Wed Jul 17 - 3:34ahappy
Purerave - for ravers and partiers

Reviews/Books: Biographies & Memoirs/A Million Little Pieces

Category:
Book
Author:
James Fry
Year:
2006
Genre:
Biographies & Memoirs
Average:
42 reviews
Friday October 09, 2009 - 4:13 PM

beef_supreme

BEST TRUE STORY EVER

Saturday September 26, 2009 - 2:01 PM

bL00dN!NjA

The fact that this is the first non-cumpulsory book that I have read cover to cover on my own free will (other than business awareness or self-improvement books) since I was in high school. And back then it was Orwell's 1984 which I read like 20 times in a row rather than read 19 other books that may have turned out to be shitty, I liked 1984 so much I decided to read it 19 more times and brag that every book I read that year was a classic tongue

I digress. But I think my point was that good or bad, this book I just read deserves a review just because I read a book.

Summary/premise: a drug addict/alcoholic hits rock bottom, this book is his detailed story of the 6 weeks he spent in rehab.

Honestly, to give some dude who really did almost lose it all to addiction a shitty review on HIS encounter in rehab = mega emo hate fail, and I never would or could do that The fact he is alive makes him a winner to me.

...but his story is, in reality, one of so many I have not only heard or read about.....but have personal experience with (in terms of knowing someone in that position of hitting rock bottom and struggling to start over drug free, rehab, relapse....EMinem just made another album about it too in case you live under a rock).

The content of the book or the story itself is not really WOW worthy- It's written in a pretty unique and definetly cool format - felt like if I was to write a book, THAT'S how I would have written it (no exclamation points, just new lines each time someone new talks.....sick!). For me, what made me even want to pick this of all books up and actually sit down and read it fully was a friend commenting on the fact it was in my bathroom.

I was like "yeah? so? it's on my to-read list...my mom told me to read it like 5 years ago."

My friend was like "whoah....your MOM told you to read it?"

Clearly, this had some relevance to me now, and when I read the back and inside covers of the book, it dawned on me when my mom gave me this book and when she told me i should really read it......

Long story short, anyone who wants to know the ins and outs, the nitty gritty gorey and very honest account of one person's struggle story - read this.

I personally think I am being paranoid in thinking my mother was hinting at something when she made the recommendation for me to read the book...because she also told me to watch MY SUPER EX-GIRLFRIEND and that movie blew such massive donkey cock it's not even funny how NOT funny that movie was.

But I can't help but feel almost ashamed of myself(?) after reading it that my reaction to his horrible and triumphant personal story left me saying "I totally need another rail right now"

No rating - I rate it as definetly worth the read, and kudos to Mr Frey for being a survivor rather than a statistic.

Wednesday July 02, 2008 - 7:44 AM

SuperManda333

I 100% agree with pumpitup.
Although this book is semi-not true... it's still incredible.
Very inspirational.
I LOVED IT.

Tuesday July 01, 2008 - 6:35 PM

pumpitup

who caressss if this book was made up or not...
it doesnt change the fact that it was amazinngg

Tuesday July 01, 2008 - 3:26 PM

*afterglow*

I'm reading this book right now and it's quite enjoyable. I'm about 3/4 of the way through it. I hesitated clicking on the review, because I didn't want to read any other comments that might ruin the book for me, but nosey as I am, I read the comment below me and...RUINED! lol Awh man, Leonard and Lilly really die?!!! frown I'm going to be reading James Frey's 'My Friend Leonard' next.

Tuesday July 01, 2008 - 12:34 PM

!-Boom-Boom-!

James Frey***

yeah I loved this book, very interesting to read, and yet sometimes was boring to read.


Very sad that Lilly and Leonard died.

Sunday October 14, 2007 - 11:53 PM

wafflez

i like the writing style, simple, yet effective.... yes it is over exaggerated but still really good book.
the second one (my friend leonard) was really good as well, although i think the 1st book is sitll bit better

Wednesday July 04, 2007 - 5:05 AM

QueenB

you can tell when hes over exaggerating.
it was kind of broing too

Monday July 02, 2007 - 7:28 AM

Yaz~!

how could you NOT tell that some of it was fictionalized?

