Sun Oct 21 - 5:09aheartbroken
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Food: Home Cooked/Deep-Fried Dill Pickles

Category:
Food
Maker:
You make them yourself
Type:
Home Cooked
Average:
49 reviews
Wednesday November 21, 2007 - 5:12 PM

*dancingmice*

Here since everyone has been asking!

Deep Fried Dill Pickles

Prep Time: 10 Minutes
Cook Time: 10 Minutes
Ready In: 20 Minutes

Yields: 12 servings

"Delicious dill pickles that are battered then fried. This recipe also works well with other pickled vegetables, like pickled peppers."

INGREDIENTS:
2 eggs
1 cup buttermilk
1 tablespoon Worcestershire
sauce
1/2 teaspoon vinegar-based
hot pepper sauce
3/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon seasoning salt
1/4 teaspoon garlic powder

1 cup cornmeal
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon ground black
pepper
1 (32 ounce) jar dill pickle
slices
1 cup vegetable oil for deep
frying
salt and pepper to taste


DIRECTIONS:
1. In a large bowl, combine 2 eggs, 1/4 cup of the flour, buttermilk, Worcestershire sauce, hot sauce, cayenne pepper, seasoning salt and garlic powder.
2. In a separate mixing bowl, combine cornmeal, 2 cups flour, salt and 3/4 teaspoon black pepper.
3. Preheat oil in a deep fryer or pot to 365 degrees F (180 degrees C).
4. Dip drained pickles into milk mixture and then dredge them in the flour mixture. Deep fry until golden brown. Drain on paper towels. Salt and pepper to taste

Tuesday November 20, 2007 - 11:55 PM

skttrbrain

mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Friday June 22, 2007 - 8:29 AM

dpickleboy

pickle chips = BOMB

im done.

Thursday June 21, 2007 - 3:52 PM

Randi*Jo

I normally HATE pickles. Im pregnant and I still hate them, but I LOVE fried pickles from Hooters!!!!

Thursday June 21, 2007 - 2:47 PM

Jessitheelf

Doooooo0ode,,
deep fried pickles are the shiizz.
I ate them for the first time in rehab on new years.
made it the best sober new years ever!
smile

Thursday June 21, 2007 - 9:12 AM

waikiki42o

best appetizer EVERRR .. pickles are bomb and anything's better deep fried

Thursday June 21, 2007 - 2:35 AM

HiMyNameIs

straight from the country

Thursday June 21, 2007 - 12:11 AM

orbz

would someone care to post instructions already?

like, do you batter them? with what, exactly?

Wednesday June 20, 2007 - 9:37 PM

dianejapa

love em to death.... first had them in a restaraunt in watkin's glen. amazing. central park grill in buffalo has them too. now i'm hungry

Wednesday June 20, 2007 - 6:56 PM

djdisorderly

like ive always said anything you can fry and dip in ranch is fucking wonderful...

Sunday June 10, 2007 - 4:07 PM

CrimsonScythe

If you think dill pickles are awesome more places than your sandwitch then there u go!

Pretty tasty but not as good as fried tomatoes, okra, and not tempura for sure! Worth picking up though!

Wednesday March 28, 2007 - 1:16 PM

+jane

i would die happy if i would never try this. yuck.

Monday January 29, 2007 - 9:27 PM

pinkyJ

these are by far 4 enthusiastic thumbs up....I am from the "deep" south and these are a must have if you are from anywhere!!!! Fresh homemade pickles are also pretty dank too..... blush

Monday January 29, 2007 - 7:41 PM

!~Hunny~!

I love these... I've had them beer battered and deep fried... I prefer the beer battered... very crispy and tasty, holds the juices more.

But what makes them top of the list, is the dipping sauces that you get with them... I've had a curry mayo that was tasty, but didn't have the kick that the chiptle mayo I had. Now that was what made them oh-so-good!

So in closing, these are a delish appie at any pub, but check out what they are serving as a dip... that will make or break the taste.

Monday January 29, 2007 - 7:03 PM

tentaclelove

Awesome! I need to get a recipe for a good batter for pickles. I've never tried them but I'm a pickle addict so I need to try them now I've heard of them!

Monday January 29, 2007 - 6:16 PM

JunglistSouljah

ive never tried them but i have had deep fried ice cream so ill give it 4 stars cause i love pickles and i love deep fried food lol it must be good

Monday January 29, 2007 - 5:26 PM

ohsee3

pre rating rant:
all these people who are saying "no wonder everyone is so fat" and blah blah blah, are slightly retarded.
deep fried is of course not good for you, but indulging in junk food every once and a while isn't so bad.


ANYWAYS
i give deep fried pickles, 4 robot thumbs up.

fucking, yum.

Wednesday January 17, 2007 - 10:13 PM

tonyspaghetti

You gotta be kidding...

Wednesday January 17, 2007 - 8:35 PM

chempusha_420

no rating..yet.

But I LOVE DILL PICKLES!!!

and I like some deep fried food.
Mayhaps this be something right up my alley?

tongue

Wednesday January 17, 2007 - 7:12 PM

SuperManda333

Fucking tasty.

