PM

Scarah

FUCKING HORRIBLE. I went in, WITH an OPEN mind and tried to give Rob Zombie the chance. Knowing, hey this is HIS take on the movie and try not to compare it. BUT THE THINGS HE DID, you just CAN'T do and try to say it's Halloween. I won't say, you need to see for yourself, but it all hits you at the end. Too much gore, too much nudity and cussing. It makes Michael seem just blood thirsty and not the boogyman. That's all I'll say.

Rob Zombie needs to not ever do this again.

Monday September 03, 2007 - 9:55 PM

the_tr!xster

Amazing movie. Mr. Zombie truly knows how to direct. Some may not think the movie was thought out, or the script was horrible... But what you have to remember is, you're not watching the original, you're watching Rob Zombie's mindfucks. He is a foul motherfucker, and so is his language. In all honesty, I enjoyed the script because it was REAL. I may have proper English, but FUCK is a very fun word to use. And if MY family was as screwed up as that, I'm sure I would use it more than I do already.

Back to the movie, the characters are all familiar, if you've seen any of Zombies prior movies... But looking into it further, you can see how they moroh and the talent each and every actor has. It was a fresh way of seeing Sheri Moon, as a mother rather than a killer... It was amazing seeing them all again and seeing all the talents they can portray.

As a huge horror buff and even bigger Halloween fan, I enjoyed this movie to the fullest extent. It really answered questions no one else cared to answer and left even more questions for the taking. Hopefully, Zombie will remake all the damn Halloween movies so they would be as amazing as this one.

As far as quirks go, of course there are mistakes... I personally wouldn't have gone NEAR the "psycho killers" house in the beginning, father being king of fucking real estate or not, and if the "adoption" was how it said it was, I wouldn't have asked MY DAUGHTER to go, knowing she was Michael Myers' sister. I wouldn't have babysat on Halloween, no matter how good the check... And I definitely wouldn't have tried to help any dumb bitches stupid enough to get cut up in the first place. But we're not talking about me, are we? No.

A fucking +.

The end.

Sunday September 02, 2007 - 9:59 PM

nachos666

i thought that this movie was wicked.
i really liked the fact that rob zombie put more of a history on micheal myers as a kid. since in the original there wasn't much info or history on that.
and sheri moon is forever hot. and did a wicked job as well as seeing malcolm mcdowell. that was a nice treat.

i think that is was a great remake of the movie.
so now halloween 1,2 and 6 and this new remakes are my fav.
good work rob!!!
-----------------------------------------------------------------
as to the person below who poked fun at the(fahrenheit person that swore they seen it before opening date. there probably was some special screening of it. like how some movies dont come out until fridays but with special passes you can see them late at night on certain days. i know i seen transformers on a special screening day. it was cool.. smile

Sunday September 02, 2007 - 1:55 AM

combat

As a bit of a horror nerd, it was really refreshing to watch a remake of a classic that I enjoyed just as much as the original - and one that I certainly enjoyed more than a few dozen sequels.
While anyone else can get as picky as they want, I fully give Rob Zombie props for making another movie that was a lot of fun to watch.

Saturday September 01, 2007 - 1:48 PM

J3NN

shitty.
the previews were much better.
However the beginning of the movie was good then it just went downhill

Saturday September 01, 2007 - 4:51 AM

fukin_blitz

Saw it tonite. Wasn't the best movie ever. I thought it would be really good tho. The beginning and middle was good. But the ending suxed. But I gotta admit it had enuff scary parts in it.

Thursday August 30, 2007 - 3:33 PM

hollywood_

Mediocre at best. I had high hopes for this movie. I loved both of Rob Zombie's other movies, not to mention I am a HUGE fan of the Halloween series.

It was not all that great. Not worth the hassle at the PACKED theater. A couple of times I could ave dozed off if the other people in the theater weren't being as loud as they were.

Thursday August 30, 2007 - 2:44 PM

buttahflye

Mr. Fahrenheit & I watched it together...I can assure you it wasn't a figment of our imaginations, haha.

Holy TMNT styles though...the septic side lol

Been on a huge horror film kick lately, and after rewatching countless old classic cult series it was refreshing to see an old thiller remade in the 21st century that still maintained classic notes.

En guarde Rob Zombie...I challenge you to make over many more!

Thursday August 30, 2007 - 1:25 PM

paper_cup

i havnt seen it
but Rob Zombies great at everything he does