Thursday June 07, 2007 - 9:23 PM

CLASSIQUE

Besides the fact that it was all bullshitted and what not it sounded pretty believable when I read it considering the fact that I found out it was mostly made up after I finished it.
But it's a fucking awesome book, helped me stay off a lot of shit plus his attitude and expressions are pretty fucking awesome.
Very sick book

Wednesday June 06, 2007 - 5:44 PM

DirtyGhettoKid

bullshit fabricated bullshit fuck james fry and all those junnnnnnnnnnkkkkkkkkiiies

Wednesday June 06, 2007 - 3:19 PM

*shyknee_candiE*

ive only read about it, but im buying it in a coupe days, heard its awsome..haha it was on oprah a little while ago

Wednesday June 06, 2007 - 7:12 AM

~Glitter-Stick~

i thought it was an awesome book. it gave people going thru the same situation hope. even if they did change their tune after it was found out to be a lie. fictional or not, it's still a fantastic peice of writing, and everyone should read it.

Friday April 20, 2007 - 1:37 PM

babywomm

I think it's hilarious that people who claimed to love this book did a complete turnaround and started declaring how much they hated it once it was revealed that Fry was mostly full of shit.

Whatever. I still thought it was a great read and I really enjoyed the style of it, as well as My Friend Leonard.

Thursday March 29, 2007 - 2:15 AM

**Kooter**

omg it was so hard well difficult to read i was very emotional and i really liked it well until oprah added it to her book club.
and even though not of it is true its still very real and trippy.

Saturday January 20, 2007 - 2:14 PM

!!!kyleos

Loved this book, didnt want it to end. i read it before the whole thing about it being a lie came out. i couldnt care less really, but it would be a different read if i read it again now.

Tuesday January 02, 2007 - 4:02 PM

BellaSteph

I really liked this book. When reading it you had to realize it was not totally true. Obviously someone in such a condition as he was would not recall every minor detail he provided in this book. A good read whether all fact or fiction.

Monday December 11, 2006 - 7:00 PM

greengrl1521

I really don't care where the inspiration came to write the book... from personal life events or not.. but I got a lot from it. I understood some of the sensations described. The bok is powerful, and truely, I would recommend it!

Saturday December 09, 2006 - 12:15 PM

Emily.

he gets 1 star.
i was expecting a TRUE story. why he lied, i don't know. i don't know why anyone would want to pretend like they've been a drug addict before, it's not cool at all. if this book were advertised as a work of fiction, it would have gotten at least 3... but the jackass lied. so he gets one.

oprah was pissed.

Thursday December 07, 2006 - 11:08 PM

spikedmonkey

For all you retards that are still caught up in the controversy around this book, remember that history only exists in the eye of the one who documents it.

Not only that, but who really gives a fuck.

Honestly, if only people would get into such an uproar over the bible being fiction.

Sunday December 03, 2006 - 12:15 PM

purple_lotuz

I don't see why it matters whether or not it is a book of fiction. I mean, the story line is great, beautifully written. How does knowing that it's not real make the book "not good". I can't seem to understand the mentality of people who say it was good until they heard it was not 100% real. So what, it's very inspirational and as someone who has experienced drug addiction, I love it. I don't care what anyone says, AMAZING book, even though not everything is 100% factual, which I agree was pretty stupid of him, it helped me alot and I'm sure it helped alot of others get through it, because you can still relate to the story. Ah well, I loved the way it was written and still loved the story.

Sunday December 03, 2006 - 11:11 AM

kaylieee

I really, really loved this book. I enjoyed the subject. I enjoyed how it was written - I could barely put the book down.

I was dissapointed when I found out how much he had made up. That merely just turns it into a great work of fiction!

Tuesday November 14, 2006 - 4:17 PM

stfu.hobo

Amazing.
Inspirational.
Uplifting.
all around good book.
It's something i'd recommend anyone to read.
Sersiously.

Tuesday November 14, 2006 - 1:20 PM

boredompays

It was a great book, I do say it was un-cool to make a lot of it up. All-in-all it was a great read. If you liked it you should read My Friend Leonard.

Thursday November 09, 2006 - 11:10 AM

.K.a.t.t.y.

I haven't read it... but i would really like to get my hands on it... i've heard from various different people that it's awesome.. whether it's all real or not... I think it would be good!

Friday November 03, 2006 - 11:48 PM

Amberfette

Real life story or not....

This book is an amazing read. I couldn't put it down.