Wednesday January 17, 2007 - 6:42 PM

EtniezGrrl

cant say ive ever had them .. but it sounds.. interesting if not delicious.. ive never warmed let alone cooked my pickles before but.. try everything once.. live like theres no tomorrow and have no regrets i guess.. deep fried chocolate bars are the shizzzznit!! thats where the deepfryin's at!! but i will if the chance ever arises try said deepfried dill pickles

Wednesday January 17, 2007 - 6:33 PM

DLC333

not bad if you like werid shit! lol real fried ice cream is deep fried if anyone tells you different they don't know wtf there talking about and prolly huff'd gas for breakfast!! deep fry flash fry it's all good damn i want some french fry's now bad! with gravy yummmmmmmm!

Wednesday January 17, 2007 - 5:07 PM

SexyBeast

I've never tried deep fried pickles but I would really really really really like to! smile
Anyone know where I can get one?
The only time I've ever seen it was when Ellen sent some poor housewife on a cross US tour to try as many deep friend "foods" as she could possibly find!
MMmmmmmmm deep fried pickles licks
Reading down the page I see that they have them at Hooters, hmmmmmm pickles and tits eh?
pickles and tits
and tits
and tits tongue

Thursday January 11, 2007 - 12:18 PM

miniarto

you need to try deep fat fried twinkies. they're the shit!

Thursday January 11, 2007 - 11:13 AM

EuphoricLette

I've never tried them, but I'm not a big fan of pickles and the whole thing just sounds nasty.

Friday January 05, 2007 - 11:49 PM

bre-x-fraud

Amazing. Plain and simple.

Wednesday January 03, 2007 - 3:12 PM

AngelsCurse

I've never had them. But then I love deep fried anything!

Wednesday January 03, 2007 - 1:53 PM

x-tingiusher

I just ate them today...Holly finally made them again and, they're Fuckin' Amazing.

Monday January 01, 2007 - 7:32 PM

*April*

not only c.w coops but sticky fingers in barrie has them too..

mm.. juicy licks

Monday January 01, 2007 - 3:16 PM

K*8

Yummy!! I thought I invented them when I worked at a restaurant, and than a couple years later I realized that I had not, damn.

Monday January 01, 2007 - 11:58 AM

AcadianBreaker

Ew.

I hope none of you ever wonder why you and other Americans are so fat.

Sunday December 31, 2006 - 8:12 PM

machina.

YOU CAN FRY ANYTHING
licks

Sunday December 31, 2006 - 7:48 PM

CapnFantasmo

the only place I've ever had them is at Balanca's here in Kansas City, MO. I was a bit hesitant at first but they were delicious. there's so many different pickles out there that they're always gonna taste different.

Tuesday December 19, 2006 - 10:35 PM

KandiJungleGirl

If they're made right, they're amazing. If not, they totally suck. The only restaurant I've ever had good ones at no longer exists. Boo to that.

Sunday December 17, 2006 - 9:17 PM

.žouL.on.Fire.

that is extremely disgusting

Sunday December 17, 2006 - 3:23 PM

doktorfunc

if you guys like that you should try deep fried tomatoes.

Sunday December 17, 2006 - 3:03 PM

paper_cup

never had them
but wow, people deep fry anything these days..
kinda sick

Sunday December 17, 2006 - 2:32 PM

$CASE$

At C.W. Coops a restaurant/bar in Barrie they have them and I've been addicted since, they come with this dill sauce to dip that is so good you could eat it on its own

Sunday December 17, 2006 - 1:58 PM

!!*~aurieo~*

I love em.. licks

Sunday December 17, 2006 - 1:12 PM

*hotnsexy69*

Delicious!!!! licks

Saturday December 16, 2006 - 11:47 PM

:::((Jiglet)):::

awesome, tasty yummy goodness.... if your a pickle lover, you'll love these tongue

Saturday December 16, 2006 - 11:19 PM

lovelytraces

omg I love them! At first I thought they'd be disgusting, I must admit. But holy moly, I freakin' love them.

Saturday December 16, 2006 - 8:49 PM

remy|renee

Fried food is bad for you. tongue

Saturday December 16, 2006 - 4:24 PM

~*LiLMisS*~

Deep-Fried Dill Pickels....never had it but sounds delish!!!!

Saturday December 16, 2006 - 4:10 PM

VAAAAAGINA

I've made these before. delisc!!

Saturday December 16, 2006 - 2:20 PM

Novemberose

There is a LAW of Deep Frying.
The law states that anything that is deep fried will become
50% tastier than it was BEFORE it was deep fried.
I myself have NOT tried deep fried pickles, but seeing as the
Law of Deep Frying applies to anything that is deep fried... I
can only imagine how good Vlasic's pickles would taste with a
beer batter!

Saturday December 16, 2006 - 11:11 AM

t0tal_xtc

BOMB!

Saturday December 16, 2006 - 3:41 AM

Queen_Jess

Oh man these are so good. I worked at a restaurant that had these and they're AMAZING.

Friday December 15, 2006 - 5:22 PM

.*.Mizz_Momma.*.

I found a recipe on how to deep fry Dill-Pickles and It was soooo soooo good.rnrnI ended up making and eating the entire jar of dill pickles.rnrnMy Fiance doesnt even like Dill Pickles but he liked them Deep Fried.

Heres some pictures smile

[image]3082371.jpg[/image]
[image]3082372.jpg[/image]
[image]3082373.jpg[/image]
[image]3082335.jpg[/image]