Friday November 03, 2006 - 7:24 AM

allisondavina

Although I loved what I read of this book.. I was unable to get over that someone would fabricate most of the details of a book with such a serious matter. Yes some of the things that he says happened actually happened but he exaggerrated a good majority of the book, from people to situations to severity of these things..soomething thats really sick and gross is that while on Oprah he said that Lily was real, that she really killed her self, but he fabricated how she died to make it more "gross" we will say. THATS SICK...from personal experience drug addiction and any addiction for that matter is a very serious topic..and this book just treats it like nothing.....and btw..if a book isn't true..it isn't real..just kinda wanted to point that out.

Friday November 03, 2006 - 1:33 AM

ShortShit

Just finished it today. I actuall cried when i read the last page. Awesome book.

Thursday November 02, 2006 - 11:08 PM

nikkinine

it was an amazing book.

my friend leonard was better.

Tuesday October 31, 2006 - 12:47 PM

lauramo

I couldn't put this book down and would recommend it to everyone...whether its true or not. this book was definitely real

Friday October 27, 2006 - 8:54 AM

kittekat

Fantastic read, regardless of whether it's fact or fiction.
A total emotional ride for anyone who's willing to give it a read. The sequel, "My Firned Leonard" was sweet. not quite as gripping though.

Friday October 27, 2006 - 1:16 AM

Nymph

It's silly that most people thing this book was entirly fiction, when in fact it was not. 98% of it is completly true, the other parts being exagerrated..

The feat of over coming addiction is obviously an amazing thing to do, however.. I'm curious to know who much his publishers/editors pushed for those embelishments.. Such details would perhaps push sales furthur? Or at least that attempt was made.

Either way.. give th guy credit, he came out, straight up on the most watched television show in probably the world.. ballsy if you ask me.

Either way.. an amazing read if you, or anyone you know has gone through ANY kind of addiction.. very easy to relate to, which makes it fuckin awsome!

Thursday October 26, 2006 - 9:45 PM

Yen

I really liked this one and hope to grab the sequal to it as well.
Fact or fiction???
Either way its a good book!

Friday October 20, 2006 - 6:10 PM

Shmoo-shmoo

A million little fibres was better.

Friday October 20, 2006 - 6:01 PM

little_ambee

It was a good book,

until I found out he made it up.

Thursday October 19, 2006 - 8:51 PM

k-eight

This was an amazing book the whole way through until the very end which I found a bit of a drag comparatively.

And to judge this book according to what Oprah has to say, and the fact that he exaggerated some of the detail; is missing the whole POINT of the book..but I'm not gonna even get into that..

Oprah's a bitch.
Read It.

Wednesday October 18, 2006 - 10:03 PM

icysmooth

I really liked this book. I know there was a lot of controversy about if it was real or made up or a little bit of both. In my opinion it doesn't matter if it was true or not, it was well written and I loved reading it, definitely hard to put down. Is that not what a good book is supposed to do?? Whether it be fiction or non-fiction!

Saturday October 14, 2006 - 10:09 AM

lori

Its totally obvious that this book was made up, but ARENT MOST BOOKS FICTION, including HISTORY BOOKS....lol...and SCIENCE BOOKS for that matter! What is good about this book is the prose....and it doesnt matter that its made up, because at least Frey, being the drug addict that he is (what was your first clue that he might lie OPRAH...lol...she is so fucking stupid), told the TRUTH, which Oprah hasnt done since the 80's....she is so full of BS her eyes are brown...and the public lets her earn 100 million dollars a YEAR...fuck that is sick...let james frey have his book, that he WROTE HIMSELF...unlike oprah who has WRITERs...and lies to her audience like she does all this work.

Friday September 29, 2006 - 12:42 PM

!~Hunny~!

Loved this book too... could not put it down... unti I heard that it was mostly a work of fiction. That kind of spoiled the charm for me... but even as fiction, it's pretty good.

Friday September 29, 2006 - 12:08 AM

*bonsweetcandie*

Great book.
I wish it wasn't a work of fiction being passed off as an Autobiography. James should know that recovering from addiction is a greatly moving feat in anyones life and does not need to be exaggerated.

Wednesday September 27, 2006 - 1:42 PM

kray_z

definitely a well written book. great story, though i would have liked it if he didn't exaggerate some of his symptoms just so he could sell more books. but i guess that's the way of the world.

great book definitely a must read.